We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I love Club Med” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Cancun Yucatan
Ranked #29 of 183 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I love Club Med”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We really like this place - for us the attraction is all the daytime activities and the food, plus the fact that for the most part you never need to pull your wallet out the whole week once you have paid (but see below for some exceptions). I think this is a great place to go whether you are there as adults only or as a family.

Club Med is a great vacation for active people who like to keep moving. Trapeze, water ski, tennis, kayaking, sailing, windsurfing - you can stay busy all day. If you aren't so into all the activity, the beach is great and there's plenty of night activity, plus drinks are free. The club has a huge property, and there are busy places and quiet places, so you can find your own nearly private spot if you'd rather be away from people.

The food is wonderful and it's always available. The main cafeteria is busy and somewhat loud, even though it is divided into several separate sections, all of them nicely and differently decorated. Some of them are more full of small kids than others; kids aren't banned from any of them but some seem more inviting to kids than others. The other dining rooms are quieter.

My wife described Club Med as a place where they have thought of everything, and I think that's a good description. They even set the clock an hour forward on the property, which seems a little strange but then you realize that it gets everyone up and active earlier, and all of a sudden on the last day you have an extra hour before catching your plane. Very nice!

Internet access is available even if the cost is annoying if you want a connection in your room - $65 for the week. To me that seems like not a very good deal. Bring your own ethernet cable. I presume you can get one there if you don't, but we were advised to do so and it was a good idea. There's an internet room if you want to just check it occasionally for free; how crowded it is seems to vary.

We went scuba diving one day and that also costs extra. I think you really have to want to go diving if you are going to go from Club Med Cancun. In other words, if you want a diving vacation go elsewhere. It's a hassle and it's expensive, and on top of that you are already paying a lot for Club Med, so why pay even more to not utilize the Club? Our divemaster was excellent but I thought the way it was organized was very disappointing.

I mentioned all the activities available. It's important to mention that the beauty of it is in the diversity of what is available. Also the novelty of trapeze is really something if you are into that. But don't go there if you only want the best tennis or the best sailing or whatever. The tennis instruction is second rate; they should really just focus on drills rather than instruction. The idea should just be to help people be active - that seems to be the theme of the whole place anyway. If you want to play, go to the lessons and join the daily tournament and keep your eye out for someone your level, and then you can play with them again later.

I should add that I would never go to Cancun except to go to Club Med. Cancun isn't my kind of place with all the high rise hotels and the night life. But Club Med is different, with the best location in the whole place. It's well spread out and there's a great feeling of spaciousness, and also of distance from the hotel strip.

Room Tip: They seem to put families with teenagers together, and families with small kids together, and adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear andnobodyknows,
Thank you for the detailed review of your vacation with us! It is wonderful to hear that you took full advantage of activities like trapeze, tennis, water skiing and other water sports. We’d also like to thank you for your insights regarding internet access and diving. We value your opinions and we are addressing your concerns. We hope you will choose to visit us again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,397
    1,044
    344
    134
    80
See reviews for
2,393
732
136
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The best vacation ever! Not a detail was missed...from our arrival until our departure, we were treated with the most excellent service, care and hosptality by all the beyond friendly GO's. Eduardo the chief of village runs everything without a glitch, would definitely come back if he is in charge! Been to other club meds and the GO's & chief didn't even compare to the level of service and care being provided in Cancun. Min at the reception matched our desire with accommodations/suite in the most perfect location and view for us! The trapeze team is amazing and excellent teachers made it feel effortless...Madmax, Rafael, Alexandre & Joe rock!!! The wakeboard team always took great care of their clients at the busy dock...Cathy And Louiz are great! And a perfect snorkeling location right at the village (no need for boat trip) Francisco will take great care of you! Last but not least, the bar staff was beyond amazing! Carlos, Sabine & Nazim were always full of smiles, love and ready to make our favorite drinks as well as sharing their favorite secret cocktails...thank you Nazim for your amazing Ali Baba which we miss tremendously! What made our trip complete beyond expectations was the beach service...everyday on the beach, the GO's would serve platters of fresh tropical fruit, the chief would check in with guests to reassure everything was upto par and the beach boys delivering drinks all day long. Look for Eddie( aka Diego) beach boy, tell him Ryan sent you & he will take care of you like family...to the point where on our last day in the afternoon we took a swim in the ocean & when we came out of the water enjoying laying on the sand & soaking up the sun we get a tap on the shoulder...Diego with a tray of two our fave cocktails...DREAMY...pinch me! We will be back...and I didn't even mention the food...spectacular selections, displays and different themes everyday...better baguettes then in Paris...the entire experience was over the TOP, don't think twice, book it & enjoy the bliss!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulugem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Lulugem,
Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us! We are excited to hear that you enjoyed some of our water activities, our beautiful beach and of course, our amazing staff. It is wonderful that you felt like part of our Club Med family by the end of your stay. We hope you will return again soon, we can’t wait to see you!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We just got back after spending 10 days in this beautiful Club Med. Food was excellent and we loved the steak house, I recommend the Tbone steak and creme brulee for dessert. Workouts are important to me on vacation, and Club Med has the best. 7 classes a day are offered including step, aquafit and zhumba. All the instructors are top notch. Service everywhere in the resort was courteous and quick. The hotel was full, so we had to get to the beach by 10 am to get a hut. There are huts always available next to the sailing centre, however the beach is rocky on that side of the resort. My husband said the snorkeling was very good and he learned how to sail a catamaran on this trip. At night, we really enjoyed the movie channels available on our TV. Please note there are alot of families with children. My only negative comment is that staff members asked if they could join us for dinner. We didn't want to appear rude so we said yes, but we would have preferred to eat alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagent36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear travelagent36,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful Club Med memories with us! It is great to hear that you were satisfied with our exercise instructors and workout opportunities. We are thrilled that your husband was able to enjoy the snorkeling and sailing, as our goal is to provide something exciting for everyone. We hope you will return very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaShores
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We arrived on feb 28th and had an outstanding 7 day stay at the incredible facility. We were greeted at the door and were given a tour by our check-in clerk. Our bags were brought right into our room. Room was bright and cheery, the bathroom was great, the toilet room was a little different but we quickly got used to it.

We enjoyed all the amenities snorkeling, water skiing, tennis, kayak, trapeze, the great shows, and of course the five star beach. The food was great and the service from General Manager Alberto all the way to bartenders was outstanding.

The humidity was high but everything else was great, i highly recommend it.
cheers

Room Tip: we had an ocean view but we did not spend a lot of time in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splitdaaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear MaxRelax,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful Club Med memories with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many of our activities despite the high humidity. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This was our 4th family trip to Club Med during school spring break in Montreal. We stayed at the private Jade residence again which is a small oasis within the huge ocean front property.
As always the service, food, staff and sports were excellent. Special shout outs to Fox the head of water skiing, Alexandro's at Jade pool and the bell captain by the same name. Weather was not perfect this trip and high winds made for difficult water skiing in the slalom course but for the most part we had another good trip. Only problem was my wife's stepfather had a medical emergency and ended up in a private Cancun hospital for 2 weeks. The good news is the hospital was much better than most Canadian hospitals and the Club Med Nurse Cesar and the head of Jade Magali were most helpful in dealing with hospital, doctors, and insurance paper work. Thanks to all. Hopefully next trip will be just a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Skydog52,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful Club Med memories with us! We are excited to hear that you had an awesome vacation, despite the weather and your family emergency. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Circus GOs are great! Mad Max, Mafer, Joe, Sergio and Alexandre were very encouraging and fun.
The water ski dock was busy all week, but Fox, Luiz, Cathy and Moises still took the time to give helpful skiing and wakeboarding instruction.
Food, drinks and service were very good at all restaurants and bars.
Eduardo, the entire GO team and the local workers make it such a pleasant place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12H20ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear 12h20ski,
Thank you for telling us all about your experiences during your stay! Our staff works hard to create a spectacular vacation for all guests and we are thrilled to hear that they were successful. We can’t wait to have you back to ski again soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife, my daughter and myself had the opportunity to water ski at Club Med. The acess to the skiing was controlled by a guest at the dock. He dictated the order of the skiers , so he would get more acess to ski. My wife skied first. The advanced slaom skiers on the dock watched and commented on her ability and gracefullness at 53 y/o. My daughter and I then skied. On Day 2, the conditions were poor and my wife skied. At the end of the ski run, she was yelled at by the boat driver for not hitting the buoys properly in the 60km wind. We returned later to speak to the driver,"Fox", but he was not available. We spoke to Moises and Luise and told us everything was OK. On Day 3 we returned to ski and we were told that a complaint was lodged and we could not ski until 10AM. Only 4 skiers were at the dock.I will never go back. the resort is controlled by the French Canadian guests

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank drjoe597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.5 km away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 183 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,949 reviews
1.1 km away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 183 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
9.6 km away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 183 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
6.1 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#11 of 183 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Cancun Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Property: Club Med Cancun Yucatan
Address: Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cancun Yucatan 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico in this environmentally friendly all-inclusive family resort nestled on a pristine stretch of world-famous Mayan Riviera beach. Travel to Club Med Cancun Yucatan with your family to enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst the sumptuous amenities, natural beauty and a relaxing atmosphere that make this unique family resort as breathtaking as it is adventurous. Uncover a fresh perspective on the charm of the Mexican culture and experience a vacation filled with enhancements for the entire family. There's so much about this newly redesigned resort that will touch your family for years to come: refined accommodations, excursions* to Mayan archeological sites, a new Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone*, 3 restaurants including 1 fine Mexican dining venue and 1 serving worldwide specialties, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cancun Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cancun Yucatan Hotel Cancun
Cancun Club Med
Club Med Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing