We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Guayaba Inn(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Diego De Mazariegos(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$43
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rossco Backpackers Hostel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kukurutz Residencia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$53
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grand Guadalupe by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Casa Morada(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Santa Lucia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa de Mama(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
4
13
5
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
13
5
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Arriving after dark (never the best time) we were initially concerned but quickly settled in and realized how lucky we were to land there. It is true the staff doesn't speak much English. It is central mexico, not Cancun! There isn't much English spoken anywhere in San Cristobal, what a pleasant challenge that is. Whenever we had a question the desk clerk would use the translator on his computer and we had fun communicating that way. We spent four wonderful days wandering all over town, and even though it was quite chilly there in November, our room was always comfortable. It is a perfect location, near to everything downtown has to offer.
On our final day we had car trouble and that's when we were overwhelmed by the kind help of the staff. The desk clerk made calls to the rental company for us, Enrique (a waiter) spent most of the day helping us, finding a mechanic and translating for us. We would have been totally stranded without their continued assistance. How lucky we were to be there!

Room Tip: The back section is warmer because of the covered courtyard. We were quite happy on the ground floor and there was no street noise at all.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel was recommended b y dear friends... Initially, we were concerned that it would be noisy !! It was not and it is very close to all atttractions , right across from theb Mercado de Artesanias and down the street from the multiple attractions of this great town.

Clean and pleasant, only problem is their restaurant which is good, but nothing great....We would come back here . Very few staff member speak english but they will try very hard to help in any way they can.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo in October 2011 for 4 nights, and although I thought it was a very charming place - structure of an old building, pretty colors - I was rather disappointed with the services. All hotel staff were very nice and polite, but most of them didn't speak English and there wasn't any help available for those who do not speak Spanish (such as me). The room had (confusing, I must say) card explaining the hotel's towel program (place the card if you want your towels washed), but it was not being practiced, as it didn't matter what I did with the card - every day ALL of the towels were changed. There wasn't any "Do Not Disturb" card available. What I found most disappointing was that the cleaning staff seem to have touched and moved my personal items (I would come back at night and notice things tidied up and in places different from where they had been). Again, it would have been much easier if I spoke Spanish and were able to communicate to the hotel staff about these things. I hope that they'd invest in some employee training, both in basic language skills and about proper understanding of some of the "environmental" practices that the hotel claims to be implementing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayako E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We decided to stay there after calling four or five other B&B or hotels that were fully booked - Our stay was on Nov 1 - 3: right on All Souls' and All Saints' Day.

All in all, a fair alternative, but I'd advise you to check the other opportunities first. And book more than 2 days in advance!

The staff are young and friendly; they do their best to manage this three-star hotel.

Location is OK, along the main street in the town's center, across the nice Santo Domingo Church. However, there are other hotels closer to the bus station.

Our room was poorly sound-proofed, on our first morning our rest was disturbed by irritatingly loud guests.

Compared to the rest of the region, San Cristobal is a pretty cold town due to its altitude of almost 2200 meters. The hotel has a nice patio, but the sunlight doesn't manage to warm up the room.

The shower was very cold too. Strange, because the sink water was hot. And the shower had a plastic smell, probably due to a new plastic shower curtain?

Our room had enough space and cubboards for putting your stuff, but not enough for a lazy chair; only a small dark-wooden desk. So we couldn't really sit comfortably reading a book, unless on the bed.

We paid 584 pesos for a two-person bed room per night.
Breakfast is not included in the price; the hotel has a small restaurant. Its internet computers are more expensive than others in town.
Visa credit cards accepted.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank woete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews