We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem”
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Ranked #1 of 170 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Absolutely the BEST place I have ever stayed in a lifetime of traveling. I would recommend TRTH to anyone coming to CDMX. I will certainly always stay here when I'm back in the city. The staff is friendly, helpful, and fun. The rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated. And the neighborhood is just perfect. Can't say enough!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

As a single woman, I wanted a friendly place to stay - and the Red Tree House couldn't have been more hospitable and warm. There's plenty of staff, and without exception they're "present" all the time, checking if there's anything you need or want, or if there's any information you want. They're happy to make reservations for anything, to call an Uber (on your cell), etc. Read the reviews, and know that all the good things are true. I stayed five nights.

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor room so I didn't have to climb steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UptownGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful experience at The Red Tree House! We picked to spend our one year anniversary at The Red Tree House, and it was SUCH a good decision. I read the reviews on Facebook and couldn't NOT stay here. They're right. The people who run The Red Tree House (Hey, Carlos!) are amazing. They're so welcoming and have perfect recommendations. (El Capital is not to be missed!) We stayed in the Tree House Suite, and while it is small, it was perfect for us. We didn't get to participate in happy hour due to our schedule, but we were invited back even after we checked out. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. Sam and I wished we would've stayed an extra night. We will DEFINITELY be back and HIGHLY recommend The Red Tree House!

Room Tip: Not a bad room here--we loved the Tree House Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Red Tree House is the most pleasant hotel/B&B I've ever stayed in, and it's the perfect place to stay when visiting Mexico City.

The rooms themselves are wonderful. We stayed in a garden room (that actually had a very comfortable king-size bed, not a queen), and it was perfect for the two of us. It has two big glass doors, but they put a planter with a perfectly-sized plant in front of the door to provide a privacy screen to the patio tables outside. There's a portable a/c unit in the room, but the weather is so pleasant there (even in July) that we just used the fan. The bathrooms are small but completely big enough to be comfortable over a 5-night stay.

The common areas and hotel events were also lovely. There's an interior courtyard with 5-6 tables and amazing plants and vegetation. Inside in the main building, there are multiple seating areas. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning (8-10am). They have out for everyone fruits, coffee and tea, cereal, and yogurt, and they have a small kitchen staff that makes to order one item each morning. We had sopes one morning, molletes the next, and huevos rancheros with a wrapped tostada with beans the next. It was simply wonderful, and included in the price of the room. And every afternoon from 6-8pm, they serve complimentary wine and beer. The daily happy hours were a great way to meet the other guests and hear about different ideas in the city.

The staff was just delightful, too. Victor, Carlos, Yaya, Alejandro, and Craig are charming and caring people, and made the trip a success. They gave us restaurant recommendations, tour advice, and were just very nice people to meet. WHEN we go back to Mexico City, we're staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank austinmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

So, we stayed here for 4 nights and in July, 2017. The staff, Victor, YaYa, all of them, are just fabulous. Location is excellent too, great part of town and restaurants. When we arrived, several from the staff came out to greet us with such warm smiles and this hospitality continued the entire time. Breakfast is incredible, on one day we had a very early tour - we mentioned it to them the night before, and amazingly - they had coffee, fruit, cereal, bread all laid out for us so that we would not go hungry. The full breakfast is cooked to order - and each day they have something new. The daily free Happy Hour is really great - we enjoyed getting to know the other guests and the staff never let us want for anything. It was so much fun that it seems all the guest plan their time so that we can all meet up between 6-8pm and share the daily stories. This was much better than even a 5 start hotel experience. Since we were a larger group, we had two different rooms- a junior suite and also a garden room - both were very nice. Wifi and other amenties were great. Highly highly recommend - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Junior suites were very nice, tried to get the penthouse, but was already sold out for our dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

My husband just returned from a 4-night stay at the Red Tree House. We arrived at 4:30 AM and were greeted with a smiling face by Alejandro, were able to rest until breakfast and proceeded to have a lovely few days. Great daily Mexican breakfast, happy hour, concierges with amazing recommendations, the sweetest puppy, great location. Met great people both visiting and working at the Red Tree House. Make the most of your visit and stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank staryeh613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in early July in a Junior Suite and loved it. We normally are not overly enthusiastic to socialize when we are on vacation, but this place was an exception. Every night there was a happy hour, where we met a number of other fantastic guests. The conversation was always fun and interesting. The hotel itself is very nice, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. The staff were very helpful and friendly - getting us to a dinner reservation on time in the pouring rain (it took 90 minutes to travel 6km, in the rainy season, leave early!) and booking tickets in advance for the blue house. Everyone spoke English perfectly. We loved this place and Mexico City and will definitely be back to stay here on our next trip. It does book up so reserve your room well in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
227 reviews
Condesa
Casa Mali by Dominion
Casa Mali by Dominion
#47 of 313 in Mexico City
78 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Maria Condesa
Maria Condesa
#29 of 313 in Mexico City
370 reviews
Condesa
Condesa Haus
Condesa Haus
#5 of 170 in Mexico City
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Calle Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: C$119 - C$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing