We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
449
117
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
117
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi on the balcony master suite lounge chairs walk into town wedding planner no elevator beautiful hotel sitting area hotel guests overlooking the bay downtown zihuatanejo boutique hotel great pool mexican hotel ceviche common areas family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 582 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Lovely lovely hotel with great staff. Have happy hour on the veranda with Sacramento. Make sure to try the mango daquiris. Staff is very attentive and the rooms are clean.

Some of the side trips they offered I didn't think were worth the price. The one to the refuge you could get at a fraction of the price by just getting a taxi to take you there. Also the guy on the beach outside the hotel was cheaper and helpful if you were interested in roughing it a bit.

Room Tip: Their family room had a large king size bed and two twin beds, a kitchenette and a bathroom and it was perfect for us even with a teenager. There are MANY stairs in this place so if you have trouble with stairs do not stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aparadox4u2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel over Thanksgiving week. It was quiet and a peaceful change to all of the larger hotels we've stayed at in the past. This is more of a boutique hotel. The lobby and views from the rooms are amazing. Since it's on a hillside, I don't think there is a bad view from any room. The pool area is about halfway down the hill, with comfortable, clean chairs, hammocks and again a view to die for. The next level down is the restaurant and small bar. Service is available at the pool; you might have to just tell a waiter you'd like service. They are all great! Jacquie at the front desk was so warm, welcoming and attentive to all our needs. Our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We had plenty of storage for things and there were NO critter at all! There are a lot of steps, so if you can't manage, this is not the place for you. The restaurant and food was delicious and reasonable. You might even seek a glimpse of large sea turtles laying eggs while eating your dinner! It’s an easy, safe walk to town along the board walk. Again if you are not use to walking on uneven areas, this is not for you. The board walk needs so work and some of the lights are out. If you have a small flashlight, bring it! The rope/railing is down in some areas, so hold onto those little ones hands … and if you over indulge in town, watch your step back! All in all our trip was wonderful and had a wonderful stay! If you’d like more info on what to do/go; email me! You can walk to La Ropa from this location; again it’s a hilly hike on uneven sidewalks.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view - can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MootTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The good: A beautiful place with a gorgeous view of the bay. The staff are helpful and friendly.

The bad: We booked a year ahead of time and got bumped to another room (it was an upgrade), and our friend who has had a stroke, had to climb 77 steps to get to street level. I was really worried about him. Lots of substandard maintenance. One air conditioner failed, and later, suddenly, some type of liquid (?) came through the a light fixture onto his box of pills, destroying about $1,000 worth of meds. The kitchen was equipped with stuff you couldn't sell in a garage sale. The appliances' finishes were peeling off. Poor TV channel selection. Gaps around the window frames.

The Ugly: The last night we were there, the hotel next door had a party in front of the hotel with an unusually loud DJ with constant, thumping bass. THIS WENT ON UNTIL 4:00 AM!!!!! I asked the hotel for help, as did other guests, and the deskman, whose English apparently disappears at sundown, said he could not help, and refused to call the manager. What we got was "mañana". The next day the manager said there was nothing she could do. The same thing happened in a previous stay in the restaurant at Brisas

We have been staying here for 5 years, spending significant money due to the size of our group (usually 6-8 people). I told her we would not be back due to this treatment. She offered an apology, but nothing else in the way of compensation.

One other thing: We noticed the presence of some really scruffy looking characters on the beach (with dreadlocks, naturally)- a new feature. Also, and this really bothers me, twice in nearby restaurants, one of our party was approached by drug dealers, wanting to sell marijuana and hash. There was also a large drug bust in town while we were there. I fear the old Zihuatanejo that we love so much is going the way of other towns in Mexico

It's time to move to La Ropa Beach, in my opinion, as the owner/managers of the hotels on La Madeira no longer seem able to control what goes on in their area.

Room Tip: They change reservations frequently due to maintenance problems with rooms. They do seem ok with upgrading at no additional cost
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank labamba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciscogrove, Owner at Aura del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it encourages us to improve in every possible way we can. As a policy and subject to availability we always try to offer an upgrade to our repetitive guests, it is our way to show you we appreciate your loyalty. We offered The Villa Don Agustin for your stay because we considered it was a more comfortable unit for your group than the Noyoltzi Suite, considering it is located at the beach level, very close to the restaurant, the pool level and the restaurant. We thought this would make it easier for you and your friends to enjoy your vacation. I am very sorry to know that this arrangement was not agreeable to you, there was always the option of staying in the Noyoltzi Suite, the room you originally reserved, which was closer to lobby level but farther from the beach, pool and restaurant as it is located on the top floor of the hotel. Considering this factor we decided to offer you the Villa don Agustin. I deeply apologize for this misconception, our repetitive guests with health problems usually prefer to stay closer to the beach. We also offered your friend help to go up and down by car as there are streets in both sides, this offer was appreciated but declined saying that it was a good exercise for him.
I am also deeply sorry for the air conditioning that failed, as soon as was notified to us we tried to fix it but as it was late in the afternoon we could not find the broken part until next day, we offered you the room next door so you wouldn't have to be without air conditioning. This offer was kindly accepted.
We did not receive a report about liquids coming through a light fixture, if we knew we would have been able to compensate for the loss of your friends medicines. I apologize for this inconvenience. We have checked the area and we cannot find any traces of water if you can let us know where the leak was we will appreciate your kindness so we can immediately fix this problem.
We will review the channel selection and take the necessary steps to offer our guests more options and maybe try to hire Sky instead of Cable TV.
I also apologize for the noise you had the last night of your stay. We will take the necessary steps to restrict noises in the beach area. The night of the event we called the police and tried to stop the noise but unfortunately it was out of our hands. All hotels in the area are united and trying to improve the conditions of the beach, we know it is the best we have to offer you and we will keep on working so we all get the ambience we want for our families and our guests.
I apologize for our night deskman's behavior, it was unacceptable, he should have called the manager, we will find someone better suited for the job. Our manager should be available to all our guests during 24 hours of the day.
We deeply appreciate your business and loyalty, we know that if it wasn't for you our town of Zihua and all around it would not prosper the way it does and the families living here would not have the quality of life we have. We would have liked to have the opportunity to offer you a compensation for this situation, and I apologize in the name of the hotel manager for not having offered the compensation needed. She informed me of the incident and mentioned she was unable to offer the compensation because you where living in a taxi as she arrived. It is very important for us to be able to provide everything necessary to make your visit a pleasant one and in case it is not, to compensate our shortcomings.
In Brisas del Mar we take care of our guests at all times unfortunately we cannot control what goes on in other restaurants.
Hotel and restaurant owners in la Madera, la Ropa and all our beaches are working everyday to improve and control the situation related to the drugs, huge efforts are being made and we are sure this will improve.
La Ropa is a beautiful beach and many places in Zihua have also a lot to offer its visitors, I am sure you will find a nice place to come to and keep enjoying the good Zihua has to offer you.
Sincerely,
The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Just returning from Hotel Brisas del Mar, I realized the best thing travelers can do for an excellent experience is pass the experience on.

As always, my wife and I have received excellent service from everyone at the hotel. This includes reception, dining, cleaning services and grounds keeping. We are always greeted with large smiles and a buenas dias.

Upon our arrival, we were graciously offered an upgrade to the uppermost suite above the reception area. Spectacular views, large living and kitchen area. I must presume that this was a thank you for the multiple stays and the additional people we have brought with us to experience Zihuatanejo.

Service - Always polite and prompt. We are pretty relaxed people, so we always like to have fun with the staff and they are more than willing to loosen up and have fun with you. We've become good friends with many of the staff for this reason alone. Wonderful people.

Value - The only reason I rate this at 4 is because we understand the difference between someone that chooses the Ixtapa experience over the Zihuatanejo experience. I think that if their prices were a bit less for rooms, food and drink, it would attract those of us that don't want the really touristy and expensive areas (little America). Its definitely a high-mid to low-high hotel, but in Zihua, it may just appear a little high-end price-wise.

Sleep Quality - Beds are soft, comfortable and clean. Plenty of pillows to find that perfect sleep or middle of the day a/c cool off lounging time.

Cleanliness - The rooms are very clean. We always choose to skip service every other day because we simply don't feel it necessary, however, its 1 phone call to reception if you need anything. More water, empty trash, TP, etc.

Location - We love the location. It's far enough from town that you don't get a lot of the noise and traffic, but close enough to town to walk in 3 or 4 times a day. You can walk along the malecon on the bay side or go the street route. Both are about the same travel time depending on where you are going. The guest beach area is nice and you can safely leave your belongings while you hop off into the ocean. The food and drink service at the beach is excellent. The beach itself is large and open with calm waves for children, depending on the time of year. The largest waves I've seen were in middle to late May.

Rooms - We've stayed in the Zihuatlan Suite, a Master Suite, Junior Suite and now the Upper Suite (not sure of the name). All of our rooms have had great views. Some are further up the hotel's terraced design layout and require a good bit of stair climbing. A little exercise isn't terrible when you're eating and drinking like a king. However, I will say, if you are older or have bad knees and want to enjoy the beach and pool area, you might request a room nearer the bottom.

Overall, we love this place. Janet, manager, Miguel, reception, Carlos, Activities, Francisco and Ibraham, reception, Bernardino, Martin, Jesus, Ivan, Wendy, dining, are all kind, professional and accommodating.

A muchas gracias gigante to Hotel Brisas del Mar.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, if you plan on tons of time on the beach and pool, stay in a room that's lower. Rooms higher up have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiianDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This resort is built on the side of the mountain to La Madera Beach. It is an older resort which they have updated. Clean, painted, but older. 94 stair steps from our room to the pool...not including the step on the flat areas...so you get your workout just going to the pool. We had a 2 person jacuzzi tub on our balcony which we used once. We had hot and cold water taps to fill it. Never used the jacuzzi part, but it was nice to have water to sit in while enjoying the afternoon sun. There were 2 mexican chairs and table, 2 lounge chairs with foam cushions and a hammock as well as the juacuzzi tub on our deck. Part of the deck was roof covered as well.

Our bed was good and the pillows were good. We had a bar fridge to put our extra drinks in. The resort did not have purified water so they gave us a bottle of water in the bathroom for brushing teeth with and 2 bottles in the fridge for drinking. These were replaced each day when they were empty. There was no charge for the water...nice bonus!

We had free wifi and could get it when we were on our deck.

Our booking was thru Expedia for TD and it said we were to get a European Plan. I assumed that meant we got Breakfast included. I was wrong. According to the front desk of the hotel, the American Plan includes free breakfast. They had a restaurant at the beach level. The hotel website had a better rate and it did include breakfast than Expedia for TD. So check out all your options before booking. Also ask what is included in the different plans. When I checked with Expedia for TD about my assumption, they said that the hotel, when they contacted them said that the European Plan included free wifi...when I asked at the front desk, they said wifi was free to every guest...you didn't need to have a special plan for that.

Restaurants close that we went to that were good and worthy were: Margarita's for breakfasts, Nardo's for suppers. La Casa Viejo for supper. Other restaurants close that we didn't eat at, but had read or were told were good were: La Gula (pricier), La Perla Negra, Rufo's, Il Mare (Italian and Greek), Espuma (expensive, but with a spectacular view of the bay and sunsets).

We had massages from venders on La Madera Beach for 250 pesos for 1 hour and they were very good and professional.

You can walk along the beach and reach the walkway that will take you around the rocks to the downtown area or you can walk down the street, cross the canal and into the downtown. Both ways we felt safe walking day or evening.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay in tiered levels down the mountain side except for maybe just 2 hotel type rooms which are on the street side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews