We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Bucerias
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wounderful staff , wake up to a nice piano player in the lobby, food is great, we had room 218 which we recommend , great location

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    500
    80
    42
    28
See reviews for
429
592
135
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our first trip to Guadalajara - This hotel is beautiful, so much that I kept wanting to walk around in the hotel just to enjoy the beauty. The staff was so helpful and many spoke English helping us even more. Free internet, no need to bring your own laptop. Rooftop pool and patio. Close to everything. The staff did everything and more to make our trip even better. And the room we had was so comfy, cosy - a courtyard on our floor. Five star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I booked two low priced internet-rate rooms from a travel site, one for us and one for our friends. One of the rooms was a spectacular suite with two balconies and the other a small stuffy windowless room. It was as if Candid Camera was playing a joke on us filming our faces when we arrived at our rooms. First there was delight with us all waltzing around the grand room and then our sad faces of "what the...???", when we saw room #2.

Of course we wanted another balcony suite but were told by the front desk the hotel none were available. We were shown a room with one window, no balcony, and two single beds (which was occupied). We looked at a couple of more double bed rooms and then we offered to pay extra for an upgraded room. Eventually we found a room that made us happy but it was with a lot of effort from our bell-man Jose who worked directly with the manager by-passing the front desk.

Over-all the hotel was great and the reviews here on Trip Advisor are accurate. We would stay at Hotel Morales again. Next time however, I will book directly and specify a room hoping the front desk will honor my request.

Room Tip: Ask for a room #123 or 223 or 323 for the double balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody_440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had 2 nights here in March 2012. A taxi was waiting for us at the airport, which we'd organized before hand. The hotel was really pretty and just what I'd been hoping for, a feeling of oldness but with all the amenities that we needed. The water bottles were a nice touch and so was the Wifi. We didn't use the pool, too hot up there for us, but ate our breakfasts in the restaurant and were very happy with food and service. The front desk staff were very nice and it was a bonus their English was so good, as our Spanish is not. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I ever get back to Guadalajara, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent 3 days here in March 2012 and were more than satifsfied with the hotel, the room, the service, the buffet breakfast, the 3-piece Mexican trio in the bar, and everything in general. Location was great next door to the historical centre, squares, cathedral, etc., etc. etc. Special thanks to the staff, Jose in particular. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed back in this hotel 4 more times since my last review back in 12 feb 2011. The last 2 x they hv finished their refurbishment and the swimming pool and the gym addition was fab, though the sauna, and massage spa was not ready still. The pool table outside the only restaurant is fab. Nothing bad to say about this hotel, Great maids service with a smile, porters helpful, reception average. Clean, airy, air cond working well. Food not bad. Free 2 bottle of fwater every day, free internet, location great (though always wiith some sort of festival going on in mexico, the front road can be noisy loud music of celebration that can take up till 4am. (though management sent a thoughtful prewarned notice to guests) Its a lovely 3+ star hotel, price is abit more higher then 2 other hotel that hv equivalent service and rooms (abt 3x more), but those 2 hotels just not as pretty and efficient as morales.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiajclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

It is the fine restoration of this hotel and the warmth of the staff that set it apart, but we enjoyed having a lovely pool deck in the middle of the city and a roof top verandah. Our room was located at the front, providing a view of the plaza to the south of the hotel. The room was charming and spacious and the beds were comfortable (though small...not queen size).
The good news is that it is easy to walk to the cathedral and pedestrian mall (3-4 blocks), and the bad news is that there are not any noteworthy restaurants in the central area. You won't have trouble finding acceptable restaurants (e.g. La Chata of Guadalajara is one block north), but we did not find any that were better than the restaurant in the hotel which serves good quality food (especially the medallions of beef in sauce of your choice) at very reasonable prices. And you usually get pleasant live music as a bonus when you stay in the hotel. Do not stay here if you are sensitive to street noise and other downtown sounds (that bass thump), but we found that turning the air conditioner on was sufficient to drown out the other intrusive sounds.

This is an exceptional hotel, but you must take it on its own terms. It's a historic site after all.

Room Tip: Ask at check-in for the location in the hotel you prefer....rooms at the front which are noisier but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.6 km away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#32 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.4 km away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#28 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.7 km away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#4 of 129 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing