We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
89
42
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
42
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marmalade three nights couple running the owner san cris hot water real de guadalupe per night minute walk ernesto driveway centre street shower noise mexico wifi
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 150 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Posada Sancris for a week. We travelled with a couple and their experience was about the same. The place is clean, well cared for, and well equipped. It is only a short stroll from the action in center of town. The owners are warm, caring, and responsive. The beds were comfortable, the hot water worked, and the breakfast fine (although we only opted for occasional morning coffee and the continental breakfast when not dashing out. The posada has an inside parking area for those coming with cars. The Wifi works mostly near the main desk but off & on in the rooms. We stayed at a bigger room as our promised room was unavailable when we arrived and moved to another one in two days. Both were clean and well equipped. The place is somewhat noisy however, as in one room we were awakened every mooring at 5 by the neighbors roosters and turkeys, and in the other, by the folks talking in the kitchen and hallways. The owner, Ernesto drove us back to Tuxtla to catch our flight at a very reasonable rate. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can't tell! I think every rooms has the noise issue.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollymanvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2014

A wonderful family run lodge. Ernesto and son, Carlos are so friendly and accommodating. Everything was great. Lovely room with windows and light, extremely clean, comfy bed, lots of blankets for cool weather, and lots of hot water, great breakfast. A mere 4 blocks from the central street. You can't ask for any more especially with the great pricing. We were in low season and were upgraded to a larger room which just shows how willing they are to make your stay as pleasant as they can. Stayed for 5 nights and was sad to go. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room #9 worked great for us.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My friend and I stayed in a private room here for 4 nights, it was really quiet which was a pretty nice shift from the last hostel. We were sure to wake up for the breakfast every morning as it was seriously amazing, cooked by the sweetest lady. She gave you three options of how to have your eggs (the veggie omelet is gooood!), each day was different, served with fresh bread toasted with jam, freshly made salsa and coffee or tea. Hostel was clean, free of smells and mold, staff was super friendly, they even looked after our bags for a few hours between our checkout time and when our bus was leaving. The courtyard is sunny with lots of vibrant plants and flowers. Wifi worked great. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because of the hot water situation, we had no hot water...but I learned on our last night they turn the water heater on from 6am-11am only for the first floor, the rest of the hostel gets hot water all the time. They were also having an issue with a part from their water heater, but a super sweet man working turned the water heater on special for me so i could shower.
Really sweet people.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor if you can, hot water all day!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peptalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2013

very lovely staff - help with every thing you want and need
best free breakfast - tasty and rich - you can ask in advance what you want and most chances they gonna make it for you
quiet place but good location
very safe
great value for the money
they really make an effort to please their guests and its warm the heart
we came for one night and staied for 5.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omri o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. The staff were a real mix, overall very nice and keen to help though not very efficient, a bit like watching a comedy!
Room was a bit cold, but lots of blankets on the bed and I had a great nights sleep.
Wifi service was excellent.
Breakfast was not too great - we had fresh fruit and juice that was nice, though the coffee was undrinkable. We also had some very dry toast (stale?), some cheap margarine and some weird marmalade that smelt funny - we're not that fussy (eat street food and all sorts) but I couldn't eat it. Meanwhile the family guests next to us somehow scored big plates of eggs, ham and frijoles. Made us feel really uncomfortable watching the difference, especially looking at our poor breakfast, with no attempt was made to offer us the same.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews