We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a good place to crash..”
Review of Hotel La Selva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Selva
Ranked #87 of 159 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Start with the bad:
1. The bed is terribly solid and uncomfortable - nothing a little tequila couldn't fix.
2. The room is small and dirty. As one person wrote, there's black stuff stuck to the floor that turned spots of my towel brown when laid on the floor.
3. The light is dim, the door is broken and the bathroom is all one piece (there's nothing to separate the toilette from the sink, or the sink from the shower).
4. It's pretty noisy and I do smell cigarette smoke all around (there was an ashtray in my room).


The good:
1. It's embarrassingly cheap. While it's not the best place to stay, it's definitely somewhere I don't MIND staying and the room is absolutely worth the price.
2. It's literally steps from the nearest metro station.
3. The neighborhood actually isn't that bad. I was not afraid to go out at night.
4. The shower gets very hot! After seeing how dirty the floor was, I was surprised to find just how comfortable the shower was.

5. This hotel would get fewer stars if it weren't for the amazing staff. I think the owner is the only one who speaks English, but everyone is patient, kind and the staff is all around pleasant to be around.

Room Tip: I have room 204 and it has sticky brown stuff on the floor. I would not recommend this one in partic...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianO210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Selva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I really hated our first night here. We had room C and it stank of cigarette smoke and there were no windows open to the outside. Also, the faucet in the bathroom sink had one of those public bathroom nozzles on it so you had to hold the faucet open with one hand while trying to wash your face with the other hand. Luckily, we got a leak in our roof on the second night and they offered to change our room. The second room that we stayed in was in the added on building and it was much nicer. There was no carpet and it had a window to the outside, so it didn't smell like smoke at all. The sink was a regular sink and the internet worked in this room too. If I had to rate this hotel on my first night I would have given it a Terrible rating, but because we were moved and our experience changed drastically, I think it ended up being good value for money. Definitely try to stay in the new added on portion of the hotel rather than the older part and keep in mind that even the people who run the hotel smoke inside. The last complaint is that we asked for them to schedule a taxi to come pick us up in the morning because we had to be at the airport early. The English speaking manager said that he would call and that the taxi would be waiting for us in the morning, but the taxi never came and the only person on duty that early in the morning, didn't speak any English at all. But luckily there is an area where lots of taxis hang out just around the corner on the way to the subway station. We were able to pick one up there and he even used the meter! Also, the breakfast here is pretty good, but people might be smoking around you while you're trying to eat.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a letter (A,B,C) try and get one in the newer part of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The price of the rooms is embarassingly cheap ! It is clean and the owner , Javier Solis is very helpful in every way . He speaks English gives out map and instruction on how to use the metro which is just a block away . We had breakfast included and it includes scrambled eggs with ham or 2 pcs of sunnyside up and 2 pcs of toasted bread , a cup of fresh mixed fruits and choice of coffee ( capucchino , black , americano ) or chocolate.
Will we stay here again ? Sure but those who are picky there is a school nearby and uses a loud speaker early in the morning . For us it is our wake up call each day !
About the staff , although they can not speak english they tried to help cheerfully inspite of difficulty in communication.

Room Tip: For those who are able to climb the stairs since there is no lift the rooms on the second floor are...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

It was an adventure to sleep there, indeed:) The hotel staff is very nice. The dirt in our room was unacceptable; old furniture (usually I don't mind but...it seems taken from trash), scary carpet with black bits stuck to it...it seemed as if only thing that was cleaned was bed area (bed linen was also clean). Located close to Chabacano metro station - is definitely an advantage - though area isn't pleasant after dark. I think name of the hotel refers to jungle of dirt;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myadesignstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

really, i have not a bad word to say about this hotel. the beds are super clean as is the rest of the room. food is cheap and handy. the management are really accomodating and are full of advice and are very friendly. it is super cheap! this is by far the cheapest accomodation i have found in df and surpasses most of the others i have stayed. i would definitely recomment this hotel to anybody staying in df for layover or a while.

Room Tip: there is a bit of an echo, like most hotels in mexico so better if you're not on the ground floo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamhinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Hotel La Selva is in a great location within five minutes of a metro station. It is the bare bones, as you can imagine from a hotel of this price! It was partly under construction so it wasn't the most beautiful of hotels, and was definitely a budget hotel! The staff were lovely, but they did not speak any English. There were hardly any other mainstream tourists there. However it's handy location more than makes up for all of it's downsides if you are just planning on sleeping in the hotel. I would definitely go back there if I was in Mexico City again, but if you are expecting anything other than a basic bedroom then it is not for you! The hotel is near a metro and a main road and as such there is some noise but if you get a room upstairs it is minimal.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the ground floor near the reception. Paying extra is well worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _joflakess_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was there on last September attracted by the price I was on a tight budget and the location is relatively good.

PROS
Price affordable but maybe you can find something better for the price I pay 350 MXP for the renewed Suite.

CONS
By disgrace is also used for stopovers so that even is business for them sometimes the customers seems not so safe persons.
The carpet needs urgent replacement and the regular rooms better to keep it close maybe i was on the wrong wing.

Conclusion, great location, great potential excellent service but urgently needs an strong investment for renovation so they really can use the potential of the Hotel at full.

PD the bulletproof window on the administration seems scary...

Room Tip: ask for the suites otherwise you wil find at not so nice surprise
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Mora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#132 of 312 in Mexico City
258 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#112 of 312 in Mexico City
107 reviews
Hotel Mexicali
#247 of 312 in Mexico City
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mallorca Hotel
#251 of 312 in Mexico City
98 reviews
Hotel Universal
#151 of 312 in Mexico City
37 reviews
Hotel Polly
#98 of 159 in Mexico City
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Selva

Address: Calzada Chabacano 7 | Calzada Chabacano 7, Mexico City 06850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Selva 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Selva Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing