We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
5
14
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
14
4
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2017

This place is sold as a boutique hotel when it's, at best, a hotel. First of all, the owners seem to think it's ok to behave like it's their house and even have their dog in the garden.
The room where I stayed was clean, but it wasn't as comfortable as they want you to think.
Even though it's located near one of Guadalajara's most important streets, it's precisely because of this that it's very hard to fall asleep (there are lots of bars nearby).

Please keep looking, you'll find a better place, with a much better location and much cheaper than this trap!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuratzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

We stayed in the presidential suite for one night and were disappointed by the state we found the room in. Although it was roomy, clean, and had a large bed, it looked very poorly maintained. There were a few holes in the walls that could have easily been patched up and painted over but were left as is. A mirror was broken next to the bed, one of the lamps in the room was lopsided, the soap holder in the bathroom was broken, the faucet was wobbly, and most importantly, the shower head was very leaky and started spilling out some brown water. We called the reception about the shower head and they replaced it immediately, but it took a while and made us late for our dinner reservation. It was not at all what we expected from the pictures, that made the bathroom look like a super cute spa! In reality, it was more gloomy than cute! Also the wifi did not work in the room! Finally, there was a noisy bar near the hotel until very late (4am or so) and it can disturb your night if you are a light sleeper.

The reception did not offer any kind of compensation for the inconvenience and was a bit aloof in general. I do not recommend this hotel and we will certainly not go back.

On the pros side, the lobby looked nice, and the location was convenient.

Room Tip: Avoid the presidential suite, poor wifi and definitely not worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Casa Monraz is a lovely building. Unfortunately the facility is run down and not kept very clean. The card-lock on my room did not work. The phone at reception rings and rings and rings. The teenagers at the reception desk spend their time on their cell phones and do not attend to guest requests to modify reservations. The plumbing on the sink in my room was loose. The throw rug in my room had not been cleaned for some time. I do not recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile

First- We chose the hotel last minute through a hotel website cause it showed a good deal. When we arrived the hotel tough, they gave us completely different prices (much higher). When I explained them what we saw online they matched the price on the website which we appreciated.
At this point it was confusing seeing there is so much difference in between the published prices, the prices on the website and the prices on their brochures offered at the reception.
Second- After a long trip and the check-in fiasco, they took us to the room, to find out that for the price we've paid, we should have stayed at any commercial hotel chain, cheaper but at least the price match the reality! The room was not like the pictures at all, it looked dusty and carelessly cleaned. Like if they just put the room on service after being renovated.
3) We intended to shower before going out for a graduation dinner, and to our surprise, there was no water at all! We called the reception and they said they just found out about the water situation and it will be fixed within the next 30 minutes. Of course we knew the problem wouldn't be fixed on time, so we decided to go and ask for some extra bottles of water to brush our teeth and fresh-up at least before going out.
4) Don't forget to ask for your ear plugs to survive the night, no soundproof walls and noisy (very) bars around the corner.
5) No hot water, instead you will get warm water (kind of).
Breakfast was nice though, freshly squeezed juice and nice coffee along side our delicious chilaquiles. The breakfast patio is the highlight of the hotel really.
Warning: for guests who don't speak Spanish, the staff don't / unwilling to speak English, and the person who does speak (the manager) it took her a while for her to engage in English with some guests who checked in at the same time as we did. In fact I was shocked when she started to speak English all of the sudden, giving the fact she did the check in and explained the breakfast items in Spanish to the guys knowing the guests clearly only speak English. Poor quality service for those who don't speak the language.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank voyageurunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2017

This hotel is a cool old house, and very conveniently located just off Chapultepec. The room was nice, clean and well furnished if a bit small (typical for these boutique hotels built in old homes). The woman working reception was very professional. However, there were workers clipping shrubs right outside my room until about 8pm. The morning stuff was fully disinterested and breakfast was pro forma at best. Nothing horrible but for the price you can probably do better. Also - while some people are charmed by the "house dog" thing, it's not everyone's cup of tea. Be forewarned that there is a well-behaved dog roaming around.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperienceTequila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews