We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, poorly kept room and bed bugs invited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The clerk at the from the front desk was very rude while we were checking in. Our room had no towels, no amenities and the tap water smelled liked sulfur. First night I got a bunch of very nasty "mosquito bites" around my ankles which turned out to be bed bug bites... Found out when we discovered the creepy little bugs filled with blood at the foot of the bed. The food from the buffet was edible. The only thing I liked was the service at the tiki bar, the bartenders where very attentive.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2017

My experience was better than expected. The staff are obviously well trained in service and were cheerful and helpful. Food was good, as expected. Beach is small but was not overcrowded. My room was quiet, first floor not facing the pool. This what I asked for and was pleased. Maybe next time I'd ask for a pool facing room on the first floor with a patio which would be quiet after 10.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime F, Resort Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017


Dear Jeff N,

I want to express my gratitude with you because chose Plaza Pelicanos Club to stayed, and for sharing your experience on this web side.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed overall your stay, but I would like in your next holidays to care you to myself.
Once again thanks and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in not too distance.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

This resort is family friendly, but run down. It needs some serious renovating in the rooms. The beach area is small and the chairs need replaced. The staff at the pool was very helpful. The location is good. The bus is only 2 blocks.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Iluv2travel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

So there is Pelicanos Grand and Pelicanos Club. The clubs pool is on the beach but the hotel is off the beach actually fully behind the neighbor hotel - Las Palmas. They show a photo of their ocean pool and you just assume its part of the entire complex. You have to walk across the road/parking lot (which is cobblestone so no bare feet) to get to the ocean pool.

The Pelicanos Club is old, they wash and reuse their plastic cups in the bar - and I mean the cheap ones with the ink logo wearing off. there was logo ink on the inside of the cup due to the washing and stacking process - very gross.
The buffet is trays of rice, potatoes, pasta. If a tray has meats it is always bits of chicken, pork, or a meat.

There is major construction in the lobby: grinding, welding, sanding, pounding all day.

The staff is pleasant.

My room was decent and clean, but the door to the adjoining room had a brokenthe only thing keeping my neighbor from entering my room was a screw across the door. Could have been pushed open by a 3rd grader

Room Tip: Recommend staying way closer (more south) by the Melecon strip. Unless you pay for a way better ho...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jpballgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Small resort but very clean, not right on the beach but really easy access to ocean side lounging and service. Wifi was limited. Great location for walking into Old Town PV. All staff were friendly and helpful. Food choices were limited but no one went hungry

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The resort is definitely a 2.5 star resort based on food quality and variety also the rooms needed a little repair/updating but nothing drastic or that would ruin your vacation. The lobby is being renovated but you don't see or hear it unless you're out on the street. The pools are small to average size but are very nice. Overall we had a really great vacation but you do get what you pay for. Rating above is based on star rating I would give the resort not necessarily a bad experience

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laris2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Staff was always on top of things
Although front office could not print boarding passes
Food was average
Waiters were great, recreation staff was outstanding
A little confusing between beach club and grand when trying to decide on reservations

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swensonhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
552 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
782 reviews
1.7 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,574 reviews
4.0 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,699 reviews
0.3 km away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort

Address: Diego Rivera 120 Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $122 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 minutes to downtown Puerto Vallarta, at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort entertainment is always available: all day long and beyond the sunset, there is a full activities program for all ages that suits your wish to live it up in paradise; from beach and swimming pool contests to theme nights with live music and karaoke. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (view and type of bed is subject to availability), air conditioning, safety deposit box, fully marble equipped bathroom and bathrooms amenities. Non beach front section, access to the beach (walking steps) crossing a private street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing