We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still an excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #28 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
WHEATON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still an excellent resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have stayed here before and come back because of its location. it is near the inner marina(about a block from the hotel) and near the downtown (usually about 10 minutes by city bus). We noticed that the crowds were way down both at the hotel and in the area. The time share sellers were more numerous and more aggressive than in the past. At the marina, there are shops and restaurants on three sides. Many of the shops were out of business, many restaurants the same. In fact, only three or four of the restaurants that were open were doing a good business. We went the Victor's Tacuba restaurant 4 nights. Victor is a character and meets almost all his patrons thru the course of a meal.
Downtown was not as depressed but the crowds were down.
The Mayan was still the same. Very clean, beds like a rock, as were the pillows. The rooms are spacious two couches in the living room, one side chair and four more around the dining room table. There is no place to hang wet cloths in side except a small line over the tub (no hanging on chairs on the rails of the balconies). Ok for two but could be a real problem with more. The beach was great, good sand and good beach service from the hotel.
There a number of groceries near by which we used for breakfast, lunch and snacks so there was no need to eat at the Mayan. but other patrons did comment positively on the food.

We will return and hope that the Marina has seen economic recovery.

Room Tip: An ocean view above the first floor is great. On the first floor the trees block your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hevan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    308
    120
    51
    61
See reviews for
264
294
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our first trip to PV.The mayan palace was smaller than the one in Riveria Maya.That was kinda of nice and personal.Everyone was very nice and helpful.Loved doing Yoga by the beach every morning.It was right by the Marina so there was lots of places to eat.If you needed a bus it was right out front with a little store just a blck away.We found areally nice restaurant called * AZZUL MARINO * Terraza Bar & grill, Club de Yates.It is right next to the market OXXO a blk from hotel inside the gate.The food was really good and they have internet and you can use it for free.We really enjoyed ourself inPV. The people are great and we felt very safe there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiley567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our second time at Puerto Vallarta and first time at the Mayan Palace. We like staying in Puerta Vallarta not Neuevo Vallarta as it is farther away from the Marina District and Old Vallarta. The Mayan was very comfortable, clean, nice pools and different activities throughout the day. We took advantage of the restaurants at the Marina, this prices were very reasonable for all meals. The Las ChiliMaria had the Portugese and Cocounut Shrimp - yummy and very large shrimp. No Name Cafe was good for breakfast. Really any of the restaurants on the Marina were outstanding. We did not have an ocean view but we really don't spend that much time in our rooms. Time share is pushed pretty hard but we just told them we are not buying into the Mayan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our first trip to PV, and this resort was great! Several pools and a beach. The food at the restaurants was the best, better than any outside. Drawbacks - no kiddie pools or amenities, and no hot tub. That would have been nice on the cool nights. Also balconies exist, but too narrow to sit on. The staff is great and the housekeeping is superb. Hope to come again! We loved it!

Room Tip: We did not overlook the pools - our view was the property next door. But still it was a very nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisHawaiifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice place but as it approaches its life span, Mayan trying to move you to its newer properties in Nuevo Vallarta. Mayan Palace Vallarta is in the Marina District and that is a huge plus. Closer to Old Vallarta and the Marina District is great for the variety of restaurants.

Mayan property sellers are pretty high pressure. The property ( pool and restaurants) are still nice and the folks that work there (except the time share sellers) are all very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was the second time we traded in our RCI points for a weeks vacation at the Mayan Palace and we were not disappointed. Even though our room faced the Marina, we did not mind the view as the staff are impeccable in maintaining the grounds and pool areas;mwe did not spend much time in the room at all. Many 2 for 1 drink specials and restaurant specials were appreciated with the best meal on the beach being the fish tacos. The staff are extremely friendly and the timeshare pitch was present on our first day. After a polite "no" to an invitation to visit the Nuevo resort, we were left alone. Make sure you try the No Name Bar and Grill in the Marina for tasty ribs, Tacos and Beer across the street for reasonably priced fajitas and 2 for 1 beer, as well as Portobellos Italian restaurant in the Marina. The mussels and lasagna are to die for. Puerto Vallarta continues to be our favourite Mexican vacation spot. WE love the people, the scenery, and the climate. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowser, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great locations to go for walks with resturants and artisian shops nearby, catch the bus or taxi right outside the hotel to Puerto Vallarta -15-20 mins away-go see Old Town PV-walk the Malecon lots to see and do!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flemings2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 km away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#42 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
Villa Vera Puerto Vallarta
#107 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
0.1 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.6 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur S/N | Fracc. Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Wyndham Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing