We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

El Pilon de los Arrieros
Ranked #305 of 1,194 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: The Pilón de los Arrieros is located in one of the most emblematic places of the city. The birria, the barbecue and the cecina are some of the dishes that characterize us. However, we have an extensive menu with other typical dishes from Jalisco and Mexico. Lupita, known for celebrating the gastronomic tradition of the Nueve Esquinas for over thirty years, is at the head of El Pilón de los Arrieros. This way, she works hard to maintain the taste and quality in all its foods. The atmosphere that is lived in El Pilón de los Arrieros family friendly. In the evenings, mariachis and musical groups enliven the place.
Restaurant details
Description: The Pilón de los Arrieros is located in one of the most emblematic places of the city. The birria, the barbecue and the cecina are some of the dishes that characterize us. However, we have an extensive menu with other typical dishes from Jalisco and Mexico. Lupita, known for celebrating the gastronomic tradition of the Nueve Esquinas for over thirty years, is at the head of El Pilón de los Arrieros. This way, she works hard to maintain the taste and quality in all its foods. The atmosphere that is lived in El Pilón de los Arrieros family friendly. In the evenings, mariachis and musical groups enliven the place.
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is located on a square woth more of the same restaurant. El Pilon de los Arrieros has a wonderful staff. I had the goat meet, a typical dish from the restaurant. It was delicious. The serve it with different sauces, tortilla and nachos.

Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDLGuadalajara, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Pilon de los Arrieros, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Randy L,

Thank you for sharing your experience with this travel community. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time and the chance to try a typical dish from Jalisco.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for El Pilon de los Arrieros
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Great food and very inexpensive. Here you'll find it all, the typical, the novel and just about everything else. Also in the "Nine Corners" part of Old Town.

Thank Pololeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDLGuadalajara, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Pilon de los Arrieros, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Pololeal,

We appreciate your wonderful comment. We are happy to know you enjoyed the "Plaza de las Nueve Esquinas" or "Nine Corners" while visiting our restaurant and trying a typical Mexican dish.

We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

If you like the food of Jalisco, you might wish to try El Pilon de los Arrieros. Here's what I like about it... a vegetable salad they make for me. I've enjoyed this meal there many times. I also like that I can sit at the open French doors which face the plaza and the other restaurant they own, Birreria las 9 Esquinas. It is private around 3-4 pm in the afternoon. Otherwise, it is packed with Mexicans accustomed to eating large servings of food. (This comment is not a slam, just an observation, everyone seems to be happy there). Relatively clean. Sweet kitchen staff. Be specific with your order and double check that they get it right, even in Spanish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LightforthePlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDLGuadalajara, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Pilon de los Arrieros, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear LightforthePlanet,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your visit to El Pilón de los Arrieros. We are glad to hear that, overall, your experience with us was a pleasant one and that you particularly enjoyed the Plaza de las Nueve Esquinas.

We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Although the service was attentive and pleasant, the food was rather ordinary. We settled on this place after walking around for a long time. I recommend it more for a sample of regional specialties but not for a diner to remember.

Thank Guy-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We tried the restaurant specialties: plato especial de birria and barbacoa. The meat was good and soft, but overall the seasoning, sides and soups accompaning the dishes were too spicy. Fabulous if you're really into Mexican food. Very competitive prices (the equivalent of ten euros per person for huge servings).

    • Service
    • Food
Thank jujitsu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDLGuadalajara, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Pilon de los Arrieros, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear jujitsu77,

Thank you for visiting El Pilón de los Arrieros and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor travel community. We are happy that, overall, you had a pleasant time.

We hope that in your future travels to Guadalajara, you visit us again. We are surely able to adjust some of our spicy dishes for our foreign visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pilon de los Arrieros also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to El Pilon de los Arrieros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing