We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location for Oaxaca experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location for Oaxaca experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Spent a week in Oaxaca learning Spanish for diabetes educators. The hotel was very clean. We really loved the shower. Our room had a balcony view of the hills and apparently the tree outside our window has brilliant blooms in the spring. Did not use the pool, but it looked inviting. Had a meal outside on the patio, though. Local restaurants and great Oaxaca hot chocolate were just blocks away. Appreciated the free in-room internet access and computer in the lobby. Only disappointment was the daily buffet breakfast with the same items every day. Got a little boring after a few days. Would have been nice to have a cafe in the hotel. If Spanish course is offered again, would appreciate returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: second floor overlooking street was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    109
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
81
109
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
279 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

When visiting Mexico and Central American countries, I normally stay in B&B’s that usually have more local character than hotels. But, I didn’t have much time to research B&B’s in Oaxaca, so I picked the dependable Holiday Inn.

I was happy with this Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were clean and well appointed. There was a small pool, Jacuzzi and business center. WiFi is free. The location is good, only a 5-minute walk to the Santo Domingo church and 10 minutes to the Zocola. A nice breakfast buffet included with my room. It did not have a restaurant for lunch and dinner, but is a nice restaurant next door and a bunch less than 10 minutes walk. There is a tour desk in the lobby and I recommend a half-day tour to the artist villages and Mitla, and another half-day tour to Mt Alban. But, save time to stroll the historic Oaxaca center.

One note on getting fromt he airport to the hotel. When arriving, the two options are taking a share taxi van for 55 pesos/person or a private taxi van for 255 pesos. If you have two or more, I recommend the private option otherwise it may take much longer than the 20 minute direct ride. You need to buy your taxi ticket at the airport stand. You can arrange a private taxi back to the airport via the Holiday Inn for 150 pesos.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a great hotel with a colonial look and feel + breakfast and FREE wifi are included. We stayed in a JUNIOR SUITE with a big private balcony overlooking the pool area. Our room was large and very clean w/extra amenities in the bathroom. The king size bed was a little harder than to expected at a HI but not a problem.
Breakfast was a fresh, plentiful and delicious buffet served in an area off of the lobby with a choice of eating inside or outside on the patio by the pool. We ate outside which was nice and relaxing - a great place to enjoy the start of the day with a cup of coffee. Although we didn't use the pool or adjacent hot tub, they both were inviting.
We also liked the fact that the hotel had safe and secure parking for our car. The staff was friendly and helpful and overall the service was very good. The only drawback was the elevator - there is only one and it was crazy slow and even a couple of times not working at all! We ended up walking the 3 floors up/down which was no problem for us.
We would liked to have stayed a couple more nights except that we arrived without a reservation the week between Christmas and New Year - not a good idea! After searching high and low, the HIE had the only vacancy anywhere and only for ONE night! Needless to say it was a very good choice. We definitely would stay at this Holiday Inn Express again when visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights - were very happy with our choice! Got a great room with 2 queens and a pull out in a separate alcove area. Room was clean and had great street views with juliet balconies. Free breakfast was perfect for us - kids could go down and eat if we weren't ready. Food was fresh and service was excellent. No one seemed to be tipping for the wait staff...but we did. Front desk staff was fine. We used the tour booking desk for 2 trips - 1 to Monte Alban and the other to markets, Mitla, rug demonstration, etc. We were impressed with both trips. Location of hotel was fine - we walked to zocolo both day and night - no safety issues at all. Hotel arranged a taxi very early for our departure (5:30am) and had snacks in a bag to go for all 4 of us. We were there Dec 15th to 19th and wasn't really busy. Pool is heated and we often had it to ourselves. Dont' miss the open air bus tour from near the zocolo - gives you a great perspective of the immediate city.

Room Tip: We faced north (I think) and had a nice view of the streets below...rather than the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were very happy with the cleanliness, services and quite rooms during out two night stay at this hotel recently. The staff was eager to help and the breakfast buffet was always kept filled and fresh. It's location is a little out of the way from all the main action, but the peaceful night's sleep made up for a slightly longer walk to events and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeacenikAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I don't usually choose this type of lodging when I travel out of the USA, but it's location in a hacienda complete with a nice heated pool made for a very relaxing stay.I forgot my passport in their room safe: the staff was really helpful in sending it back to me in Mexico City. Breakfast was tasty and generous. In all, a terrific stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbainedesbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmexingles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. My wife has one of her best friends living in Oaxaca and I am a gold PC member, but I must say, I will never stay here again and will gladly miss out on my valuable points. The staff are a complete joke at this hotel...from the arrogance of the receptionists to the rudeness of the manager which was really was just beyond belief when complaining that the some of the channels on the TV didn't work and prevented us from watching something we wanted. It was disgusting service. The housekeepers were ridiculously noisy at 0730 in the morning on each day which when it is the weekend, you don't particularly enjoy being woken at that hour. I think I'll be staying at the Camino Real next time...and suggest you do the same. Don't bother giving this place your business.

Room Tip: I see someone on here is distraught they didn't get the suite...but to be honest they are nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elmexingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
3.7 km away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#4 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 km away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 km away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca

Property: Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Address: Calle Diaz Quintas 115, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca is conveniently located in the Historical Center of the city just a short walk from promenade which leads to the town square (zócalo). The beauty of this award winning hotel is complemented with an art gallery of original oil paintings from the most renowned Oaxacan artists. All our rooms and suites feature remote-controlled air conditioning, hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, telephone with two lines and data port. Express Breakfast (American Breakfast Buffet), business center, heated outdoor swimming pool, indoor parking on premise and special events hall with capacity for up to 170 persons are additional facilities and services offered by the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca represents a style of service and hospitality that is traditional to the State of Oaxaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Holiday Inn Express Oaxaca
Holiday Inn Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing