We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude staff, creepy rooms, hated it”
Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Isabel
Ranked #165 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude staff, creepy rooms, hated it”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

One of my worst experiences, really rude front desk staff, a nightmare sleep, leaky bathrooms were enough to run away from there first nite.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJop172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    114
    76
    30
    30
See reviews for
47
77
66
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Clean & quiet and an easy walk to the historical parts of the city. No breakfast included but a good restaurant attached and a fun little bar to meet the locals and try the tequila!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolabah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This hotel is located just blocks away from the Centro Historico in Mexico City making it an ideal place to stay. The Hotel has a beautiful internal courtyard too.
With breakfast included the price was good for the one night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is very helpfull and clean, the location is great and there is a nice roof terrace were you can hangout in the sun.
When we returned on the way back to mexico city we could leave our backpacks here for free in the luggage room during the day, which was very nice.
You can pick a room with or with shared bedroom so for every one's budet there is something.Downstairs is a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner which is nice and close..
There is free wifi also.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btravel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I spent two weeks in Mexico on business, four nights at this Hotel. Hotel Isabel was recommended, by a friend who had stayed here previously, as a base for exploring the Historic Centre.

It is situated a couple of blocks from the Zocalo and very convenient for the whole of the historic centre.

My room was very large with an en-suite. There was a safe large enough for my laptop and valuables and I had a view looking down the street which was good to get my bearings. The decor is dated with sickly peach furnishings and bedding plus some clashing patterns to add to the effect, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Service was friendly, there was free wifi, free water and perfectly located for everything I wanted to do in the area. Plus it was very cheap.

I didn't try the restaurant as I quickly discovered Cafe El Popular nearby which was great for breakfast or a coffee and snack.

As a solo, female traveller, who was going to be going out and about, the hotel was fine, as was Mexico City on the whole. I didn't go out alone after about 9-10pm when the streets were much quieter but otherwise I felt safe enough to travel on the metro and local transport.

If you are looking for budget accommodation in the Historic Centre this is most definitely a good bet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Littlemisswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Its an old hotel but our stayment was very pleasant, the staff was good, the internet is fast, and if you eat at the restaurant its cheapest and very great, at the bar you can drink tequila mmmm....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourense
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Very well ¡¡¡¡
Is the second time that I was hosted at the hotel Isabel
and the truth I am happy,
They have improved enough, find better service,
Wi-Fi in the rooms, very spacious rooms, very friendly staff, very nice outside building because you arrangement recently, have improved!
The restaurant and bar with more varieties news and very good prices
If you travel to the city of México
hotel Isabel is very good option

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maicolOurense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#136 of 305 in Mexico City
253 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#140 of 305 in Mexico City
131 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#111 of 305 in Mexico City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#69 of 305 in Mexico City
282 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#135 of 305 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Azores
Hotel Azores
#192 of 305 in Mexico City
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Property: Hotel Isabel
Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica 63, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Isabel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the Historic Center of Mexico City quite a few steps from the Zocalo, with elevators, Internet, all services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Isabel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing