We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be patient and loving...your home away from home.”
Review of Bagel Cafetin - CLOSED

Bagel Cafetin
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Here is a quiet, little place that is easy to reach and easy to enjoy. In a period of a few days, we have had breakfast there four times. Each time Sandra(called San) was friendly and delightful. The first couple of visits, we went with their menu items: bagels, bagel sandwich and hot cakes with bacon...all quite delicious. As our visit in Guanajuato stretched out for three weeks, we started getting a craving for a more typical American breakfast. There are probably places in this town that do this, but San was curious and wanted to learn and to try it. So, we discussed eggs--over-easy, sunny-side up, medium, and so forth. We talked about the crisp bacon, toast and all that vocabulary and technique that is very unfamiliar to the cuisine of Guanajuato. But San made it happen. It was delicious and they got it very close. So we told her we would be back to try it again. Sure enough, very excellent. If you are willing to be patient and give some help in explaining what you want and are satisfied with what you get...you will love this experience San was very enthusiastic about getting this "right" and putting it on her menu. The second visit San completely remembered the order and presentation including a little dish of strawberry preserves for the toast. Thanks, San.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Food is excellent so is service. A crazy little cafe with seating inside and out. Had bagels with smoked salmon and beautiful little salad, great soups and main courses too. Nice wine, cocktails.. you name it, they have it.
Only complaints are: A bagel restaurant that doesn't open until 9? Also the seating inside is very uncomfortable. The hightop stools and tables just don't work. That said, the food is good. Also dropped my laundry off there that the girls in the back will take care of for just a few pesos.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really good sandwiches and a nice place to sit, inside or on the terrace. In the evening they sometimes have life music on the 1st floor.

Date of visit: September 2012
Thank MishaPook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I ordered a BLT Bagel. At 80 pesos I felt the price was a little high, but I was willing to forgive that if they delivered me with a fantastic bagel. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The bagel was nothing special at all, with hardly any bacon and the side salad was just some lettuce leaves with a bit of dressing slapped on.
The place was empty too. I dare bet if they dropped their prices by about 20 pesos and got rid of the fancy tableware the place would fill up.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coatsie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a little place down a hill from Escuela Mexicana where I regular attend language school when in Guanajuato. According to amigo Jeff the BLT sandwich is delicious. A good place to brab a sandwich or bagel. Soups are also good and the staff is Guanajuato friendly.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagel Cafetin also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing