We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Guadalajara!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Guadalajara
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Guadalajara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hi, I recently stayed at the Westin for a 3 day trip. Great property, I am glad Westin is opening properties in Mexico now. I do not know why it has taken so long for them. One in Monterrey would be also great and another one in Polanco, the one in Santa Fe is just too far from me. Back to my experience at the Westin Guadalajara, the staff is great, very friendly and helpful and if you are an elite, expect a nice upgrade. I really got the nicest room I have ever goten on a Westin hotel, a corner suite with a tv room, desk area, separately bedroom and a very cool bathroom with a walk in shower and separate bathtub. Amazing! I would definately stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear eaamieva

Thank you very much for your comments and compliments.

It is a pleasure to hear, that our associates were up to your expectations and that our corner suites has been the nicest room you have ever received at The Westin Hotels.

We are looking forward to receive you soon at The Westin Guadalajara.

Sincerely,

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    152
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
49
80
23
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PV
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

While there are many hotels in GDL, this is one of the nicest and the newest. The bar/lobby area is beautiful, the staff are very kind and helpful, and the rooms are beautiful. It's a very good value and well-located across from the Expo. I recommend it highly!

Room Tip: I've been 4 times and have not had a bad night's sleep ... and I've been on low and high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear franklin99

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.

It is a great pleasure to hear, that our bar/lobby, our associates and our rooms were up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at The Westin Guadalajara.

Sincerely

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This review is just of the bar/restaurant area. I absolutely love the decor - it is very modern with a cozy feel, think velvet, marble, mirrors, and dark wood...the outdoor water features are very relaxing.

My only negative comment would be something that I see all over Guadalajara - the waitstaff/bartenders are not very assertive. They look scared. I was waiting probably a good 10 minutes before I made eye contact with the waiter and then I had to ask if I could order. They are a bit too shy and it makes the whole bar and dining experience a bit awkward because you feel like you are imposing when you order. What happened to greeting patrons with a smile and asking what they want?

The food and drinks were great! Tried the rib eye tacos. The salsa was delish. This is a great spot to have a business meeting or enjoy a casual drink with friends or a date.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear lizardSD

I thank you for your review and for sharing with us your feedback regarding our bar/restaurant area.

We will share your comments with our Food & Beverage associates and work with them to improve their service awareness.

It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed the food and drinks at The Westin Guadalajara.

We are looking forward to receive you soon at The Westin Guadalajara.

Sincerely,

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,254 reviews
432 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here on a weekend visit to Guadalajara for a wedding. Overall, we were highly satisfied with the hotel.

The hotel, which is nearly brand-new, is extremely elegant, with modern design throughout the property. The lobby is all-glass, with an airy feel, a marble bar, and lots of sitting areas. The restaurant has great light and an open feeling. The fitness center is top-notch: spacious, bright, and loaded with aerobic machines, weight machines, exercise balls, etc. Our room was gorgeous, with a fantastic bathroom with elegant tilework and a walk-in shower, lots of storage space, a comfortable desk chairs, floor-to-ceiling windows, and the always-comfortable "heavenly bed." All in all, the hotel's facilities really impressed; the design is done really well and the rooms and public spaces are comfortable and a pleasure to be in. My only complaint about the room was pricey internet access -- ~$17 USD -- but that isn't unexpected for a full-service property and, at least, the internet worked once paid for.

We had breakfast each morning at the hotel. It's pricey, but it is, at least, a great buffet with excellent continental and hot options. Service at breakfast was great -- quick coffee refills, dirty plates cleared quickly, etc.

The only glitch to this hotel was lobby service. We arrived around 9pm and the front desk was staffed by only one person. He was working hard, and was very nice, but because of a line the check-in process took nearly a half-hour, which is approaching an unacceptable amount of time. Our other glitch was with an un-helpful concierge who had limited knowledge (at least knowledge she was willing to share!) of dining options around the hotel.

All in all, though, it was a very nice stay in an elegant property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear brmusicman

Thank you very much for your comments and compliments.

Definitively, Michael Edmonds, the designer of the Westin Guadalajara, has done an outstanding work with the design of the hotel facilities, restaurant and rooms.

It is also a pleasure to hear that our Heavenly Bed, our Westin Workout gym and our Restaurant Casa de las Rosas were up to your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback about your check in and about our concierge service for us to improve.

We are looking forward to be at your service in the near future at The Westin Guadalajara.

Sincerely,

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

New hotel (opened in September of 2011), superb service from staff at front desk and bell boys (Eréndira & José) and located right infront of Guadalajara Expo. Nice spacious rooms, great beds, large bathrooms and awesome showers. Great rates. The only thing that needs work is the answer times when calling operator from rooms and from outside lines.

Room Tip: Ask for SPG floors to get a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tovarich1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Tovarich1975

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Guadalajara.

It is a pleasure to hear, that our valued associates, Eréndira and José, made the extra step to exceed your expectations. Also that our rooms, our Heavenly Beds & Showers fulfilled our Brand Mission, ensuring when you stay with us, you leave feeling better than when you arrived.

Also I appreciate that you bring to our attention the detail on the time we answer the phone. We will review this with the involved department.

We hope we can receive you soon at The Westin Guadalajara

Sincerely,

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is the hotel to stay If you are attending the conference center! It is located in front of the center. The hotel is roughly one year old and modren inside and out! The service is wonderful and very helpful with any questions, or comments, you may have. I found the rooms to be very spacious. The bathrooms are laden with marple and the bed very comfortable. They have roughly 40 cable channels one third of which are in English. The bar decor is modern and the seats very comfortable and easy to hold small meetings. The hotel does charge for internet use (unless you are in their premium membership level). The valet parking service is reasonably priced and efficient...never waited more than five minutes. Only one elevator was working when I stayed due to maintenance however I cannot fault the hotel for updating. This hotel is definitely a thmbs up!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmarutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear mrmarutiak

I thank you for sharing with us your recent experiences at The Westin Guadalajara.

It is a pleasure to hear, that our associates and our facilities exceeded your expectations.

We are looking forward to receive you soon at The Westin Guadalajara.

Sincerely,

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very nice, new hotel. Outstanding service from the bellmen, front desk, and restaurant staff. Always ready to offer advice on what to do and where to eat. The room is very large, ample storage. Could use a couple of more english language tv stations, and an electric outlet in the bathroom was not working, even though we brought to the staff;s attention. Excellent gym.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Rick L

Thank you very much for your comments and compliments.

It is a pleasure to hear, that our bellmen, our front desk and restaurant associates offered an exceptional service and that our Westin Workout Gym was up to your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback about our TV channels for us to improve.

We are looking forward to be at your service in the near future at The Westin Guadalajara.

Sincerely,

Walter Harbich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
5.7 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
1.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#12 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
5.0 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.4 km away
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guadalajara

Property: The Westin Guadalajara
Address: Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Guadalajara is in one of the most prestigious areas of this metropolis. Expo Guadalajara is next door, World Trade Center, corporate offices and numerous shops are nearby.Power up in the state-of-the-art WestinWORKOUT® Gym.Escape to one of our 221 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. The signature all-white Westin Heavenly Bed®, High Speed Internet Access, an LCD Flat Screen Television ensure that each space is a calming oasis where you can have a revitalizing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing