We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,215)
Filter reviews
2,215 results
Traveller rating
771
801
423
125
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
801
423
125
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican families water polo rooms were very clean activities staff pool side beach access hamburger swim up bar nightly entertainment tacos great vacation special thanks italian restaurant claudio pools mexico ocean
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,215 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

First I'd like to mention that my wife and I stayed here as a couple with no children, and that while I feel we should have stayed at a resort more adult oriented, I can appreciate what Plaza Pelicanos has to offer a family.
The pool area is quite extensive and there were plenty of child friendly activities to participate in every day (and night). The cabanas were my favorite feature, which are located just far enough from the community pool to make them seem private. Their proximity to the bar is also a plus.
The public beach is a stone's throw away when you need to get away from the bustle of the resort.
Here are my only 2 issues I had with Plaza Pelicanos;
While the staff was extremely accommodating, beware of the concierge. Their sole purpose is to get you to attend a timeshare seminar under the guise of a "free" special meal in the exclusive members only area. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS! Unless you're into being manipulated.
The 2nd issue we had was finding an ice machine. The front desk gave us directions to 2 different ice machine locations (which were on the other end of the resort from our room) so after what seemed like a death march the first machine was not there, and the second had a bucket of water under it but no ice.
All things considered we had a good stay, but would probably opt for the Hilton next time we're in PV.

Stayed: May 2018
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Guest Michael G

Thank you for your review and your stay at plaza Pelicanos, and the recognizing that you do to tha staff and the facilities, we are a family resort unfurtunately we do not have privite areas for adults, about the ice do not disturb yourself on vacations please contact us to send you what you need we know you came for relax, see you soon at Puerto Vallarta!!!


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We recently spent 7 days at the Club Beach Resort. Check in was ok, we were the only ones checking in; however, they were not very friendly and didn't provide a lot of information. The rooms are a little older but still very nice and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable and clean. There is no fridge. The food at the buffet is not bad, but definitely does not have the 'wow' factor. I would never do all-inclusive in PV again, there are so many cheap restaurants with fantastic food within walking/bus distance. This was not a place to relax either in the day or evening. There were so many children, the pool was packed and noisy with no supervision. There was no way that you would even be able to relax and read a book. The No diving rules were totally ignored. Kids running up and down the hallway at all hours of the night, yelling and screaming, absolutely no respect for other guests. I have stayed at resorts where there were kids before and have never experience this mayhem, I will definitely be looking at adult oriented venues after this. We were on the 1st floor with walkout to the pool, but other people took over our patio, or took any chairs that were there. Even if you wanted to stay at the pool, there were no chairs to be had and people had drinks sitting all around the pool. The patio door's locking mechanism on our daughter's room next door fell apart when she opened it. They did come and put a screw in it, but not very safe. Pictures online shows that you are on the ocean, you are not. You can walk to the sister resort and use their pool and it is on the ocean and the pool is a bit bigger. I gave a 3 rating only because the restaurant staff were so friendly and both them and the cleaning staff are doing a very good job. Otherwise, I would rate this at a 2.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Dear Susan H

We are very surprised but also we really apreciatte that let us know about your experience, as you mention our Resort is for families but we are going to reinforce the regulations at the pool and around this area to prevent this inconveniance, about the beach the Resort is diveded in 2 sections The Hotel and the Beach Club but is the same hotel and you get access to both.
Thank you for recognize our staff, and we are working to improve these recommendations that you share with us, we really take action about it.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

First off if you book this property don't expect the Ritz, this is a value all inclusive property. We enjoyed our room and the pool that was bay side. The drinks were okay and easy to get. We ate breakfast every morning at the buffet, one lunch on property and dinner. After that we decided to eat all our lunches and dinners elsewhere. Which we didn't feel bad about since we got the resort at such an inexpensive price. We paid about $850 each for flight from KC and a week at the resort. There are plenty of great, cheap restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The best place for drinks at the resort were in the evening at the Mojito Bar. The staff was great and the resort was clean, the food was the only thing that was lacking.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Guest MarcIndy

Thank you for this review and the recognizing the value of the resort and your recommendations, as you mentioned we have a great location if you want to try some different during the stay, also each nigth we have the restaurant Caruso Italian speciality, Temaki the Oriental speciality and El Huerto the main restaurant that each night has differnte menu from a night before, and we add several options to offer you more extensive menu. See you soon at Plaza Pelicanos Club!!!


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

At Plaza Pelicanos I received amazing service from all the staff. Claudio in the pool area went above and beyond to ensure that my friend and I felt comfortable and taken care of on the trip. It was great as there was two pools to choose from and once with an ocean view. At dinner we received great service from Carlos and Mario and they were always offering drinks and hot sauce. The tequila bar at night was always fun and the bartender Fabriccio made us feel welcomed and was overall the best! Lots of areas around the resort to hangout and walk around, but the reason the trip was so great was because of the staff!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank 165alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Guest 165alexis

Thank you for your incredible review and for mention our staff that went beyond in their service, for them is a great motivation that you recognized them, we really want you to come back a repeat this incredeble experience at Plaza Pelicanos Club!!!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Arrived at the Pelicanos Plaza Resort on April 23rd, 2018 for a 7 day stay and from the first expression I was not pleased. the place looks great on pictures and but everything from the lobby to the rooms and pool areas are very much worn and dated, but for the most part clean. The bar areas at the pools where pretty disgusting if you prefer to hang out there. The rooms where very dated but the beds were comfy and clean . There are no amenities in the room like no fridge, no iron, and limited lighting , very poorly lit. the floors were of course ceramic tile but because of the style of tile, the floors never felt clean under your feet.. the food was limited in every aspect , very little variety, rice and chicken everyday, a lot of carbs. not one day of authentic Mexican food. no original tacos or burritos ...Breakfast on the other hand was exceptional everyday but still no variety, Sunday was like clean the fridge day. everything served throughout the week was service on Sunday... simply terrible. This place seemed to be visited often by locals. The entertainment was good. Bars close way to early and the nite club was always full of children. Of course all of the beaches are public so you are bombarded with solicitors all day. the Hotel location is in the middle of everything so there is a lot to walk and see within 15-20 min in every direction.
Overall if you are not looking for amenities and good food the service was exceptionally awesome .. with special thanks to the front desk staff, Jullian and Jorge in the buffet. There was another Gentleman who worked the Oriental restaurant , cant remember his name but he was the younger of the two, He was personable and went above and beyond to make sure the experience was outstanding. for the price I expected more,

Room Tip: all rooms are gloomy
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pirtlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest pirtlev

Thank you for this complete review and recognizing the service and the Staff, we already made several changes in to the Buffet and Bars so you can get more variety and different tastes also more traditional Mexican food and International, please come back to Plaza Pelicanos Club again to discover the new changes!!!!


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews