We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The food is great, everything is clean. A double jacuzzi in the room. The service is above and beyond what one would expect. Since this is all-inclusive, there is no required tipping, but we usually tipped a couple of dollars at every meal. There is always someone to bring a drink down to the beach. We were able to participate in a baby turtle release.

It was a great trip. Our third visit.

Room Tip: Whether you are on the lagoon side (amazing sunsets) or the beach side, there are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeauxLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Oy...to tip or not to tip...

"Tipping is not a town in China" is a phrase I've seen too often. It has the curious effect of making me laugh and angry at the same time. Anyone who openly asks for a tip does not deserve it. Tipping is solely a decision of the tipper or so I think.

I like to tip when it is warranted. And the reasons are manyfold: Someone who has been very nice, or who has gone over and beyond. Who might be at the right place in the right moment. And I recognize: Sometimes, because you see they are people in need and one is in the fortunate position to dispense with monetary values which might not be significant to our eyes but can make an impact in the well-being of someone else. In other words, tip because it makes you happy to. Not because you think you have an obligation.

Jeeez...I went off the deep end!

Thank you for this moment of introspection. You have to come back and write more reviews...they do have an effect on me.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,384
    1,159
    344
    95
    50
See reviews for
153
5,070
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The reason I describe Cancun as American Friendly is b/c U.S. Dollars are accepted everywhere in the Hotel Zone. The one thing I guarantee you will hear at least 5 times a day at this place is "It's my pleasure" after you say thank you. The service here is beyond amazing. Every staff member is so attentive and nice. You will hardly ever hear "no" as an answer. It will take some time to forget their wonderful faces.

We stayed in room 602. We received a free upgrade because we required a non-smoking room. That was very nice of the staff to give us the upgrade at no extra charge. The resort credits are great. We applied it towards the spa, ziplining, Wet N Wild waterpark, and the photo session and we still had over $300 left to use.

I didn't enjoy the italian restaurant. The food tasted average and the service was super slow. All the other restaurants were superb. Here's a tip: visit the other palace resorts and have dinner there as well. At Beach Palace, you must eat at "The Wok"- the food was amazing and they have 3x the amount of selections than the menu at Sun Palace. Go to Moon Palace at eat the seafood buffet for dinner.

The only minor complaints I have about Sun Palace is some of the interior seems to be worn. For example, in room 602, more than 50% of the bathroom mirror was covered in a brown permanent stain. This does not look appealing at all and should have been replaced. The other small complaint is that we were not told that we would be given towels at the wet n wild waterpark just by being Palace Resort customer. I wish we new this ahead of time.

Other than that, I look forward to staying at Sun Palace again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moez1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I agree with you. Not only Cancun, Mexico as a country is American friendly. Not only because of the currency. Many miles of border and hundreds of years of history stand to reason.

I do apologize for the issues you mention. They've been taken care of.

Thank you for enjoying Sun Palace. We really take great pride in catering to our customers from all over the world. You come to marvel at our country and at the same time give us the privilige of learning from your own cultures.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed Sept.21-28. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, it was top shelf service!! We have stayed twice in the Riviera Maya and this was our 2nd time in Cancun, we loved every resort but this one was the best for us as a couple! My first time at the Sun Palace!

FOOD: AMAZING!!!!, the best part was NEVER having to RESERVE for dinner!!! The food was incredible, not one complaint! The service was also amazing!

SERVICE: EVERYONE was FANTASTIC, waiters, bartenders, maids, cooks, concierge, bell service, front desk, beach service, room service, everyone was incredible!!! 5*

ROOM: Upgrade to concierge room and be spoiled!!! We had a beautiful room with a huge hot tub right in the room, ocean view, scented pillows, aromatherapy, double sinks, king size comfortable bed, satellite t.v., free calling to Canada!, romantic dinner in our room (service was amazing)!

Free massage for two.....so nice!

Resort credits.......

The beach was amazing!!!!!!!!! The loungers were so comfortable and an umbrella was always available.

24 hour room service

I WILL BE BACK!! THANK YOU SUN PALACE STAFF!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: "Make sure you use some of your resort credits to upgrade your room to concierge"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradCarolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
If I may say so: Most our bedrooms are very good.
Sun Palace was built parallel to the beach, which means that most rooms have a splendid view of the ocean. Granted, not all. Some do have to shar the ocean with next door buildings but no matter what, you see the Caribbean.

Correct: We do not take reservations for restaurants. We've done so for quite some time and because of the high no show factor associated with an all inclusive-which only made patrons wait and displeased- first come first served. It works well.

Thank you for a radiant review. The only next best thing will be to host you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Sun Palace. Everyone is so welcoming and they provide great customer service. As with any hotel after check-in, they try to have to sign up for a "time-share" presentation. This seems to take forever but after this, there is no more high-pressured sales. The restaurants were GREAT with the exception of the Steak place. The steaks were not up to our standards. Very thin and not much flavor. Next time we'll order the fish. The bar area is very nice. Some of the evening activities are cheesy but overall great! My husband played golf twice at Moon Palace. The greens were not in great shape but they did give us the twilight rate. I went to the spa and it was heavenly. The Sun Palace was doing maintenance during our stay but I figure they have to make upgrades as some time and it is the off season. Honestly, I wouldn't have changed anything about our stay...except to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I've got to compliment you on your use of logic. Above and beyond your very nice words about your stay you mention that we are doing repairs and go on to say we have to make upgrades at some time.

There are various comments either saying the resort requires updating and then others complaining about repairs being made. We have a lot to do, as does any hotel running a higher than 80 % year-round occupancy but we will not forfeit security issues. If anything poses a minimal danger to our Guests' well-being we will do it immediately. No ifs or buts.

Thank you for understanding this. It is a refreshing point of view.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location for all excursions and night life with easy transportation including regular buses and taxis if needed. The staff are the most helpful and friendly I have ever come across in any hotel resort. The evening entertainment is enjoyable if you participate or not and there are loads of daytime activities to do or watch all organised by the most fun and enthusiastic staff!! Fabulous holiday in a beautiful location. The releasing of the baby turtles at night was a huge highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessWest91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
To be quite honest, the fact you enjoyed your stay is mainly because of yourself.

Some of our guests have a knack for finding fault. Most have a true desire to make the most out of their stay. Aftter all, it is not commonplace to spend some days in Paradise.

I understand your comment about turtles' releasing. This is a very special happening which we can only enjoy and take care of in favor of our guests but mainly in favor of these sweet creatures which thanks to the concerted efforts of the city of Cancun are making a comeback.

That is Mother Nature's gift.

A privilige we're only too happy to share.

Best salutations,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have been very fortunate over the years to travel and stayed in many all inclusive resorts,but sun palace is something different ,from the second you arrive you are treated with 5 star luxury,in the bar all branded drinks ,Smirnoff ,jack Daniels ,etc, not cheap local brands .the quality of food is exceptional ,most fish and meats cooked in front of you while you wait,the staff can not do enough to make your stay amazing ,always enough sun beds to sit on,and if not the staff will go out of there way to remove towels that other people have left for a period of time ,you can pick where you want to sit on beach and staff will carry sun bed to where ever you would like to sit ,the staff will continually come round to your sun bed to bring drinks and food to you ,room service is. Free !! So having breakfast in bed is a real treat ! Wi fi is excellent even works on beach ! There is a bus service outside of hotels that runs every 5 mins 45 pence each !! And you can stay on as long as you like ,takes 10 minutes to get into party central!! One word of advice ignore the British weather reports of cancun always wrong! We have had glorious sunshine for 11 days straight with one afternoon where it was cloudy,but still very hot ,the weather forecast had it down for rain for two weeks ??? Not much more to say. We will,be back :-)

Room Tip: Use your resort credits to upgrade to,a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Very fetching words. Thank you!

The idea behind Palace Resorts is to give you all inclusive service with the quality you'd expect at restaurants and bars of a traditional hotel. We try to stay in the forefront of culinary and bar trends and then add a bit more for your satisfaction.

It is so nice when, as is your case, you let us know this has been acheived. And we will continue to renovate and upgrade our offer. In this way, the all inclusive satisfies you and is good business for us. I would deem this a win-win situation.

My staff enjoys their work because of patrons like you. Again, a positive symbiosis.

We will look out for your next visit.

Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Sun Palace was the BEST choice for a honeymoon location for my now-husband and I. We tried to come up with ALL kinds of reasons NOT to leave. Both of us have travelled to numerous places before, and the service at Sun Palace was by far superior. We were always met with smiles, willingness to help, and kind-hearted people. The activity staff (Eddie, Vanessa, Javier, Agustin, and Francisco) were always a joy to have around the pool. Our waiter Jusif was the kindest person. Armondo the bar tender at the pool made the most fabulous vacation drinks. Daniel and all of his restaurant staff (especially Ricardo and Irvin) were wonderful! Araceli is a beautiful soul who works VERY hard at making everything in the lobby area look beautiful. We were beyond blessed to have the opportunity to stay at Sun Palace. We are already looking forward to our next trip back here :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyHaarsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I was about to answer that this is not possible. See if you agree:

Honeymoon is honeymoon. Sure, we have a place condusive to good celebrations but in the end, the kudos are all for you. It is through this very special occassion that you see the world through the eyes of love. You share this experience with the knowledge that it is a once in a lifetime opportunity. We can cater to your requirements but the aura of well being is created by yourselves and your circumstance. Sun Palace is simply fortunate to offer the surroundings that will make of this a trip to remember.

Thank you for mentioning some of our kids. They feel very honored to be a part of your memories. ...And will be more so when you come back.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
9.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,826 reviews
5.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
8.1 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 175 in Cancun
5,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,149 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 175 in Cancun
9,352 reviews
20.2 km away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Property: Sun Palace
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing