We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, location, pools, beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helendale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great property, location, pools, beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at the Westin Lagunamar and it was one of the best vacations we've had. The property is gorgeous and features a beautiful infinity pool, plus another spacious pool, great beach and beautiful rooms, pretty much all with ocean views. Location is great, and for a few pesos, you can easily catch a bus in front of the hotel to downtown Cancun. The Westin has a great workout area featuring a spacious bathroom facility complete with showers, hairblowers, shampoos, etc. for travelers who have to be out of their rooms early but who want to catch a little more sun and clean up before their flights depart later in the day.

The only negatives were Wi-fi can be difficult to connect at times and maid service needs to be a little more thorough, especially dusting furniture. The tops of the shelves were covered with dust.
But, when we had a problem with flushing our toilets and needed more towels, they responded within minutes. All in all - a great place to vacation and we plan on coming back next year.

For Margarita connoiseurs, the La Destileria restaurant, located within walking distance of the Westin, offers a fun place to eat. You can sit outside on the deck overlooking the water, sip on an array of speciality margaritas, enjoy great food--highly recommend tortilla and chicken broth soups, and listen to music in the evenings.

Room Tip: All rooms offer pretty good views, but I would try to avoid being on the lower floor in the first bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback!! it fills our hearts to know that our guests feel fantastic while staying at our property. Please contact us directly if you have any questions or comments about our staff or our services, we love to listen to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,401
    1,148
    286
    114
    71
See reviews for
2,102
1,942
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,716)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at the Westin Lagunamar Resort in Cancun 6 times now and I've always been pretty happy with the resort. The location is perfect in a great section of the hotel zone and it's right across from La Isla Shopping Mall. Rooms are very nice as well. I recommend the hotel very highly, although there are a few kinks that need to be worked out with a few items.
First, the fitness center at the hotel is a joke for a resort that size. Weights only go to 50 lbs, there are only a handful of weight machines and overall it's very small and lacks cardio equipment. At busy times there's no room to move and you can't get on machines you want. It seriously needs to be upgraded.
Second, there was an issue with hot water in my room. During my 12 day stay I had adequate hot water twice in the room and had to go down to the spa area to shower instead. I did work with the resort and maintenance to try and rectify the problem, but it was never completely resolved. I believe the issue was specific to the newly opened buildings and not the original areas of the resort, but it was definitely a hassle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience and your impressions of the Westin Lagunamar. We wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and look forward to welcome you again to our resort.

Sincerely,The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Actually, I do not know what I should right of this hotel I chose this hotel because I am a SPG member and I got a deal for this hotel. At the time we went there, the hotel was around 100 percent occupied. Check-in took time a little. They tried to brief everybody at the checking time which made a long queue in front of reception. The environment is ideal for the families. Full of pools, restaurants and everything you need, you could find in the hotel, however a little pricey. There is a big shopping center opposite the hotel. The concierge was helpful to take tour to Chechen Itza and Atlantis Submarine in Cozumel. It is an ideal place to pull out and rest for a week.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you have taken the time to write such a fantastic review from our property.
There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves feeling glad and renewed. Please come back soon to visit us here at your second home in Mexico.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was a bit worried when I read some of the reviews but we had a great experience here. Hector, who checked us in - was very helpful and aimed to address what was important to us in terms of our room requirements - although it is true - room upgrades are not permitted unless you want to pay more. Eduardo, our concierge, was very helpful. We explained that we had heard the sales pitch before regarding the timeshare opportunity - he understood and did not pressure us. There was always plenty of room on the beach and by the two pools. We went for the steak night on Wednesday and the food was great. Staff were friendly. There was a bit of construction going on in 1300 Tower - but we were in 1100 and nobody seemed to mind. Location is great - across from a mall with many food choices. You must try the new Cenacolo del Mar located down the street from the other Cenacolo restaurant - excellent location, beautiful restaurant, and wonderful food. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to ensure a good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMark1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for your loyalty....it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.

We await your next visit !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

All rooms have a water view ( pool or beach) - though a higher floor is obviously better. Almost everything was great. The breakfast was a little pricey - but I suppose that is par for the course - we prefered to go across the street to the La Isla shopping and eat at Jugo de Limon - and one day my wife and I caught a bus and ate breakfast at La Casa dos Avelos - right at the junction of the hotel zone and downtown. The hotel itself is all that you would expect - great pool / hot tub / gym / sauna / beach service etc. The kitchen is very useful for a meal or two - and they have bar b que grills that you can use near the pool area and the convenience store on campus is useful ( bread / eggs / beer etc)

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar once again for visiting to Cancun.
We are really pleased to see that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities; we can assure you, your comments will be shared with all the team.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

There is good, better, and best, on top of best comes the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun. We just got back from an unforgettable vacation at the Westin Lagunamar. The resort is spotless, the rooms are wonderful, the beach is fantastic. We just landed and we are already checking our calendars in order to plan our next vacation back to the Lagunamar. This is a top notch hotel/timeshare. The Staff was soooooooooooo courteous they ended every phrase with a smile and "with pleasure". If you need any info about where to eat or where to go, Maggie , in the concierge area, is the best, she has the biggest smile in the world and she knows everything about Cancun where to go and where to eat.
I'm trying to find something to say about this place that is not positive, but I can't think of a single item. Our trip was memorable and the Westin Lagunamar is.....SUPERB.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the water and the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chef s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I had just returned from The Westin Lagunamar a day ago and I am already having vacation withdrawal! The property itself is gorgeous, everything is cleaned and well maintained.

Rooms- My boyfriend and I stayed in an ocean view studio in the 1400 building, apparently this is the newer portion of the resort. The view was amazing. The mini kitchen was pretty much complete. I was floored by the fact that the studio had a washer and dryer in it.. I was more so expecting this in the 1 or 2 bedroom villas. Daily room service kept everything tidy. Bed was a queen, I normally like a king size bed while on vacation but im not going to penalize this gorgeous place for not providing a king sized bed. there was also some construction during the day but unless you sleep in the day like a vampire it shouldn't be a problem. no complaints on my end here.

Pool- Absolutely gorgeous.. just like the hotel pictures on the website. Actually, those pictures don't do any justice. In addition to the stunning view, it never gets crowded. There's actually two pools, one is the infinity and one is regular, both are massive and you will never have a problem finding chairs.. no need to wake up at 7am to reserve chairs.. unless you're a snob and need to have first row seats or something.

Service- the resort staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. concierge pretty much set up everything we wanted to do from making reservations at restaurants to booking activities and tours. i'm from the new york/new jersey area and everyone around here is stressed out and are a-holes so being in cancun was definitely a breath of fresh air.

Food- We honestly mostly ate outside of the resort, so i can't say much. I did, one time, eat at the pool bar for lunch.. the nachos and pizza were delicious. Food and drinks are about the same prices as back home. Order the Punch Especial at the bar, it will definitely creep up on you

overall, I had an amazing time here and will definitely come back in the near future. =]

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our resort. We are very happy to know you
enjoyed your time at the Westin Lagunamar and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.7 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
3.6 km away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing