We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
58
75
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
75
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carry luggage hot water beautiful city free breakfast would stay here again few steps each morning taxi terrace town statue sewer pesos balconies
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 159 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018

This is a small, almost boutique hotel perched at the top of the funicular near the El Pipila statue. It was a bit difficult to navigate our way from our taxi drop off near the statue to reception in the hotel (we had to carry luggage down numerous steps and the signage could be better).
Our room was great. It was updated with modern furniture, a rain shower in the bathroom and a frosted glass bathroom door. The view is extraordinary – night or day. We had a large terraza with a table and chairs that we could sit on and look at the beautiful city below and the dry mountains across the narrow valley.
We thought that the room was an excellent value. It included unlimited funicular rides up and down to the town below. We enjoyed this adventure – each ride, at different times of day, was interesting. We also walked down the many steps to town and even walked up the stairs for a bit of cardio exercise. We liked being above town at night – above the din of mariachis, student partiers, etc.
The room fee included breakfast at one the of the town’s most elegant restaurants: Casa Valadez. This is a white linen restaurant with outstanding food and service. We got to choose 1 of about 10 free breakfast options (we had egg white and veg omelettes). Fresh juice or fruit, various breads and great coffee were also included. We figure that a breakfast for two of this quality in Vancouver would cost at least $60 Cdn.
The front door of the hotel is always locked with a staff member at reception to let us in (and give us our room key which they want left behind). The staff spoke very limited English, but were friendly and seemed to appreciate my attempts to communicate in Spanish.
We would stay here again but would probably not stay in the large terrace rooms (1 or 2) – they are too close to the lobby and you can hear people talking in the lobby. We really did not need the large terrace – the other rooms also had balconies with chairs.
My only minor complaint is the wifi – very slow. I could only upload photos early in the morning – perhaps when there was no competition from other guests.
We had an excellent 4 nights in Guanajuato! I believe that this lovely location made a strong contribution to our great visit in this wonderful city,

Room tip: Room 1 and 2 have large balconies, but are too close to the lobby. Room 1 also has a bathroom window that lets in too much light.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthVan_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Impossible to find without assistance. No street signs in congested area. Parking is down a very steep hill, hike up is not easy. Then down multiple stairs
The staff was fine. Rooms were adequate at best. Very basic. The view lovely from a smallish corner window.
Overall a great idea with very poor execution. So disappointed

Room tip: Choose another hotel
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

View is amazing from here since it's the one next to Pipila's monument, we were at the terrace (only two rooms with these). I loved the kindness of the personal. You have access to the funicular and breakfast at one great restaurant in front of Juarez theater, I didn't love the decoration neither the beds and hot water took quite long to come out. I would come back cuz sincerely its a really stunning view !

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kar-crvnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

This property offers breathtaking views of the centro (Zocalo) from all the rooms (all of them, yes all of them!). The staff is very cooperative and polite. We reached at about 10 PM in the night. They do not have their own parking arrangements considering the topography where the hotel is situated. They arrange the parking in a public parking lot, a few 100 mts uphill walk from the hotel, with whom the hotel has pact with a offering a preferential rate to their customers. Such parking lot usually closes by 9 PM (Gates are closed). We reached the place at 10 PM in the night and the receptionist was so helpful to open the gates, helped us park the car, took the baggage till the hotel (downhill walk from parking lot). When requested for a better room, the staff helped us in changing the rooms without any hassle. The stay is definitely a value for money and it comes with pros & cons. Pros being, you are close to the ropeway that takes you to the centro (free of cost for residents of hotel), breathtaking views. Cons being, you park your car far away and be sure to carry all what you want to avoid multiple walks to your car which is tiresome, breakfast offered at a hotel in centro (they don't have a restaurant in the property).

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mail2addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017

There are both good and not quite so good sides to staying in this hotel.

On the positive side: view from the balcony if you have a room overlooking the town is spectacular; the breakfast in Casa Valadez is delicious; free funicular tickets, which take you into the heart of downtown; nearby parking.

On the neutral/negative side: access through the shopping mall is a bit dispiriting; furnishings adequate but a little tired; operating hours of the funicular are limited - starting at 9 am in the week and 10 am on Sundays (and the breakfast location is in the town) and ending at 9.45 pm; following GPS it is hard to find - ask a local for the Pipila Monument if you get lost and then walk down quite a few steps to the right of the monument; bit of extraneous noise from other rooms, funicular queues and the town itself but, hey, this is Mexico, not the quietest country in the world.

On balance a good place to stay, particularly if you are driving. Downtown Guanajuato is crowded and complicated with streets diving into and out of tunnels, so not easy to navigate in a vehicle.

Room tip: Rooms facing the city have great views
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank silverfirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews