We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
437
397
147
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
397
147
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel zona rosa telephone bar winston churchill marlon brando chief concierge comfortable beds hotel lobby business center restaurants and shops two blocks chapultepec park location is excellent museum mendoza neighborhood mexico
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

If ever in Mexico City, I'd totally recommend staying at Hotel Geneve, at least once! A museum/hotel in itself, right in the heart of Zona Rosa, a block or two from the world famous Reforma Avenue. The lobby; a great place to visit, just sit back and relax AND discover a little piece of its over 100 years of history. No wonder either. (Reception staff A+++) <3

Pros: The history (being one of the first hotels in beautiful Mexico) and spa area.

Could be better: The restaurant staff and service overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view looking out over Londres street.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddieAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you very much for your review and for selecting our hotel for your stay.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

The reception desk was quite chaotic - upon checking in, I was given a room and key card, but when I entered the room it was already occupied. I trekked back down to the front desk and explained, and was assigned another room - I told the receptionist that I was pretty sure she had just assigned that room to my colleague, but she didn't believe me, so off I went again with one of the hotel staff, and sure enough, the room was occupied by my colleague! So, back to the reception desk, and third time lucky - she did manage to assign me a room that wasn't occupied.

The hotel itself is a lovely building with lots of character. The room itself was fine, though there was some black mould behind one of the taps at thewash basin. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was well-lit (unlike most hotel rooms).

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UtaNapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your review, I was aware of your situation, a new front desk personnel made the mistake, I have call the attention to our front desk manager and also to the girl
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Excellent, beautiful old hotel. Convenient to all areas of the city. So worth it. Much history with this hotel. Definitely beats staying in a new generic hotel. Clean, quiet inside, good location. Nice restaurant inside that is reasonably priced and great to see all the beautiful birds. Good concierge service available.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Janelankford411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we really value very much your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Very cool hotel, super interesting old decor, a refreshing change from a chain hotel. Decor included matador costumes and a large array of old telephones from 100+ years ago, most of which were on display in the bar just off the lobby. Staff was very welcoming.

Cons - The air conditioner worked well the lowest fan setting on it was quite loud and strong. The bathroom was very small and appliances were outdated, but overall it was very nice and had an old school, home-y feeling to it. Key cards frequently deactivated - would work in the elevator but not in the door, had to be reset multiple times.

Highly recommended - great value for the price. In a great neighborhood that is very walkable with lots of bars and restaurants, and many convenience stores nearby to get clean water!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOLA504reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you vert much for your review, we sincerely appreciate that you select our hotel for your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We did a combination work and vacation stay and were floored by how neat this place is. It has many display cases that amount to views into the past of Mexico City. A mini museum. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and it is just short blocks to great places to eat, nightlife and public transportation. The garden restaurant was also a delight for breakfast. We will absolutely stay here again on our next visit!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Cannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

We really appreciate your feedback, we always take into consideration all the suggestions that our guests mention, we also participate to all employees about our guest opinions, those opinions help us to make us better every day

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews