We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Hotel, Helpful Staff, Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Posada Yagul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Posada Yagul
Ranked #45 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is an excellent value. The staff were incredibly helpful in planning out time in Oaxaca. The rooms in the front half of the hotel have wifi in the room. The rooms in the back do not. The patio area has wifi, as does the cafe. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main plaza - far enough that it is peaceful and close enough that you can run back to the hotel if you forget something without wasting too much time. Overnight parking is free for guests after 9pm until the AM. On holidays when the parking nextdoor is closed, the hotel will comp you the 50 pesos for parking at the Pemex station half a block away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacobfyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at Posada Yagul for two nights around Dia de los Muertos, as I was unable to extend my Airbnb apartment and Posada Yagul was nearby - I found it just by walking around the neighborhood.

You can see it has not many reviews, and many of the reviews are in Spanish. It is more a small hotel than "specialty lodging," but what this says to me is it's just under-noticed by foreign travelers, because it's a perfectly nice, comfortable, clean place to stay, at a good price (770 pesos a night, or about $60, for double occupancy, in November 2013 - when many other hotels were full), and very centrally located.

Included in the price is a modest breakfast, including fruit & fresh juices, coffee, etc., served in their lovely, quaint courtyard pictured here. Rooms are fairly large, with big, clean bathroom, fan, TV - all your basic amenities. There is a night watch to let you in if you straggle in late, and to add extra security (though I found this area quite safe).

If you want a nice, clean, convenient place to stay in the historic center of Oaxaca, but don't want to pay for a fancy place with all the trimmings, Posada Yagul is a good option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better. Just a couple of blocks from the Zocalo, which is the heart of Oaxaca.
The price is very reasonable.
The rooms are large, and some of them have cool architectural detail.
Included in the price is a healthy, tasty breakfast of fruit with yogurt and granola, along with bread, coffee and juice.
The hotel is run day to day by young, intelligent, responsible people. They respond instantly to any request or issue you may have. They are extremely kind and helpful in general.
There is a gym right next door, and all kinds of goods and services in the surrounding blocks, including several pastry shops!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckyLaFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hotel Posada Yagul is the best place to stay in Oaxaca, it has a good service, excellent food, very clean and also good price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagonmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Posada Yagul is located a quick jaunt away from the zocalo, which is great because you can be in the center of town in well under 5 minutes, yet you´re far enough away so that you can forget the constant hubbub.

I found the pricing of the hotel very reasonable. I stayed in one of the dormitories for $150 pesos/night, and the bed I slept in was easily the most comfortable of all the ones I stayed in this trip. The cost of a bed/room includes a simple light breakfast consisting of a plate of fresh local fruit topped with yogurt and granola, and juice and coffee and piece of pan dulce. Also included in the price per night is access to the internet on the hotel´s computer, which came in real handy and saved me plenty of pesos.

The hotel is quite clean, and the staff are all very helpful, friendly, and knowledgable about their city and region. I want to give special thanks to Ivan, Misael, and Tania for their warmth of spirit and making me feel at home. Next time I´m in Oaxaca CIty, I know where I´ll be staying...

P.s. Something that might be of interest to fitness conscious travelers, even though I personally didn´t make use of it, is the gym located next door.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfmanofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elige las habitaciones de atrás pasando la terraza principal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarianaAscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: la ubicacion, el servicio y el precio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bety R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 km away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 110 in Oaxaca
588 reviews
0.7 km away
La Leyenda Youth Hostel
La Leyenda Youth Hostel
#64 of 123 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mision de Los Angeles
Mision de Los Angeles
#44 of 110 in Oaxaca
212 reviews
1.2 km away
City Express Oaxaca
City Express Oaxaca
#30 of 110 in Oaxaca
111 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Casona Oaxaca
Hotel Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 110 in Oaxaca
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Yagul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Yagul

Address: Ave. Juarez No. 106 | Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Oaxaca
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Yagul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Posada Yagul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing