We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 February 2012

First time to Cancun area. Stayed at the Lagunamar from 2/11-2/17/12 in a king suite and found this resort beautiful. We loved the property and location. We stayed in building 3 on the 7th floor and had an incredible view of both beach and pool from both front room and bedroom. Staff at this hotel were all so friendly and willing to help. Participated in Oceano's Valentine's Day dinner on the beach and it was excellent and romantic. Breakfast at Oceano's was also very good. Thought Viento's lunch was average. We also participated in the Jungle Tour offered on the lagoon side at La Isla mall which was a combined boating and snorkeling tour which was so much fun and well worth the money. Saw a lot of families at this resort with very small children(infants to toddlers) so very kid friendly hotel. Only one comment was made about participating in the Westin timeshare tour and did not feel pressured about doing this. Was hassled at the LaIsla mall several times so be wary of the kiosks there, I can only imagine what it would have been like if we had gone on one of their property tours. Only negative I can say is we did not like dealing with the money aspect - prefer an all inclusive and prefer the Playa del Carmen area. Excellent Westin property and the Heavenly beds are exactly that - slept like a rock! Enjoy!

Room Tip: New wing has opened (buildings 10 and up) and the pool is much smaller - same great views. Just sta...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,394)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,082 - 4,088 of 5,394 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

The staff is the main reason this is a great hotel. Staff was friendly and smart all around: in pools, reception, room service, concierge, beach, etc.

Cleanness and convenience were spread as well: rooms, shop, restaurants, beach services.

The downside: the internet doesn't work. It's free and the problem was advised by the staff in advance. I think it's a infrastructure problem in Mexico in general.

The hotel is well located as well: steps away form the best shopping and entertainment mall in Cancun: La Isla.

Rooms: both types are great and used by my family.
The studio has a well equipped kitchenette and the 1 bedroom room is great, with a full kitchen and a spacious table for six. All in all, the best rooms I've stayed in a long time.

I'll sure stay again once in Cancun.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I just returned from a week at the Westin and I had some good experiences and some that could be improved. First, we arrived and were told we were the first people to stay in our room because it was a newly finished wing of the resort. The rooms were beautiful and everything looked great but the hot water didnt work. After 3 days of multiple visits from plumbers we were finally given a new room because we were so sick of freezing cold showers.

On the first morning we ordered room service for breakfast and it was delivered cold (the room service guy was unfamiliar with the new wing of the resort and couldnt find our room). We asked to have the cold meals removed from our bill and were refused. I really think they should have removed them since the food wasnt even warm when it was delivered.

Prices were higher than I normally see at resorts. A massage was around $150 per hour, more than I expected.

The shuttle to the airport runs around $70 round trip. Normally when I am at a hotel the shuttle is free. I think this was pretty pricey.

The highlights - A very nice staff, lots of fun activities around the pool during the day, beautiful views, very clean, everything is new, close to a lot of restaurants and shops, free 5 min massages around the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar once again for visiting to Cancun. We are really pleased to see that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities; we can assure you, your comments on the flaws you reported will be shared with all the team.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the Westin Lagunamar 3 time in the past 2 years. When traveling with all the guys we will NOT stay anyplace else. Each time we go back, all the staff remembers us. The staff is always willing to help. Weather your asking for a nice place to go eat dinner, or a great place to go party.
The rooms are great. Each time we got the master two combined rooms. There is more than enough room for over 5 guys. What more can you ask for? They have 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms (with jacuzzi's), 2 living areas, 2 bedrooms. I mean come on!!!!!
You don't need the all inclusive here. All you have to do is take a taxi ride the second day you are there (because the first day is all about the pool and drinking), and go to Walmart. Stock up on things for breakfast, snacks, beer, water, whatever you might need to get you through the day. And at night find a nice place to go have dinner.
The pool is just simply beautiful. More than enough chairs to relax. Awsome swim up bar.
Beach is gorgeous. Simply put this place is the BEST.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest ,
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Going back in May. Third Time in 2 years and I cannot get enough of this place. The property is so beautiful not to mention the people who work there. Thank you Claudia, Adriana, Abraham, Braulio, Juan Jose, Pedro, William, Carlos and Valentin. Lagunamar should be proud. All you guys are fantastic and we thank you for that. Sorry I can only give you a 5 rating. You deserve a 10. See you in May.

Bob, Norma, Bob Sr. and Serafina

Room Tip: Corner suites are more private
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments about our Team and will be sure to recognize them. We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed at the Westin Lagunamar February 6th through 11th. Beautiful resort, very friendly staff. All in all, had a good stay. But wanted to give a heads up to people with a few things we struggled with.

First of all, the good:
GREAT location! The La Isla mall is right across the street which gave us plenty of options for meals - tacos, Indian, Thai, seafood, etc. There was also a convenience/liquor store in the mall for drinks, snacks, etc. And the bus stop to get to where all the clubs are is right in front of the hotel.
Beautiful pool (and perfect water temperature) with plenty of chairs that get sun and plenty of beach chairs for the beach too.
Happy hour at the bar with delicious 2 for 1 drinks and a really friendly bar staff.
Breakfast buffet is pretty all inclusive - coffee, mimosas, bloody marys, omelette bar, fruit, salad, plenty of american options and some tasty mexican ones. Food was pretty ok when you consider it's a buffet.

Not so good:
Coffee isn't free after the first day. It's not expensive, but when you're paying this much for a hotel, it's ridiculous you don't coffee everyday.
The Wi-Fi signal in the rooms in TERRIBLE! We were in building 2 and couldn't even check our e-mail because the signal cut out ALL THE TIME and was so weak when we even had it, pages just took too long to load up that we usually gave up. We also wanted to reference things on TripAdvisor while we were there and it was almost impossible. The internet in the business center isn't fast either.
The concierge was really friendly, but when someone there gave us directions for a restaurant that they suggested to us, we couldn't find it anywhere! We were told it was across the street from the Hard Rock and behind a market, but there are two different markets on either side of the Hard Rock and we wandered all the random back streets and couldn't find it. Perhaps we made a mistake, but it seemed like we were given bad directions (Taco Factory, which is a pretty popular destination, was in the back alley, so we thought maybe she confused the two places).
There aren't any late night food options. Room service stops serving at 11:00 and the market closes too. Most of the mall across the street closes down around 10:00 too. On our last day, we ate through what we had in our room so we didn't waste anything, but later that night, we were starving and didn't have any options. Not a huge deal if you plan ahead, but just something you have to deal with when you're staying at a timeshare and not a hotel.
Tours and day trips are more expensive at the hotel, so I suggest booking anything you want to do online with other companies before you come.
No late check out available. Fortunately, we didn't have a ton of time to kill before our flight, but if we were flying out much later, it could have been annoying. They will hold your suitcases for you at the front, but it wasn't too fun waking up early to pack and check out after celebrating our last night there.
Although we did have a cleaning service everyday, the tissues in our room were empty the entire trip. We used the last one of the box when we got there and no one ever put a new box in (and we kept forgetting to ask concierge when we walked by - but really, we shouldn't have to ask tissues in the first place).

Again, it was a beautiful resort with a really friendly staff and a great location. But I'd probably look at some other hotels if I go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamiekins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for your loyalty....it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.
We await your next visit !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I loved this resort. The Westin Lagunamar is beautiful from the second we got there and was so refreshing throughout our entire stay. We are from Chicago, with no kids, and in our 30's, so we were looking for a place where we'd have a choice of energy vs. peacefulness. At the Westin Lagunamar, we got the best of both worlds...depending on what we wanted to do. It's really a great place for people with families or just couple's / friends.

We set up a shuttle from the airport to the hotel through the Westin Lagunamar - they were on time and got us to the hotel without interruption.

When we arrived, our room wasn't ready, but they stored our luggage for us and we walked around the grounds and got lunch at the pool bar area. It was wonderful. Our room was ready about an hour later - so really - not a big deal at all.

We stayed in a studio room, which was nice & clean - but definitely a little on the small side. Since it was just us two, we didn't really "need" more room, although I could see us getting a one-bedroom in the future. They helped bring up our luggage, even though we didn't pack much at all. We had two carry on bags and that's it, so the service although not needed, was totally appreciated.

All the rooms face the ocean - I don't think there is a bad view in the whole place. We were on the 4th floor which was plenty high too...we read in previous reviews to stay above the 3rd floor so your view was sure to clear the palm trees. Our view of the ocean was gorgeous.

We stuck around the resort/beach during the day and took full advantage of the swim up pool bar/restaurant as well as the comfortable shaded spots on the beach. No matter where we were, there are people to bring you drinks/food (if you want), but at the same time, they don't hassle you. The pool bar has a happy hour from 3-4 everyday (2 for 1's) and that was a lot of fun. There are plenty of activities during the day if you want to participate in those. We weren't really interested, though and we weren't hassled to participate either. Our days were spent reading, relaxing, swimming, drinking & eating. We really couldn't ask for more.

At night, we decided to try some restaurants outside of the resort. We love seafood, so our dinner spots included: Freds, Lorenzillos, La Distilleria, & La Habichuela Sunset. We loved them all. Delicious. And, we sat outside at all of them (except Fred's because it was all reservations). They also have grills on the grounds if you want to pick up your own food to grill out, but we didn't feel like cooking while we were there. Maybe next time.

Oh, as we were leaving to go to dinner at Lorenzillos, the people at the front desk called to let them know we were coming (we didn't technically make a reservation), so when we arrived, they were expecting us and we got to sit outside and were offered a free drink to start. I thought that was awesome of the Westin to do that for us without us even having to ask.

Leading up to the trip, the weather called for rain everyday. I was nervous about that because I really wanted to have sun everyday. Rain in Cancun is different from the rain in the midwest. If it rained (which it only did once - at night), it lasted for about 30 minutes and was a mild drizzle. If it got cloudy, it passed through within 30 minutes. The sun is warm and was out everyday/all day of our trip. If you're obsessed with checking the weather leading up to your trip like I was, I recommend the watching the webcams instead of the weather channel.

Overall, we had an amazing time. The only thing I'd change is that we could have stayed longer. The Westin Lagunamar offers the best of both worlds (energy and peaceful) for couples/friends/families. We cannot wait to go back!!!!

Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.1 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
3,999 reviews
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
8.1 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $211 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing