We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #29 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed 4 nights and had an excellent experience. They take care with every aspect of their business - the hotel is spotless throughout, the gardens are wonderful, the Front Desk staff are pleasant, professional and efficient. Although the rooms are smallish, they have very good quality furniture, the beds are nicely firm and the bath towels very soft.

We really appreciated the ease with which we could stroll round the Zona Rosa and had a great choice of eating places.

They are not expensive and because I paid by cash I was given a good discount on the quoted price of $955 per night.

Apparently this hotel has been operating since the 1930's and it's easy to see why they continue to do so well. I make frequent visits to Mexico City and will make Hotel Casa González my go-to place from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for such a kind review.
If you prefer larger rooms the newer rooms are more spacious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

This hotel was beautiful, private, and an inexpensive place to stay in a great part of Mexico City! It was walking distance from Bosque de Chapultepec, and from other great restaurant areas. The building itself is private so that from outside it looks like a non-descript building. Inside, all of the rooms are inward facing to a beautful courtyard that is blooming with trees and plants. The restaurant on premise was delicious and they would bring food to your room as well. I cannot wait to return there again, I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for such a kind review.
We look forward to having you stay with us once more soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We have visited Mexico City multiple times and will not stay anywhere else. This little B&B is absolutely delightful for the price. It is an hacienda type hotel with about 20-30 total rooms encircling a gorgeous courtyard full of lime trees, flowers and all sorts of greenery...a great oasis for relaxing. It sits within 5-min walking distance from the famous Angel of Inpendence statue. Food is good, staff is friendly and attentive. They do not provide in-room irons :( but do provide a very low priced laundry service with quick turn around. Definitely recommend you try at least once!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank judydeharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for sharing such a kind review. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

It's a classical hotel, well located, and cosy. Family that owns the hotel is very attentive and has many stories to share at breakfast. I met a family from Canada that stays at the hotel every year for 17 years. You can meet people from all over the world at breakfast. It's a different experience. I enjoyed it a lot and will stay there again when I return to Mexico.

Room Tip: Try and get a room far from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your most kind review.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms are quiet and comfortable and service is always with a smile. Breakfast here, while not included, is well worth the 95 pesos (about 5 USD)-- not just for the great food but also for the networking.
If a tall, smiling man greets you and says his name is George or Jorge, he might very well be your host, the owner of the home. His recommendations are very good and will be tailored to your interests.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cheribokern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for your most kind review.
For Casa Gonzalez it's an honor and great pleasure to host guests like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I wanted to give Hotel Casa Gonzalez four stars, but the bed in room 131 was terrible. By the time we returned to our room for the one night's stay, it was too late to switch rooms. The room was clean and of a nice size, but that couldn't make up for the fact that the bed was propped up in the center and sloped to either side. My partner woke up with a back ache. The location is central and staff is friendly and helpful. If you choose this property, be sure to check the bed before unpacking or going out to explore the city.

Room Tip: Avoid 13, the bed is horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
I am sorry you did not mention the matress immediatelly so we could have done something about it.
Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

There were several requirements that an hotel must met i order to be considerer like a valualbe alternative for stying there:
Nr.1 Ubication

. FRom this point of view, is perfect 10/10
it is located a few steps two blolqs away from the Angel of independence.
2 ond. Charming facilities T. THere was putting into evidence that there was more due to the architectral design of the state with a wide interior gardens that in the rooms : very vulgars in my opinion, at least the ones we got it.

3RD. nIce people all eround. THe Mexicans are very friendly people generally speaking.
But in this case we can not extent the same statement for all the members of their staff.
That was specially true in the area of the eating rooms .
4rd. Cleanness. IMpecable

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Juan M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 312 in Mexico City
988 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#39 of 312 in Mexico City
896 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#63 of 312 in Mexico City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#40 of 312 in Mexico City
604 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#34 of 312 in Mexico City
961 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $66 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing