We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diasaponting and depressing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chocolate Boutique
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The best things I can say are that the views are nice and the hotel is well located downtown and close to everything. However, the property is on a hillside and there are a LOT of stairs and no elevator. I would not recommend this hotel for the elderly, disabled or small children.
Feels more like a hostel than a botique hotel as suggested. The property is old and in need of updating and upgrading throughout. Our room was large but dingy and depressing. The balcony was so small only one person could stand on it at a time and there was no room for any furniture on which to sit and enjoy the view.
The included breakfast was a cup of weak coffee, a very small glass of watery orange juice and two slices of toasted white bread. One can order from the menu, which we did, but the prices are high and the food mediocre.
We checked out just a few minutes after the noon check out time and were told to pay 100 pesos penalty . We paid 1,900 pesos with tax for one night, which seems high considering the quality of the hotel and all that it lacks. While in Guanajuato we checked around and there are nicer places that are also well located and a better value.
We live in Mexico.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullCup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

This hotel was a great disappointment for us for a number of reasons. Firstly the website is misleading somewhat. It makes the hotel sound better than it is, and rooms look way better than they are. As for the chocolate theming, the closest resemblance to anything related to chocolate are the brown walls and the offer of a cup of hot chocolate upon request.
The location is perfect in that it is right in the middle of the town, however to get to the hotel itself you have to climb many many many steps. When you think you are there, you are not - there are more steps. So unless you are really fit you will hate that aspect.
They offer free parking but do not tell you that the parking is a long way from the hotel and they then collect you.
Yet at the bottom of all the stairs to the hotel there is a parking station!!!! We were happy to pay but didn't know until we got back to the hotel. Breakfast was POOR and very basic. Fruit or juice, but not both. Toast and cereal and coffee.
The room were large but basic. The view was great.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Great place, wonderful view of the city. Lots of balcony and roof space to really catch a panorama. My room was pretty big, had two private balconies and was nicely decorated.

I only ate at the restaurant for the pretty limited but nice free breakfast. There is a menu to order a nice selection of breakfast dishes that you pay for. There are just so many nice places to eat a close walk away that I never ate a full meal there.

Just be aware of how much of an uphill hike it is to get to the lobby. Then you climb further to the rooms. It is a very central handy for sightseeing location otherwise.

Room Tip: The two top floor rooms are far enough apart to make each seem semi private. A large deck with exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

The hotel is old, in very poor condition, the beds terrible, towels were torn and old. Awful smell, stairs everywhere. The furniture old, broquen tiles, drapes torn......Not clean. The pillows were ugly. This is a Junior Suite!

Room Tip: Impossible, every room here its ugly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pyonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Overall hotel was wonderful. The view from our room was worth it. Simple rooms. Staff great. Breakfast included in price is very simple, continental. Coffee was weak but tasty. Walk up to hotel is not easy if you are out of shape and are affected by altitude. It was hard for me but well worth the climb. Safe hotel and very close to Jardin de la Union. Bring ear plugs, city sounds! Rockets, church bells in early morning. Highly recommend. We paid around $75 night.

Room Tip: Luna room amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizmats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Just stayed in this hotel 2 days ago, the site is breathtaking as the hotel is located on top of the hill, near the center though however we moved down to the center as it is kinda high to climb up and down, more than 88 steps I think, not really accessible, the service is great and the rooms are pretty

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Marisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Dirty bathroom, no hot water, unsecure room that couldn't be locked and led the maid to invade the room while we were sleeping. Poor and greasy breakfast. Unpolite staff that mocked on us when we asked for help. Not to mention the awful stairways. And it's expensive comparing to much better options in Guanajuato! We don't have a single good thing to tell about this lousy hotel. The worst hotel experience of a lifetime!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Hotel Balcon del Cielo
#15 of 55 in Guanajuato
148 reviews
2.2 km away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#12 of 55 in Guanajuato
556 reviews
0.4 km away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
141 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.1 km away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chocolate Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chocolate Boutique

Address: Cerrada de Constancia, 13, Zona centro, Guanajuato, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Guanajuato
Price Range: $87 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chocolate Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chocolate Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing