We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise personified!”
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Casa Que Canta
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Paradise personified!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our third day at LCQC and we never want to leave! The property is quite possibly the best in Zihuatanejo and the views from everywhere are simply to die for. We pinch ourselves daily just to make sure we aren't dreaming ... but if we are, we never want to wake up! The staff will know you by name and greet you with a genuine smile each time they see you. The suites are very individualized with no two alike......all spacious with beautiful furnishings and artwork. The very private terraces have cushioned chaise lounges in addition to table and chairs ... only the master suites offer plunge pools. The restaurant is renowned for it's local flavors and exceptional seafood dishes. We've ventured out for a couple of meals, but may just stay here for all others, as in my opinion it just can't get any better. However, we did have Chendos coconut shrimp with piña colada sauce in town yesterday and have to say that it was pretty amazing! Our plan for today is to sit by the gorgeous salt water pool, sip margaritas and try Chef Antonio's coconut shrimp for comparison ... it really doesn't matter who 's is better, because with this weather and incredible view.......who really cares?!? It's all simply the BEST! If the remainder of the week is as good as the beginning, I know we'll want to return. Even though we've never tried to duplicate a trip, an exception will probably have to be made, we've found true paradise!

Room Tip: Any room will be a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    35
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
367
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our anniversary week at La Casa Que Canta was a romantic dream. The boutique hotel feel is a fabulous way to soak in the warmth and luxury of all Zihautenajo has to offer. The hillside views of the bay, the sound of the waves, the private patios and pools all made this gem stand out as a spectacular place. The suite was beautiful with views of the water from every window. The care and service of the staff was beyond expectations and left us wanting to return again soon. The food whether at the restaurant, poolside or in room was gourmet and rich with flavor. The access to playa ropa beach, hillside restaurants, beachside bars and waterfront activities made it easy to enjoy our time. We felt so safe in taxis around town, walking, running on the beach, boating, fishing, snorkeling. Even with our limited language skills everyone made us feel so welcomed.

For sure our best International Travel experience out of the 5 continents we have visited. Culturally authentic and picturesque, memories for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Loved our room w/o pool, but saw 5 others, all were great views and patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

As soon as we left the baggage claim area, we were met by a smiling hotel representative that walked us, helping with our luggage, to the taxi that took us to the hotel. She arranged for all the payment and direction. We were thrilled upon entering our gorgeous suite, overlooking the bay and ocean, with most of the living space outdoors!! We lounged on our deck in comfy loungers, swam in the salt water AND fresh water pools and ate the most gourmet food in the restaurant for most of our meals. The service and staff were fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel to all and if you are wondering about safety, we were too. Not once did we feel unsafe and we walked to town, along the beach, each day. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkelliher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

La Casa Que Canta is my favorite place in the world to visit, and I make every effort to stay there every year. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. In addition, the food and the service are stellar. The staff at La Casa are extremely friendly, professional and helpful. They welcome me and treat me as though I am family. I was frustrated to see the security alert on this hotel, because I feel that it is extremely misleading. I travel alone as a woman, and have never felt unsafe at La Casa or in Zihuatanejo. As I do in my own city of San Francisco, or when I travel anywhere in the world, I avoid doing anything stupid, such as wandering around alone late at night in desolate areas. But again, I feel more than safe at La Casa Que Canta. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Also, the rates that they charge are extremely reasonable compared to other comparable hotels in other parts of the world.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 81michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We returned to Zihua last week after 5 years to our favorite hotel in the world. With all the bad press about Mexico we were at first nervous to return but we are so happy to report that Zihua felt very safe and we had no problem whatsoever. The town is filled with so many lovely people and they love tourists (their life blood). The hotel remains a combination of beauty, a deep commitment to customer services and sheer beauty. After 8 magical days, all 14 of us committed to returning to Zihua and La Casa Que Canta every year.

Room Tip: Room 23 is unreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We just returned from our 5th year in a row at this wonderful hotel. Walking in and seeing the same friendly faces of the staff made us feel like we were returning home. We almost cancelled our trip this year due to safety in Mexico but thank goodness we didn't. I can honestly say that nothing has changed in Zihuatanejo even with the events of this past Fall. It is sad to see tourism at such a low level there when there really isn't any valid reason to stay away. We still walked into town most days from the hotel, we were never bothered and people were extremely friendly. The only thing that is obviously different is the lack of tourists which made it pleasant for us! The staff at Casa Que Canta were even more attentive than usual and it was our best stay there. Thank you Teresa for doing such an excellent job of managing that beautiful facility!! We'll be back again next year!!

Room Tip: The rooms with pools are well worth the extra cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyons56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Since this was the first time to the Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa area and after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and publications such as Conde Nast we decided to spend five days at Casa Que Canta in Zihuatanejo and five days at the Capella Ixtapa to decide which we liked best. After staying at both properties we wish we had spent the entire ten days at Casa Que Canta. The advantages of Casa Que Canta are as follows:

1) Their highly trained, friendly, motivated and professional staff make guests feel appreciated and cared for. As examples, when I indicated to Luisa Sanchez, who manages reservations, that we would be celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary in Mexico she selected for us the perfect room, a beautifully decorated grand suite, that had an outstanding view, easy access, and great outdoor patio with couch and comfortable loungers. Laura and Flor in reception answered all of our many questions and were always friendly and very knowledgable regarding restaurants, places to visit and things to do while in Zihuatanejo. MariaTeresa Arellano, the Manager, was always available to make sure that our stay was enjoyable and to assist any way possible. The housekeeping staff keeps the room spotless twice a day, your in- room refrigerator filled on a daily basis with complimentary beer, soft drinks, water and juice and then provides elegant designs each night on your bed with local flowers. The pool personnel and waiter staff provide comfortable lounge chairs with large shade umbrellas and are quick with drinks and towels around their two beautiful infinity pools.

2) The absolute best restaurant in the Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa area. Before leaving we extensively investigated and selected eight top restaurants in the area to try during our visit. We ate at Casa Que Canta three nights and had seven excellent meals at the other restaurants we had selected. Casa Que Canta was the best with its outstanding romantic setting looking out over the bay, its extensive menu, excellent well perpared gourmet meals, great margaritas, value for money, and most importantly their top quality english speaking staff. On our next trip we will have far more meals at the Casa!

3) While the infinity pools, both fresh and saltwater, at the Casa Que Canta are outstanding you also have the advantage of spending the day at the best beach in the area, La Playa Ropa. The Casa has a private entrance just a few steps from the beach. We liked this extensive beautiful sandy beach with its quiet waters and excellent seaside luncheon restaurants so much that each day we were staying at the Ixtapa Capella we made the half hour taxi commute each way so we could enjoy our day on La Playa Ropa.

The bottom line if you are looking for excellent service, fantastic views, a truly great restaurant, beautiful rooms, a world class beach, with personnel that want to make your vacation memorable Casa Que Canta can't be beat. Our next visit to Zihuatanejo which we are already planning will only be at the Casa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wearetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.5 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
536 reviews
9.4 km away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
662 reviews
0.2 km away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
356 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
0.2 km away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Property: La Casa Que Canta
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Casa Que Canta 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Que Canta is a small luxury hotel with essence, history and a personality of its own. Located in Zihuatanejo next to the beautiful La Ropa beach, this hotel offers unrivaled panoramic views. Built with Adobe bricks, palapas and tropical woods, the unique architecture of La Casa Que Canta is an icon on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. It's 25 Oceanfront ample suites, spread out among three buildings, all have spacious terraces and 180-degree views overlooking the bay. Considered The Most Romantic Hotel by famous magazines, and travelers. The hotel was chosen for a famous Hollywood movie called "When a Man loves a woman". Since our opening 25 years ago, we are proud to be amongst the best Boutique Hotels of the World. Our pursuit of constant improvement and excellent service has granted us multiple awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing