We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place close to the center”
Review of Posada Sancris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Sancris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Posada Sancris much longer than we initially planned.
Clean and comfortable rooms, very hot shower and a possibility of using a kitchen enabled us to stay there with real pleasure.
When we were there, we did not meet any tourists. Everyone was rather independent, sitting in their rooms rather than being in one common place chating to each other. We also did not get much inspiration from the owners of the place - but also we did not look for it.
Important if you have a car - you can park inside the property so you do not have to pay additionally for the estacionamiento - parking in the street is impossible as it is too narrow.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor as we wanted one - not so much sun light gets in, and it is a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at the Posada Sancris for a week. We travelled with a couple and their experience was about the same. The place is clean, well cared for, and well equipped. It is only a short stroll from the action in center of town. The owners are warm, caring, and responsive. The beds were comfortable, the hot water worked, and the breakfast fine (although we only opted for occasional morning coffee and the continental breakfast when not dashing out. The posada has an inside parking area for those coming with cars. The Wifi works mostly near the main desk but off & on in the rooms. We stayed at a bigger room as our promised room was unavailable when we arrived and moved to another one in two days. Both were clean and well equipped. The place is somewhat noisy however, as in one room we were awakened every mooring at 5 by the neighbors roosters and turkeys, and in the other, by the folks talking in the kitchen and hallways. The owner, Ernesto drove us back to Tuxtla to catch our flight at a very reasonable rate. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can't tell! I think every rooms has the noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollymanvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A wonderful family run lodge. Ernesto and son, Carlos are so friendly and accommodating. Everything was great. Lovely room with windows and light, extremely clean, comfy bed, lots of blankets for cool weather, and lots of hot water, great breakfast. A mere 4 blocks from the central street. You can't ask for any more especially with the great pricing. We were in low season and were upgraded to a larger room which just shows how willing they are to make your stay as pleasant as they can. Stayed for 5 nights and was sad to go. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room #9 worked great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My friend and I stayed in a private room here for 4 nights, it was really quiet which was a pretty nice shift from the last hostel. We were sure to wake up for the breakfast every morning as it was seriously amazing, cooked by the sweetest lady. She gave you three options of how to have your eggs (the veggie omelet is gooood!), each day was different, served with fresh bread toasted with jam, freshly made salsa and coffee or tea. Hostel was clean, free of smells and mold, staff was super friendly, they even looked after our bags for a few hours between our checkout time and when our bus was leaving. The courtyard is sunny with lots of vibrant plants and flowers. Wifi worked great. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because of the hot water situation, we had no hot water...but I learned on our last night they turn the water heater on from 6am-11am only for the first floor, the rest of the hostel gets hot water all the time. They were also having an issue with a part from their water heater, but a super sweet man working turned the water heater on special for me so i could shower.
Really sweet people.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor if you can, hot water all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peptalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

very lovely staff - help with every thing you want and need
best free breakfast - tasty and rich - you can ask in advance what you want and most chances they gonna make it for you
quiet place but good location
very safe
great value for the money
they really make an effort to please their guests and its warm the heart
we came for one night and staied for 5.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omri o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. The staff were a real mix, overall very nice and keen to help though not very efficient, a bit like watching a comedy!
Room was a bit cold, but lots of blankets on the bed and I had a great nights sleep.
Wifi service was excellent.
Breakfast was not too great - we had fresh fruit and juice that was nice, though the coffee was undrinkable. We also had some very dry toast (stale?), some cheap margarine and some weird marmalade that smelt funny - we're not that fussy (eat street food and all sorts) but I couldn't eat it. Meanwhile the family guests next to us somehow scored big plates of eggs, ham and frijoles. Made us feel really uncomfortable watching the difference, especially looking at our poor breakfast, with no attempt was made to offer us the same.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Very clean and large rooms, quiet but close to the main historical centre. It was very good value too and the owner was very hospitable and accommodating to us. It was also great value for budget travelers like us!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewNg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#57 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
56 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#4 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
184 reviews
0.7 km away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Casa Selah
Hotel Casa Selah
#6 of 96 in San Cristobal de las Casas
87 reviews
0 km away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#3 of 96 in San Cristobal de las Casas
333 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostel Mirador
Hostel Mirador
#5 of 96 in San Cristobal de las Casas
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Sancris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Sancris

Address: Calle Tapachula # 14 | El Cerillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: C$29 - C$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come To Have The Best Resting Time Of Your Trip With Us in all Clean & Comfortable Private Rooms, Only In Posada Sancris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Sancris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing