We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place in Mexico City center”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen/Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Living room
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Kitchen/Living room
Living room
Living room
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Entry
Angel of Independence
Angel of Independence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
allo_lalo...
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place in Mexico City center”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I visited Mexico City (CDMX) for two weeks in the context of my work. I decided to rent a flat instead of booking a hotel. This was the best decision ever!

Not only Casa de Chiles feels like home, but also it has all the amenities a five-star hotel can offer (except for room service, of course). Justyna was very welcoming and arranging, not to mention super fast in replying to all my questions.

The apartment is located two short blocks away from Reforma in the heart of the business district. Major banks and international firms are housed in the vicinity, including top hotels 4 Seasons and St. Regis. It is also short 3 miles from the city center and many tourist attractions.

The apartment is very nicely decorated with modern Mexican furniture and colorful touches of red “chiles” across the flat. The bed is very comfortable and despite the business of the neighborhood, the place is very quiet for sleeping.

I enjoyed waking up the weekends and brew my own coffee, or have a snack in the middle of the day while listening to my own music (connecting your phone to the Bluetooth sound bar is all you need to create a great atmosphere).

The neighborhood is amazing and very safe! Lots of restaurants and bars on the same street Lerma, going on the direction East. I walked on my own at night and never felt threatened or unsafe. Additionally, opposite to Reforma is Colonia Juarez with lots of antique shops, restaurants, and bars at the famous “zona rosa” gay district.
Above all, this neighborhood is equidistant to Polanco ultra ‘chic’ borough or hipster Roma and Condesa neighborhoods (5-10 min Uber drive, pending traffic).

Finally, I brought my running shoes and was totally spoiled for morning or weekend jogging. Chapultepec Park is 5 min away (running distance) from the flat, and the circuit is awesome: you can appreciate the castle of Chapultepec, the lake and other museums in your way, including curious squirrels you can feed if you have some bread.

All in all, I had a great time in Casa de Chiles and Mexico City! Highly recommended!

Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloraFF
San Diego, California
1 review
“Beautiful apartment, but...”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The apartment is beautifully designed, spacious, and with good location. My enthusiasm however, is tempered by the facts that the shower water temperature was set at 37oC and could not be raised, and the stove could not be turned on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Flora certainly won the title of the worst guest of the year. Firstly, she tried to sneak the third person for the reservation of two people (saving 10 USD/night on her own son); then she refused to upgrade the reservation. I was on my way to cancel the reservation directly with Tripadvisor; which I should do without any scruples; but moved by polite request of Tripadvisor and begging of Flora not to cancel I decided to maintain it (last error of 2017!).
The first message which woke me up was a sms: “Looks like no breakfast for us today”. In my listing it is clearly stated that there is no breakfast provided! I guess she expected a maid serving it to bed, for the total price of 59 USD/night for 2 people.
Then rude requests started: “Send me somebody immediately, because I want 42°C water under the shower and 37°C is not sufficient”. “Oven is broken, send me somebody immediately, before 7 AM to fix it”. Clearly the lady didn’t get the idea of being a guest in somebody else’s home, and that it is not a hotel; and that some things easily can be done by the guest.
Despite of a clear explanation how to activate the electricity supply for the oven marked as HORNO (central switch as a precaution due to the frequent seismic activity in the zone); Flora was continuously refusing to switch it on, saying that it is not such a switch on the wall, waiting for somebody to come and switch it on for her. She started then to blackmail us that she will only write a god evaluation if somebody will immediately come and switch on the oven, because she has to cook for her husband. It was a weekend of 31 of December, and we were outside of the town; as well as the half of the family.
Instead of profiting of fabulous food of Mexico City and great breakfasts in the coffee shop 10 m away, Flora preferred shoot pile of messages every day, requesting immediate attention for a thing which can and is expected to be done by a guest.
The moment we received a message that Flora left was the best news of the first day of the New Year. Next time we will trust our guts and cancel people who try to cheat and sneak other people without paying for them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christym9...
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment in Mexico City!”
Reviewed December 25, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this stylishly renovated apartment. Even though it is near some busy streets, it is so quiet in the apartment. They were tearing up the street out front and we didn't hear a thing. The apartment is close to a Metro stop, the big Chapultepec Park, lots of restaurants, Reforma Ave. There are OXXO's nearby to pick up water, etc and a farmacia and a launderette in the next block. We felt perfectly safe in this neighborhood. The bed in the main bedroom is very comfortable. The hot water for the shower is a little tricky to figure out, but once we did, had plenty of hot water. Justyna and her sister, Alex, were very responsive and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. It's a perfect place for a family if you have a couple of kids or even teenagers as there are two fold out couch beds. Having a nice place to stay always makes our vacations more enjoyable. This place ticks off all the marks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PADDY O
Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best possible experience!”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I had not been to Mexico City since 1978 (outside of the airport layovers) and was searching for a true Mexican cultural experience. I wanted to be comfortable when I stepped off the street, get in some runs, and have close access to all I planned to see throughout the city in 4 days. Casa de Chiles was a gem!!! Justyna was out of town and welcomed us through easy accessible communication while her lovely sister-in-law Alexandra met us with the keys and a warm welcome. The apartment is so pretty, clean and comfortable. The location was great. I ran in Chapultepec Park - solo woman - among many other runners and exercisers. To get there is around a 5 minute walk through busy city streets. The other run was one of the most fantastic city running experiences I've ever had - down and back on the Paseo de la Reforma, past all the monuments, on a Sunday because it is CLOSED to traffic until 2:00 pm. The apartment is about a short block and a half from the Reforma, so be sure to include Sunday when you rent!! It was amazing - quiet when I started and then gradually filling with all kinds of people alone, in groups, or families. The ecobicis are everywhere. If you don't like running, rent a bike. You'll find the vantage point of seeing all the Reforma monuments without the traffic absolutely fantastic. The apartment was about a 7 minute walk to the closest metro which we used to get to the historic area and Coyoacan. The metro was initially outside my friend's comfort zone and she was so happy we did it. It is so fast, easy and a whopping 25 cents : ) We had so much fun and did so many wonderful things each and everyday and then got to return to our comfortable, wonderfully decorated apartment, have a hot shower and relax. Thank you Justyna and Alex!!!
PS Bring earplugs in case of construction. The apartment was super quiet except one night there was some loud construction noise which was easily resolved by popping in the earplugs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Patricia, you were such a fantastic guest! We are thrilled that you had such great experience; me, Justyna I am a runner too and Chapultepec is an ideal spot. And they have wifi for free there, so you can show off to your friends putting Runtastic data on the Facebook later ;-)
What a change since you went last time, right?
We love to bike along Refirma on Sundays, you really feel that you dominate the city.
Come back anytime you want to b exposed to tacos, tequila and vibrant atmosphere!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justyna W
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“A little secret in a noisy Mexico City”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I spent at Casa de Chiles 10 days at the end of August and I was nicely surprised that it is possible to find silence to sleep so close to Reforma. The apartment has been entirely refurbished, but the owners left part of the old stylish floor, this really give nice touch. Very comfortable mattress to sleep. Plenty of nice touches: shampoo and gel in the bathroom, coffee available in the kitchen, fridge with fresh water supply, and on the top of that - a bottle of beer as a welcome!
I will recommend the apartment to everyone who travels to Mexico City, you are in the centre yet, huge park nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Park Chapultepec nearby, where I could run in the morning
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you, Justyna for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and yes, indeed, there is a huge park 4 min away, we used to go there for running (wifi for free in the park, you can trace your movements on Runtastic for free if you are with a fireign phone number). We hope to see you soon in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafalpoz
Poznan, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the best choice !!”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked the Casa de Chiles for 5 nights coming to a wedding in Mexico City. My flight into the city was delayed and thankfully, our hostess was flexible with our check in time. Communication with the hostess was excellent! The apartment was clean and well equipped with thoughtful touches (such as drinking water, cervezas, shampoo in the shower). We would highly recommend this apartment to anybody who wants to have a comfortable stay in Mexico City, outside of soulless hotels!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you alot, Rafal! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Merci infiniment! Voue êtes toujours bienvenus chez nous!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing