We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Los Danzantes Oaxaca
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes Oaxaca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 584 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Los Danzantes Oaxaca is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Reviewed December 27, 2016

There are a number of truly excellent restaurants in Oaxaca, but Los Danzantes rates high among them. The food and service are excellent, the prices reasonable, and the ambiance is unique in the city. If you want a romantic dinner, this is your spot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

It is very special to read your feedback about us, but it is more special to know that
our services were satisfactory for you during your visit. Thank you so much for taking
a time to write to us in Tripadvisor and to share with other users your thoughts. We
wish you can go back to Oaxaca city and try once again our Oaxacan cuisine along with
our service staff. Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Everything very fine in this Oaxaca example of high end chain. Only exception was pulpo (octopus) starter a bit fatty. Dessert divine.

Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to know you liked our services during your visit. We appreciate the critic about our octopus, we will take it in note for our dear customers. We wish you can go back and try it again and change your mind about it. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

I'll start by saying this was the best restaurant in Oaxaca I visited.
The place is just amazing, you enter by a small corridor, not much to look at on the street level, but once you go in, the place opens up to a beautiful indoor restaurant.
Semi open space, with a fish pond and waterfall, delightful waiting area and superb service.
It's not a big restaurant so the service is always on hand, which is rare on Oaxaca restaurants.
The food is amazing, everything is just delicious. I ordered a black mole and the taste and presentation were excellent.

Perfect for dinning or hanging out to take a break from the sightseeing.

Thank Rito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Rito, it is a pleasure to know you loved our restaurant in many ways, especially the
decor and settings, we see you loved it. We feel proud of being called “the best
restaurant in Oaxaca” by you, reading your good comments make us to keep working
hard to keep achieving the approval of our dear customers. Thank you so much for
telling us how was the taste and presentation of our black mole, we invite you to keep
trying more dishes availables in the menu. We hope you can go back soon during your
next trip to Oaxaca city. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

Los danzantes is in a gorgeous indoor/outdoor space with plants, water features and impressive raw brick walls. We really enjoyed the selection of Mexican wines and the live jazz but to be honest the food was a bit average. Maybe if my Spanish was better I would have been able to better ask questions and understand the dishes before I ordered them...

Thank 2011meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Hello. Thank for sharing your feedback about your visit, we appreciate your
comments in regard our services such like setting, decor, wines selection and music.
We apologize for the expectation of our food, we wish next time you visit Los
Danzantes Oaxaca you like our Oaxacan gastronomy and change your mind about it.
Sometimes we have customers who speaks a little of spanish but even though that,
our service staff is willing and able to understand you and give you the best
experience ever. Have a wonderful day and we will wait for you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2016

The food, the servers, the ambiance are all well worth the visit. I went twice while I was in Oaxaca and both times were great. The mezcal cocktails are really, really good. And they have a nice locally distilled mezcal which I believe is made especially for them. The reddish one is colored with cochineal which I loved being a natural dyer who uses cochineal on my yarns! Here's the place you can eat ant larvae (larva de hormiga) and grasshoppers (chapulines) and huitlacoche (fungus that grows on corn and is wonderful) and you will love every bite.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JM144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Thank you so much for taking a time to write to us. Your opinion encourages us to
keep working hard for you, we want that every time you visit Los Danzantes Oaxaca
your perspective about Mexican food changes to the best concept ever. About the mezcal made specially for us, it is true, we make our own mezcal at Santiago Matatlán since July 1997.

We do not have words to tell you “thank you” for your feedback, your visit and the
recommendations to other users. We wish you to have a wonderful day and we will
wait for you in your next trip to Oaxaca city. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Danzantes Oaxaca also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing