We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
389
256
69
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
256
69
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish embassyother guestsguest housefew blockshome away from homechapultepec parkpaseo de la reformasafe neighborhoodhot waterstreet noisestayed nightsrooms are comfortablelocation is greatcentral locationfelt very safestay in mexico citycourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 746 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms are quiet and comfortable and service is always with a smile. Breakfast here, while not included, is well worth the 95 pesos (about 5 USD)-- not just for the great food but also for the networking.
If a tall, smiling man greets you and says his name is George or Jorge, he might very well be your host, the owner of the home. His recommendations are very good and will be tailored to your interests.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cheribokern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for your most kind review.
For Casa Gonzalez it's an honor and great pleasure to host guests like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

I wanted to give Hotel Casa Gonzalez four stars, but the bed in room 131 was terrible. By the time we returned to our room for the one night's stay, it was too late to switch rooms. The room was clean and of a nice size, but that couldn't make up for the fact that the bed was propped up in the center and sloped to either side. My partner woke up with a back ache. The location is central and staff is friendly and helpful. If you choose this property, be sure to check the bed before unpacking or going out to explore the city.

Room Tip: Avoid 13, the bed is horrible
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
I am sorry you did not mention the matress immediatelly so we could have done something about it.
Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

There were several requirements that an hotel must met i order to be considerer like a valualbe alternative for stying there:
Nr.1 Ubication

. FRom this point of view, is perfect 10/10
it is located a few steps two blolqs away from the Angel of independence.
2 ond. Charming facilities T. THere was putting into evidence that there was more due to the architectral design of the state with a wide interior gardens that in the rooms : very vulgars in my opinion, at least the ones we got it.

3RD. nIce people all eround. THe Mexicans are very friendly people generally speaking.
But in this case we can not extent the same statement for all the members of their staff.
That was specially true in the area of the eating rooms .
4rd. Cleanness. IMpecable

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Juan M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We stayed 4 nights in Mexico City and returning back to this hotel was very relaxing. It was spread out over different buildings and linked by pleasant courtyards. There was a good choice of breakfast and it was interesting meeting different people over breakfast. There were 2 large communal tables to eat at.It looks as if at one time it had been a family house.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Glendb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Stayed here on the start of my Mexico trip and enjoyed the location and the friendly staff. The hotel itself is situated on a very busy street and a few of the nights the traffic noise (and the honking horns) woke me up . The hotel is a converted house with beautiful gardens and nice Mexican decorations (two thumbs up for their Day of the Dead decorations!) . However the rooms are shabby and furnishings are old. If you want clean, basic rooms in a good location with friendly staff this is for you. However stay away from the ground floor unless you get yourself ear plugs.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor -traffic noise can be terrible at night
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am sorry you had noise and that you found the rooms shabby.
You reserved our least expensive room (under $40.00 USD plus tax per night for a double room).
I recommend you reserve our rooms that are not facing the street. The price difference is not much and the rooms are larger and do not get street noise.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews