We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best New Restaurant in Vallarta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Bistro - CLOSED

Old Town Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located on Basilio Badillo #180 in the heart of Old Town Vallarta Old Town Bistro is now serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Old Town Bistro Features World Class International Cuisine by award winning chef/owner Kenneth Tanasy. Our menus include many classical dishes along with new and innovated entrees that will excite everyone. The menu also includes premium steaks and chops, outstanding seafood and pasta dishes. Old Town Bistro is a place where you always know you'll get the best of everything. Old Town Bistro features a romantic dining room and an elegant cocktail lounge with comfortable furnishings decorated with soothing warm tones. The lounge area also features a softly lit bar with comfortable couches and love seats. Guests will enjoy the sounds of trickling water from its unique fountains situated throughout the restaurant. Old Town Bistro's lounge which has several areas for intimate conversation or private business discussions makes it the perfect place to relax and perhaps order something from our appetizer menu.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best New Restaurant in Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Run, do not walk, to this restaurant. The menu is extensive, the food is great, the wait staff is professional and personable, and the redecorated dining room is pleasant and elegant. Oh, and the coffee is the best in Vallarta.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 722mkhan722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernie
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“wonderfull restaurant, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

During our two week stay in Puerto Vallarta, we came across the Old Town Bistro. We were very glad we did.
We ate at this restaurant a number of times. We were treated very well by the servers and manager.
The meals were all very well presented and were excellent in taste.
Our eggs at breakfast were done to perfection, our sandwiches, were excellent, and dinner was outstanding.
Very moderately priced, excellent value
I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulW451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We have been walking past this restaurant and were quite pleased when we decided to stop in and have breakfast. We enjoyed the ambiance and my eggs were prepared exactly as ordered! The wait staff was friendly and attentive, the coffee cup never ran dry. Not as crowded as some of the other places nearby, but just as good or even better for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank mcbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great New Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were in PV, the end of October, and were referred to this restaurant by a friend. We enjoyed the food, staff and decor of this restaurant. Maria is very gracious and friendly. We ate there three times during our 2 week stay. Both breakfast and lunch were outstanding. The decor is pleasant to the eye and the redone handrubbed bar is beautiful. A great area to have a drink before dinner. The staff was incredible and made us feel very comfortable. We never had to ask for anything, they were always there to assist. I will certainly go back to this restaurant and also their other restaurant Embarcadero. As for credit cards, we generally try to always pay cash when in Mexico, so lack of credit cards is not a problem for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“New restaurant on restaurant row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

A new restaurant on a busy highly competitive restaurant street in old town. Experienced restauranteurs whose other restaurant around the corner we've gone to many times.This one a bit more expensive but larger and well decorated.The staff is excellent and the friendly husband and wife owners are always there to make sure everything is up to snuff.Average size portions which are very tasty. It would help their business if the patrons could use credit cards and the owner said he was working on that.Worth a visit.We'll go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Bistro also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing