We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #2 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

For what we paid, the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico was a great value. I would consider it a 3-star property. It has all of the amenities of a 4-star property save a couple of less significant things like Wi-Fi the speed of molasses, international calls have to be made through the front desk, single pane windows on the street front and less than new furnishings.

Some wallpaper is peeling, bathroom caulk is beginning to age and mold.

Other gripes include a hard, springy mattress, sheets that aren't long enough to cover the mattress, consistently exposing the bare mattress at the foot of the bed and lots of noise.

Notwithstanding these non-major issues, the hotel was a good value for the rate we paid.

The location is outstanding, in the vicinity of the Metro, pedestrian shopping streets, the Mercado La Merced, and myriad food and drink venues.

Staff is very professional and genuinely pleasant and helpful.

Rooms are classically decorated and spacious and the interior of the hotel lobby is spectacular.

We would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your sincere words. We were very pleased to receive you and we are looking forward to have that privilege again.
About what you kindly tell us, we would like to mention that we count with a classical furnishing in our rooms in order to perfectly harmonize with the decoration style in all the hotel. Nevertheless we are aware that “classical” is not the same as “old” or “worn-out”, which is why we are constantly doing preventive and corrective maintenance works in all the hotel to ensure the preservation of this style but without letting it become weary.
Our windows are a little bigger than usual, but this has the purpose of offering the best Zocalo view possible. We recommend our guests who stay in one of these rooms to fully open their windows on a warm sunset or a pleasant night; it is quite an experience we are sure you will not forget.
As for the internet, we apologize if it caused you any inconveniences. We have implemented some measures to avoid the saturation of it, be sure that we will check it in order to verify its speed.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in the near future, it was our pleasure to attend you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    433
    90
    25
    28
See reviews for
657
944
163
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

What an absolute gem of a hotel this is! With its Tiffany glass roof, dripping chandeliers, plush carpets, art nouveau lifts and caged canaries it is a belle epoque fantasy. We stayed in a junior suite at the front of the hotel overlooking the Zocalo. Though this meant being woken at 6.ooam. every morning by the drums and bugles of the ceremonial guard raising the national flag, it was a price worth paying. The whole of the city's life is played out in the Zocalo and we had a grandstand seat. Indeed, most evenings we just sat at our window with a beer watching the pageant unfold. Our room was spacious, with a four-poster bed and a marble-clad bathroom suite. The maid service was superb - efficient and unobtrusive, with sheets and towels changed on a daily basis. (I know, not very ecologically p.c., but we happily suspended our green principles for the week!)
We ate in the hotel restaurant on a couple of occasions and were impressed by the food, service and ambience. The menu was Mexican in a European-friendly sort of way, the waiters were attentive without being obsequious, and the restaurant's rooftop terrace afforded stunning views of the Metropolitan Cathedral and National Palace. The same level of service was replicated by all the hotel staff we approached - friendly, helpful and unfailingly courteous. We also appreciated the free use of a couple of P.C.s in the hotel's business suite - no one else seemed to have discovered them and we had them virtually to ourselves.
We were very impressed by this hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for comfortable and stylish accommodation in a superb central location.

For a safe, efficient, friendly, reasonably priced, English-speaking driver contact Victor at Vicabp (o44) 55014746150. He took very good care of us on two full day excursions outside the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickWilliams_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your complete and beautiful review. It is a huge joy for ourselves when we achieve to offer our guests an ideal stay. Due to this reason, we often encourage our visitors to inform us whatever they need before, during and after their stay; our staff constantly look for ways to exceed our guest´s expectations.
As you mention, our hotel is famous for its antique and well-preserved design and decoration; although it also counts with the modern commodities that the 20th century offers. Among these commodities are our free Wi-Fi High Speed Internet Access on every floor, the useful business center you kindly describe, and our fully equipped gym. Please do visit us again, it is always a pleasure and privilege for us to receive recurrent guests and they are fondly remembered by the members of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Even if you don't stay here, stop in and see the hotel. The lobby is beautiful. There is a cage full of singing canaries, that get covered every night with a red velvet curtain. The ceiling of the lobby is stained glass. The hotel does have an elevator, but there is a long flight of stairs that lead up from the street to the lobby, and elevator does not go all the way down to the street. If you are looking for a place that has access for wheelchairs, this place is not so great. The rooms were beautiful, with high ceilings, but the beds were VERY hard. There is a nice cafe downstairs for breakfast and another restaurant upstairs, with a view of the Zocalo. The food at the restaurant was okay, but not the quality that we were expecting. The staff were very nice and helpful. The entire neighborhood was very safe, with police on every block.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasGoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your sincere words. We feel pleased to know that you appreciated our classic architecture and the hotel’s style.
Since the hotel is part of Mexico’s cultural heritage, it is a little hard to make such big changes in it like including a wheelchair access. However, we do not allow this to become an inconvenience to our guests since we count with a secondary access that could be useful to wheelchairs; all members of our staff will be proud to help any guest who needs assistance to enter the hotel and will take special care during all of the stay.
About our beds, we are sorry to know that you found them too hard. Most of our mattresses are brand new so maybe that aspect influenced your opinion. Perhaps you would like to try a special pillow from our menu on your next stay; we are sure that way you will enjoy your sleep next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Gran Cuidad over Valentine's day. The hotel is beautiful and the location is very convenient. The concierge and the front desk staff were very pleasant and friendly, as was the gentleman who showed us to our beautiful suite. For these experiences, we give the hotel very high marks.

We had made reservations at the hotel restaurant overlooking the Zocolo for Valentine's Day dinner. It was a 4-course set menu and while the food was good the service was awful. As we were eating our first course of salads the soup arrived and our unfinished salad plates were whisked away. While I was still finishing my soup we noticed the waiter standing behind us and waiting with our main courses. At one point I literally had to grab my plate so my main course wasn't taken away before I was finished. After three courses we learnt our lesson and informed the waiter we did not want dessert for at least 15 min. It would have been a lovely evening if we had at least 5 min. between courses to enjoy our food and wine, the beautiful zocolo view, and each other's company.

Breakfast starts at 7am. We went down at 7:15 to be told by a waiter he had no food, just grapefruit juice and coffee, and that we should come back later. As we had an appointment, we said the juice and coffee was fine. Luckily, we got a different waiter who was much friendlier.

Overall, this is an absolutely beautiful hotel with lovely staff and a great location. But definitely give the restaurants a pass.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tecalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your sincere comment. We are very sorry to know that your felt like this on our Valentine´s event.
Since we received your comment, we started an exhaustive research with the personnel who had the pleasure of attending our guests on that day. Since most of our guests have special plans after dinner on that day, they put all their efforts in giving a highly efficient quality service. This had also the purpose of reducing the waiting time between courses by having each course ready in advance. We offer you our dearest apology if you felt somewhat pressured, we assure you it was never our purpose.
About the situation you report happened the next day, we assure you that corrective measurements have been taken. These measurements will ensure that the service hours on each of our restaurants are respected so that what you experienced will not happen again. Rest assured that we have taken care of this situation and it have been immediately corrected.
We hope that you consider giving us the pleasure of attending you again in the near future. As a hotel who is deeply committed to our guests’ satisfaction; we would love to receive you again and offer you the opportunity to experience by first-hand the improvements made regarding your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taghkanic, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were there only from 9:00 PM until 5:00 AM.
Upon arrival at the main entrance we had to schlep our bags up a full flight of stairs and look around for the registration desk, which was way off in a corner.
Due to our short stay we had no occasion to experience the service, other than check in [nothing special] and the bellman [very pleasant and professional ] who took us to our room
Upon check in we were told that our request for a room facing the Zocalo [front of the building] had been changed to an exterior room on the side due to the fact thaqt we had requested double beds which are not available on the front.
We were so tired ans staying only for eight hours or so that we accepted the side room.

The 'room' turned out to be a suite.Very small entry hall. Off to one side was a living room with TV. No windows . About 15 x10. Around a corner was a massive bedroom, approximately 25x20 with another TV. The bathrom was capacious and pristine, with marble walls and floors. Terlephone and potable [filtered] water. More than the usual complimentary toiletries.
The furniture and furnishings were sort of [New York] Plaza1970, but all in 'like new' condition. Realtively high count linens. Juliet balcony which afforded a side view of the Zocalo.
This hotel possesses what is arguably one of the world's most amazing lobbies, c.1905. Just fabulous!
We'd return again to this fabulously located hotel with an assurance that our reservationj request be honored..
The suite as well as the entire hotel seems to have been somewhat, quite tastefully redone. All public areas are well maintained .

Room Tip: double beds available on side of hotel. only five room per floor facing Zocalo, the city's main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottinTaghkanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your comment. We felt very proud to welcome you even if it was only for a night.
As you mention, all of our double (two double beds) rooms have an inner view or face to the “16 de Septiembre” street. Due to this, it is impossible for us to grant a Zocalo view room to guests that request a room with two beds.
Nevertheless you can have a more accurate idea on our rooms by visiting and booking through our official website. There you can see different pictures of the rooms and find the details which with each category counts. Moreover, through our website we offer you a virtual visit and a live Zocalo View, which offer our guests a full idea on the exterior and interior of the hotel. We hope that you visit us again soon, it will always be our pleasure to receive you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Immaculately clean, very classy period rooms. Very comfortable bed. The reception staff were absolutely first class and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review about us. It was our privilege to receive you, we feel very proud to know that you were fond of both, the rooms’ decoration and our staff´s attentions.
Maybe, for your next stay you would like to accommodate in one of our Junior or Master Suites. These rooms are bigger than the Deluxe ones, and count with a lovely Zocalo View so we believe you will feel very comfortable staying in one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I had a pretty good stay in this hotel. The staff were very kind and helpful. The building is also a special one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BickleTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma M, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your accurate words. Our building is in fact unique and has a very interesting history. Originally, it hosted the “Portal de Mercaderes” back in 1529. Later it became the “Centro Mercantil”, a place where high-society families and very distinguished gentlemen usually went for shopping. This “Centro Mercantil” was the equivalent to malls from nowadays and was inaugurated by the very same president “Porfirio Diaz” in 1899. Actually you can still admire the original initials “CM” which correspond to this “Centro Mercantil”, preserved in the original wrought iron.
In case you are interested in the complete story of the hotel, please visit our website where you will find a complete narration about it. We are sure you will enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle 16 de Septiembre 82 | Col. Centro Historico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#9 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Old World elegance of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, an exquisite turn-of-the-century property perfectly located in downtown Mexico City. You can feel the history from the moment you step inside. From the Art Nouveau decor to the gilded open elevators and immaculate stained-glass ceiling in the lobby, every inch of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico pays tribute to the past while providing the comfort you expect from a fine luxury hotel. The palatial ambience continues in the guest rooms. Enjoy a unique blend of traditional and contemporary decor as you sink into a plush bed. Many rooms also feature stunning views of the vibrant Zocalo square just outside the hotel. You can also marvel at spectacular scenery from the Terraza Restaurant, which is perched on the fifth floor. When it's time to explore, ask our knowledgeable concierge for recommendations on the best shows, events and attractions in Mexico City. A 24-hour fitness area and well-equipped business center are among the other amenities you can enjoy. We also provide the perfect starting point for exploring everything Mexico City has to offer. Delve into Mexican culture at the Palacio de BellasArtes, explore Old Corpus Christi or embrace the charm of the Casino Espanol De Mexico. Stay at the Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico and savor a unique blend of comfort, service and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing