We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not To Be Missed!”
Review of El Asadero

El Asadero
Ranked #109 of 446 Restaurants in Cuernavaca
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Although, Restaurante El Asadero has been in operation for 40 years, I only found it a few years ago at the invitation of a friend. Unfortunately, during my first several decades in Cuernavaca I was missed out on the best steaks in town. Now, I am a frequent diner at El Asadero!

I am delighted to report that I have now tried every dish on the menu and several many times. My favorite is the Arrachera (skirt steak), which is prepared as it is in the north of Mexico; well marinated and easy to chew.
While the owner doesn’t divulge his secrets (especially his homemade seasoning) the meat does taste like it has been age-dried, despite the low cost of El Asadero. The steaks possess a complexity of flavor; savoriness and sweetness that just isn’t found in the wet-aged meats purchased in the supermarket. There's no cooking method that can generate the depth of flavor of a dry-aged piece of meat.

At El Asadero, you will find a very select menu of Costilla Asada, Rib Eye, T-Bone, or Salmon if red meat is not to your liking. The offerings are accompanied by nopales (sliced cactus palms) and a sopecita (flat bread coated with a mild green sauce followed by white cream sauce and crumbles of Oaxaca cheese).

For refreshment you will find sodas and a small, but fully stocked bar. For dessert the flan is excellent.

If you love steaks, Restaurante El Asadero should not be missed!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NomadicAdventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2017

Looking for the best steak? look no further! Seriously, its delicious from the moment you smell it and see it grill! Our favorite is the roasted "costilla"! soft and juicy! Dont forget to ask for the "sopes" and "queso fundido" (melted cheese)! Best part? Its at a great price, We definitely stop by El Asadero every time we are in Cuernavaca!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2017

El asadero is an amazing family run restaurant with delicious food. From "queso fundido" to "fresh hand made tortillas and carne asada," el asadero offers a unique local Mexican food taste that will not break your budget.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Having lived in Cuernavaca for decades it always surprises me how many great restaurants there are in the city. Having traveled the world extensively for decades and tried the regional foods at every opportunity, I am always open to trying out small, little known restaurants. When a friend recommended that I try a restaurant that she liked, I was all in for the experience.

What I found was a small family owned restaurant, that has it all - great food, service, ambiance and price. Restaurante El Asadero is such a place.

Forty years ago a young man opened El Asadero on Plan de Ayala in Cuernavaca. He no doubt struggled those first few year, but he persevered. El Asadero has survived and is today ran by his daughter, who is the hostess. and her husband, who cooks in the front of the restaurant.

There is no parking lot or valet parking and you will have to park on a side street as you can't park in front of the restaurant. There is no air conditioning, but then it is not needed in Cuernavaca. The restaurant is small with only a few tables. The restaurant is located on one of the busiest streets in Cuernavaca and since it is open to the street, the noise is loud. But, none of this matters to those who eventually find the restaurant and its savory delights.

On the menu you will find the best grilled meats available in Cuernavaca - Costilla Asada, Arrachera (hanger steak), Rib Eye, Sirloin, Chistrorra, Chorizo Argentino, Salmon and more, all served with a sopecito, grilled onions and nopalitos. The servings are generous, so go with an appetite.

There are soft drinks, as well as wine, beer and tequila to drink and flan, helados, and nieves for dessert.

My dining companion and I sat in the front, next to the grill to watch our steaks being prepared. We both ordered the Arrachera, which is sometimes known as "butcher's steak" because this is the most tender cut of beef it was for years kept by the butcher for themselves rather than offer it for sale. What they would sell is the left side which is smaller and tougher than the right side. It is considered a "bistro steak" and prized for its flavor.

As a rule, Arrachera is typically not as good in the south of Mexico as it is in the North, perhaps due to the aging and marination process. However, my companion and I were amazed at the quality, tenderness and flavor of the Arrachera at El Asadero and agreed it was the best we have had.

Tonight, we will return to El Asadero with another companion and perhaps we will try the Sirloin or the Rib Eye, which I will report on in another review.

We would highly recommend El Asadero to those who love great steaks at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NomadicAdventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Asadero also viewed

Cuernavaca, Morelos
 
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 
Cuernavaca, Morelos
 

Been to El Asadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing