We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$87
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
US$133
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Mexico Reforma(Mexico City)
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$390
US$226
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$299
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
20
18
13
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
18
13
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fandorm roomhot waterjavierstainssupermarketlaundrymetroshowerairport
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 66 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I really hated our first night here. We had room C and it stank of cigarette smoke and there were no windows open to the outside. Also, the faucet in the bathroom sink had one of those public bathroom nozzles on it so you had to hold the faucet open with one hand while trying to wash your face with the other hand. Luckily, we got a leak in our roof on the second night and they offered to change our room. The second room that we stayed in was in the added on building and it was much nicer. There was no carpet and it had a window to the outside, so it didn't smell like smoke at all. The sink was a regular sink and the internet worked in this room too. If I had to rate this hotel on my first night I would have given it a Terrible rating, but because we were moved and our experience changed drastically, I think it ended up being good value for money. Definitely try to stay in the new added on portion of the hotel rather than the older part and keep in mind that even the people who run the hotel smoke inside. The last complaint is that we asked for them to schedule a taxi to come pick us up in the morning because we had to be at the airport early. The English speaking manager said that he would call and that the taxi would be waiting for us in the morning, but the taxi never came and the only person on duty that early in the morning, didn't speak any English at all. But luckily there is an area where lots of taxis hang out just around the corner on the way to the subway station. We were able to pick one up there and he even used the meter! Also, the breakfast here is pretty good, but people might be smoking around you while you're trying to eat.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a letter (A,B,C) try and get one in the newer part of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The price of the rooms is embarassingly cheap ! It is clean and the owner , Javier Solis is very helpful in every way . He speaks English gives out map and instruction on how to use the metro which is just a block away . We had breakfast included and it includes scrambled eggs with ham or 2 pcs of sunnyside up and 2 pcs of toasted bread , a cup of fresh mixed fruits and choice of coffee ( capucchino , black , americano ) or chocolate.
Will we stay here again ? Sure but those who are picky there is a school nearby and uses a loud speaker early in the morning . For us it is our wake up call each day !
About the staff , although they can not speak english they tried to help cheerfully inspite of difficulty in communication.

Room Tip: For those who are able to climb the stairs since there is no lift the rooms on the second floor are nicer .
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was an adventure to sleep there, indeed:) The hotel staff is very nice. The dirt in our room was unacceptable; old furniture (usually I don't mind but...it seems taken from trash), scary carpet with black bits stuck to it...it seemed as if only thing that was cleaned was bed area (bed linen was also clean). Located close to Chabacano metro station - is definitely an advantage - though area isn't pleasant after dark. I think name of the hotel refers to jungle of dirt;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myadesignstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2013

really, i have not a bad word to say about this hotel. the beds are super clean as is the rest of the room. food is cheap and handy. the management are really accomodating and are full of advice and are very friendly. it is super cheap! this is by far the cheapest accomodation i have found in df and surpasses most of the others i have stayed. i would definitely recomment this hotel to anybody staying in df for layover or a while.

Room Tip: there is a bit of an echo, like most hotels in mexico so better if you're not on the ground floor. we were, but we slept well.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamhinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel La Selva is in a great location within five minutes of a metro station. It is the bare bones, as you can imagine from a hotel of this price! It was partly under construction so it wasn't the most beautiful of hotels, and was definitely a budget hotel! The staff were lovely, but they did not speak any English. There were hardly any other mainstream tourists there. However it's handy location more than makes up for all of it's downsides if you are just planning on sleeping in the hotel. I would definitely go back there if I was in Mexico City again, but if you are expecting anything other than a basic bedroom then it is not for you! The hotel is near a metro and a main road and as such there is some noise but if you get a room upstairs it is minimal.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the ground floor near the reception. Paying extra is well worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _joflakess_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews