We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$169
US$113
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$193
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$120
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada de Roger(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Rosita Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$121
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$380
US$319
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$403
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$558
US$287
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,171)
Filter reviews
2,171 results
Traveller rating
749
788
414
125
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
788
414
125
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomlots of fresh fruitmexican familieswater polorooms were very cleanactivities staffpool sidenightly entertainmentbuffet restauranthamburgerswim up bartacosgreat vacationkids clubfood and drinksocean viewclaudio
Filter
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 2,171 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just returned from SunWing Vac'ns all inclusive holiday at the Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

Discovered my IPhone went missing (!) from my luggage. Luggage was stored in "secure" storage area, awaiting transfer bus for SunWing flight home.

Called front desk at Plaza Pelicanos Club; polite thank you for calling, but no help.
Emailed Plaza Pelicanos Club; no response.

Called SunWing Vac'ns; told to call & email the hotel!
Emailed SunWing Vac'ns; no response.

Emailed SunWing representative in PVR; no response.

Otherwise, Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort was pretty average. Total price paid was $770 (flight, hotel, all inclusive, taxes).

More detailed review to follow......

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Wpg_Mb_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Pelicanos Club resort from Jan 15-22 2012. The music at the pool was so loud you couldn't visit or even relax. They wouldn't turn it down and the other side was the same. This resort is not on the beach. you have to walk across the street to the beach. Don't know about the Grand as we never got into it. As for the staff, they were excellent. Friendly and fun. The front desk staff were something else altogether. Slow and really didn't know what you were talking about when you asked anything. Too bad speaking Engish wasn't a qualification for employment. We spent almost an hour to get registered and didn't get our room till after 3pm. we booked in at 8:30. The food left a lot to be desired. The breakfast was probably the best meal of the day. Our room was a fairly nice room with a patio and table and chairs outside. It was on the main floor. On Thursdays the locals all come in for the weekend and then it is impossible to get any peace and quiet. Parties all night. and kids screaming and running up and down the halls. It was unbearable. Had I paid more attention to the reviews from other people who stayed here we would not have booked at this hotel. I don't know if any other hotels have a problem with noise but this one sure does.
So if you think you are booking into the Grand, this is not it. It is a totally different thing.
This is not a 3 star maybe a 2 but not even close to a 3.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

After reading all the reviews, we were a bit uncertain as to what we would find upon arrival at the Club. Please note, there are three Pelicanos Resorts in the same location. There is the Beach Club, next to it is the building with owned/timeshare suites, and the Plaza.
We stayed at the Beach Club and it was awesome!
The resort is smaller than the other big chain resorts which we have stayed at before, but the food was definately better with good beer and wine available. Maybe because its a smaller resort, they cook the buffet in smaller portions, the food was quite good. However like any resort, after a few days, you get bored of the food. Just outside the gate, there are a lot of restaurants as well.
While staying at the Club, we found the grounds and the rooms to be very clean. The beds were comfortable and the staff FABULOUS. Very Friendly!
If you stay at the Club, you have access to all the pools and beach ammenities at all three locations. However, you cannot use the restaurant at the Plaza-- which is fine because there is no shortage of food.
The entertainment was just okay, but they try really hard to engage the audience participation.
Overall, we will be back and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank madmax026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We just returned from our Winter 2012 Family Vacation at the Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort and had a wonderful time. The Resort is a little older and the property is beginning to show its age but the staff is doing the best they can with what they have. The Service is Fantastic! The food choices could be better, but what was available was always tasty. Drinks service was wonderful. No watered down drinks here. Beer choice is limited to Corona, but the mixed drinks are all freehand pour, and a very generous freehand at that! My family had a great week vacation stay...now for the details....

Why, Where, When, How:
When it was decided that we were going to an All Inclusive for our Family Vacation during the Winter 2012, we started looking on Trip Advisor at the different details about Cuba, Dominican Republic and Mexico. Just for some info, the family consists of two adults and two kids, one four year old boy and an eight year old girl. The boy is rather finicky when it comes to food. This being our first AI experience, and based on the price and comments that the food in Cuba was generally awful, we chose to go to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Sunwing Vacations had a great price on the Plaza Pelicanos Club and even though the reviews were mixed, we booked it.

Flights:
The flight on Sunwing was great! What other airline offers Champagne to start your vacation, as well as a hot meal with free wine? The order of service was a little strange, and I would recommend you bring something with you to drink onboard. (order of service was, champagne, duty free, hot towel, hot meal with wine or water only, coffee & tea, and then finally the bar/soft drinks/juice service.) The meal was great and the staff did try and help, but would not under any circumstances give you a regular drink until the "proper service".

Transfers, Check In, and the Resort:
The hotel transfers were easy to find at the PV Airport, and because of the time our flight arrived (1 am) we didn't have to contend with the Time Share Sharks. Check in at the Pelicano's was easy, although a bit slow. Knowing there was a bus load of people coming to the resort, I would have hoped they would have had more than one person working the desk, but it was after 1am. The bar was already closed, so we were not offered the usual welcome drink, but I had one the next day and it was quite tasty. The bell hop was quite efficient and we were at our room in no time. The rooms are in three, three story buildings that are arranged in a U shape with the courtyard created containing the pool area. There is a Time Share building that is accessed across the street from the main reception area. This area contains another pool, bar, snack bar, tennis courts and the beach.

Our Room:
Our room was a standard dual double bed arrangement with a dresser, shared night table, older tube style TV (with a good selection of channels, both Spanish and English). While simple and quite plain, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There have been some reviews (under the Pelicans Grand) that state that rooms appeared dingy...yes the window coverings were slightly dirty, there were some cracks in floor tiles and the bathtub could have used a makeover, the building is older, and the staff are constantly cleaning or doing maintenance of some kind. There were no bugs in our room, though a few other guests mentioned that a few small cockroaches were spotted. The halls are all open to the outdoors and we did see a few monster sized moths (see pictures), but you need to remember that the subtropical rainforest is only a few miles away. The cleaning staff does a great job, and we made sure to tip our housekeeper 20-50 pesos each day. ($2-$5USD)

The Food/Bar Service
Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day for us. There was a good selection of breakfast cereals (Corn Flakes, Frosted Flakes, Fruit Loops, Bran) and the hot food selection was nice, but always the same from day to day. Choices included Mexican as well as American/Canadian menu items. Eggs, pancakes, sausage, hash browned potatoes, French toast etc...there is an omelette bar where omelettes where made fresh to order as well as alternating between fresh pancakes or French toast (the other choice was always available on the buffet, these were just make fresh on alternating days). The omelettes were amazing!

We usually took lunch around the pool, ordering off the "snack" menu which had a variety of items such as Hamburgers, hotdogs, pizza, chicken nuggets, French fries, nachos, etc. These could be ordered at the bar or from the pool side attendant. The few times I looked in at the lunch buffet, it was an interesting combo between Mexican and North American cuisine. There was always something edible.
Supper was always a different theme night, and as with lunch a mix of Mex and NA cuisine, but always something edible to eat. Proof of this was my 4 year old. He is quite a fussy eater, but always found something to eat. Also we met up with a family that had religious dietary issues, and the staff did an awesome job making sure they had edible choices.
Bar Service: The hotel is a "Pepsi Property" which made us happy. The choices of Beer are one, Corona Draft, but it did the trick and was quite tasty. Hard Liquor choices were great. A few different types of Tequila, liqueurs and the Rums were Bacardi. All hard Liquor choices were free hand pour right out the bottle. I witnessed sealed bottles being opened regularly, so no chance of watering down drinks here. A few pesos tip, and the drinks seemed to get stronger, and you were NEVER without one, we had more than a few great nights.

Pools, Activities and Beach

There are 2.5 pools at the Pelicanos Club. There is a separate kid’s pool that is attached to the main pool via a water fall, the pool was heated, and the pool side bar was great. The bartenders were excellent and my kids were both pleased that they had great variety of virgin cocktails to choose from. Service was quick and efficient...sometimes too efficient, lol.
The second pool was ocean side at the time share complex. This pool was not heated and COLD! There were an adequate number of lounge chairs (although on the weekend, Friday and Saturday, you needed to get poolside/beachside early due to the influx of people from Guadalajara coming for the weekend). Upon check-in towel cards were issued for every guest. Towels were available when you needed. You could either exchange your towel for a fresh one, or get your card back. I thought it was a great system.
There were some great activities pool side. There was the daily aqua aerobics class, water volley ball, water polo, bingo and the "Crazy Contests". The stage for the nightly show is near the time share side pool, and the shows were always entertaining.
Kids Club: The kids club was good. They did a variety of arts/crafts and had some supervised pool time. My kids enjoyed this area on more than one occasion.

Overall Impressions:
The Plaza Pelicanos was a great place to take a family. We all felt safe and secure, the staff are second to no one and the service was AWESOME! Sure you get "locals" checking in on the weekend, but I am of the frame of mind that they know where to and where not to go, and if they are coming here, it’s because they too feel that it’s good value and a great place to bring their families.
The Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort is a great value for money and if you can look past the small issues I don't think you will be disappointed! If you want a Hilton or Signature Club type vacation, I suggest you book that type of holiday, if you want a clean, safe and economical place to stay that's also an All Inclusive, this is your place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank YWGJetsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Traveled to PV to volunteer at Casa Hogar Orphanage for the 3rd time. Tried to save a little money so picked the Plaza Pelicaos Club.... Big mistake! No blankets, no working safe, no facecloths, no coffee, no ironing board or iron, no BEACH, horrible buffet! Food poisoning from hashbrowns on the 2nd morning there so that was the final straw, left to stay at the Crown Paradise. This place is at best a 2 star resort with all kinds of false advertising and pictures of the Grand side but none of the club side. I am not a snob, i just wanted a clean place to stay with decent food for the 2 meals i was there. Spend the extra $120 and stay at the Crown Paradise, soooo worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liliana92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews