We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect penthouse in central Mexico city beyond...”
other travellers have booked this property
Open-plan living/dining  room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open-plan living/dining  room
Living room (detail) View from living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Open-plan living/dining  room
Living room (detail)
View from living room
Evening view from terrace
Living room - work station
Bedroom I Aviones (1 king or 2 twin beds)
Bedroom I - Aviones
Bathroom I - jaccuzzi
Bedroom II Peces (2 twins or 1 king)
Bedroom II Peces
Bathroom II
Bedoom III El Toro (queen bed)
Bedroom IV (single) - Capote
Dining area
Night dining
Dining area
Kitchen
View from balcony
Lobby
Building - Edificio Santa Clara
Penthouse with arches on top floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ca-midcoa...
Vallejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect penthouse in central Mexico city beyond your expectations”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in January 2017

Perfect rental in central Mexico City. Bakery and coffeee shop plus rotisserie chicken on ground floor of classic building. True penthouse, comfortable for 3 couples.
Landlord Petra lives on same floor. Wrote chapters on guide book for Mexico City.
Arranges to meet you at airport, return you to airport and either will be your guide or arrange transportation for your own exploration beyond the central city.
Supplies continental breakfast each morning and maid services.
WiFi, tv and guide books. Excellent kitchen to prepare your own meals and many good restaurants within 2-3 blocks.
Book it if available. Great value and perfect location

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
I really appreciate your taking the time to swend us such a great and detailed review. Thank you! We are hoping to see you again in Mexico City. Saludos, Petra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy S
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't look any further”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in March 2018

Petra's penthouse was perfect for our ten night stay in Mexico City. It is in the historic district between Palacio de Bellas Artes and the Zocalo. The photographs are accurate but really don't do justice to the apartment. It is a combination of a B & B and self catering accommodation. Shampoo and liquid soap are provided along with slippers and robes. Every day the kitchen is restocked with fresh fruit, yogurt, and pastries. The kitchen has everything needed to prepare meals although we didn't as there are so many wonderful restaurants in close proximity. A metro station is a block away. The beds are very comfortable. There is good water pressure for the showers and plenty of hot water. Petra was extremely helpful throughout the entire booking process responding promptly to questions. My three criteria for a rental are comfort, convenience, and cost. This apartment has it all!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you very much, Judy, for such a wonderful and detailed review. What a fun group you were, and such intrepid travelers! May all your travels meet your expectations. And if you should decide to come back to Mexico City one day, be assured that you are always welcome here with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfection! Accommodations and location couldn't be beat.”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our three generation family of six really enjoyed our visit to Mexico City. Petra's penthouse is perfectly located, allowing quick access to many points of interest within walking distance. The historical penthouse is beautifully preserved, spacious and comfortable.

Petra was very helpful to us as we navigated the city. We would definitely choose to stay at the Bolivar Suite on a return trip.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
And we really enjoyed having Kathy and her family with us. The perfect guests! Welcome here any time, and highly recommended to future hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would return in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our group totaled seven, and this apartment was very accommodating. Great common space and well appointed. Staying in the historico central granted us easy access to sightseeing treasures, but we always had a stylish and comfortable spot to come home to. Our hostess, Petra, thought of everything: a stocked fridge for breakfasts, guidebooks, filtered water, and our own "minibar" for our enjoyment. We all agreed that this spot enhanced our first visit to Mexico City. It won't be our last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
Thanks, Ellen, for such a great review. I am glad you and your group enjoyed your stay. And we enjoyed having you with us! And thanks for the bottles of wine you left. Let's drink them together when you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougshore...
Ridgefield, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best place to stay in Mexico City Centro Historico!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This penthouse suite is perfectly located in the middle of Centro Historico, within walking distance of the Zócalo, Templo Mayor, Palacio de Bellas Artes, and so very much more. The suite itself was very comfortable, exceptionally spacious, and with all the amenities you would expect in a penthouse suite and more. The best part of our stay here was Petra! She is the most amazing host who went above and beyond to make our stay in Mexico City all the more enjoyable and memorable. Petra was our personal guide for our tour of Teotihuacan, Market tour, and a special extended "Behind the Palace" tour which we did on our anniversary and Petra made it all the more fascinating with her knowledge & history of the area and personal of various business owners.
Another factor that made our stay all the more enjoyable is the network of Petra's incredible friends/associates who also serve as tour guides for us. And of course, Ceci, who pampered us throughout our stay. I can't say enough of how impressed we were with our stay here. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and our host, Petra.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you so much, Vicky and Doug, for this wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Do come back and let's do another anniversary or other celebration tour in a different part of the city. There's plenty more to explore. All the best to the both of you, Petra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobandMar...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and the prior reviews were accurate...It's fabulous!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Strategic:
One of the things I look for in a vacation rental is the location - this was a short trip (about a week) and I didn't want to spend the majority of my free time traveling around the city to see things. This apartment is perfectly located for everything you want in the Historic Center., I.E. Zocalo, Ruins, Museums, Restaurants, etc)

Service:
I traveled with extended family and two teenagers. Petra (Owner) lives down the hall and was as unobtrusive as you needed and simultaneously as available as you wanted. She also has a small staff to help with advice, cooking classes, Spanish classes, airport transfers if you want that kind of thing. She is very organized and has thought of everything in advance. the whole crew was very nice to us and very helpful.

Accommodations:
The apartment is as beautiful as the photos suggest. It also can be reconfigured to suit room styles or smaller parties. We took three of the bedrooms but I believe there was a fourth and its very spacious... and then there is the views!

Tours:
We decided to have Petra's people handle the airport transfers for us which all worked out perfectly. We also decided on two tours and the cooking class in the apartment. On Day 1 we did a walking tour to familiarize our surrounding with Renate - (very sweet Lady), we took the Pyramid tour with Petra. This is a full day mostly but expertly navigated by our guide even with tired teenagers. We also did the Cooking class with Ceci who had the two kids sitting quietly and helping with all the prep work in Spanish for hours which is worth the price of admission. Going to the Market with Ceci was the highlight for me.

Extras:
***Learn the Subway system, its cheap, clean and safe or at least that was my experience.
***Take the walking tour first - this tour gives you the lay of the land and you can decide what you want to do on a larger scale after.
***The weather at this time of year is breezy, about ( 70,f) and not humid. It rains late in the afternoon for a bit.
***If I go back to Mexico, this place is the only place I would stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cooking Class
Liked least: I can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Dear Bob and Mario,
we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Bolivar Suites. And thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. It helps future guest to know what Bolivar Suites - and we - are all about. Do come back and we'll take you to other markets also, very different from the one you visited with Ceci. Ceci sends her regards. She has complimented you on your tortilla making. You are an expert, she says....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H
Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, well-appointed flat central to the Centro Historico”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent about a week in this apartment, having rented 3 rooms ( I believe it could be expanded up to 5 rooms if requested) for 2 couples and 2 children. It was well furnished and equipped with interesting art, sculpture and plants to make it feel homey. I was worried that it might be a little too "precious" based on the lovely photos, but in person the apartment was well loved and we felt comfortable even with 2 small children. The furniture is comfortable, though the couches are a bit tired, and could use better lighting for reading in the evenings. We wanted for nothing in the kitchen. We visited in January and being an old building, the apartment was cool. However there is a propane furnace which heats the main area nicely, as well as space heaters in each of the rooms and electric blankets on the beds to keep you toasty. The terrace is filled to the brim with plants, which is attractive - however do not expect to sit on the terrace. The building felt very safe with the attended door 24/7, and a gate locked vestibule prior to the main apartment door. There is city noise (of course), but we had no trouble to sleep.

The host (Petra) provides one airport transfer per stay - we were met in the arrivals area of the airport with a lady bearing a sign, and she helped us with our luggage to the driver's SUV. Petra then met us late in the evening on our arrival and oriented us briefly to the apartment. She also returned the following day to add some more details. She was helpful without being intrusive. We took advantage of Petra's booking expertise for 2 day trips (Teotihuacan and Cholula/Puebla). We had pre-arranged the first tour prior to our arrival, and it went so well, we asked last-minute if she could arrange the latter, and so it was! She hired us a driver with an appropriate vehicle for our party - we were very pleased with his driving, and with a group our size, this arrangement was both practical and comparable in price to a group tour. We are not particularly factoid thirsty, so we did not hire guiding services but rather the Coles-notes version in our travel books sufficed for us.

Each morning we woke to find the kitchen stores restocked with pastries, eggs, butter, milk, juice and fruit (lovely!). We also indulged ourselves with 2 dinner meals prepared by Ceci in the apartment while our children slept. She cooked delicious 3-4 course meals complete with a starter drink, and coffee to finish. Portions were sizeable and varied.

The apartment was also cleaned each day which was nice, though I would have preferred it to be less frequent based on a longer stay.

Petra provides you with all the information about cost of driver, tours, cook, etc. upon demand when you inquire about the apartment.

My only small issue complaint would be that tipping is strongly encouraged for every service around the apartment. I suffer from tipping fatigue, I guess. I do hope that the staff are compensated well for the work that they do, as the apartment is priced fairly (but not budget), and that a tip is a bonus, if I decide to do so.

We walked extensively from the apartment around the Centro Historico - this is truly a great location to explore the most historically important parts of Mexico City. Mexico City is so enormous, I wish that we'd ventured on the Metro earlier in our stay as it was a very reasonable, safe and efficient way to explore other neighbourhoods (though a little awkward with a bulky double stroller!). We had Petra book us a radio taxi once - and that was a good experience. We did get cheated when we hailed our own radio taxi off the street however.

We had a great stay. 1 week doesn't do any justice to Mexico City, but it was a good introduction, and the penthouse provided a great location to explore from and retire to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location, size, decor
Liked least: *suggested* tipping
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you, Andrea, for your lovely and detailed review and your suggestions on how to improve Bolivar Suites. Tired sofa and lack of reading lights in living room: duly noted. We'll take care of this. Tipping: Please note that gratuities are customary in Mexico, more so than in many other countries. It's a tipping culture! Our staff is paid well; our employees have stayed with us for over 15 years. But not tipping for service is considered rude in Mexico. That's why we suggest that guests, at the end of their stay, give the maids a small reward for their efforts. But of course this is optional.
Saludos,
Petra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing