We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for many years but slipping a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We've gone to the Royal Resorts in Cancun for over 20 years, and the Royal Sands in particular for the last 5. In general, the Sands is extremely well run, has a friendly & helpful staff, excellent rooms & facilities and is beautifully maintained. So as a return visitor year after year my standards are high. After just finishing our visit in "Week 6" 2012, some things seem to be slipping a bit, perhaps due to corporate belt-tightening

1) They only seem to be heating 1 pool (in Phase 2), not the main pool in Phase 1.
2) Service at La Veranda and the Char Hut has become EXTREMELY slow.
3) Wireless Internet is also painfully slow, especially in the evenings.
4) Lights in the rooms are far too dim.

And as always, the "alcoholic" mixed & tropical drinks either have no alcohol or very watered down alcohol -- they are not worth paying for. I even heard a party on the beach calling after a waiter saying "excuse me sir, they forgot to put the tequila in these drinks". No they didn't -- they never do!

Hopefully the hotel ownership can stop "trimming around the edges" so the Sands can get back to a 5-Star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExpTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,311 - 3,317 of 4,393 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here for six nights the first week in January and had a great time! Our two bedroom unit was perfect. Plenty of space for five people. Our view was of the pool AND the ocean. Balcony was huge and we used it to eat breakfast, play cards, etc. Loved the two pools, laundry facility (which is monitored so your clothes are safe--you don't need to stay), had a great time on the tennis courts, at the bar on karaoke night, and used the convenient store, which was quite large and carried a great variety of staples, snacks and liquor. They didn't nickel and dime you like the Casa Magna Marriot down the way. Drinks were more reasonably priced, as was food. Adjacent to the parking lot is a great restaurant that you get a discount at if you show your room card. Tennis courts were free (we had our own rackets) and they even loaned out a boogie board to the kids that was left behind months ago by a past guest who never claimed it. Super family-friendly. Couldn't have asked for more!!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank jarat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stay every year. Love the wireless Internet and the service

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rvicomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at The Royal Sands once again and had a perfect week. The villa is so spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is equipped well enough to make a full meal if you want, which we did a couple of times, but mostly we ate out. We ate at the Sands own Verandah restaurant, and used their Express food service to take back to the room one evening. Our two favourite places to eat were Captain's Cove for dinner and the Royal Cancun for lunch. The latter is so pretty, and you can sit right next to the beach, which is uncrowded and quiet. Both of these restaurants are served by the Royal Resorts' own free shuttle bus, which we really appreciated-a great service. We also used the on-site mini market which is very convenient and has all basic needs. 

The Sands is the best located of the Royal Resorts in our opinion, more or less in the middle of the strip and in easy walking distance of excellent shopping centres. The beach is beautiful, and everywhere is very well looked after. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pools, although we did notice a lot of early 'reservation' with towels etc. The best part of the vacation yet again for us was the tennis and the wonderful lessons with Nacho. He is such a great coach- you must have lessons if you go there. He is fun and encouraging, and brings out your best tennis. Thanks also to Herminio, the manager, who makes sure that everything is going well. Thanks also to housekeeping who do a great job, everywhere is lovely and clean, and the room was done every day at a time that suited us. We are not owners here, so we are not just giving it a good review to boost values! We hope to return next year if we can manage to rent a villa again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndigoFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I stayed Feb 4-5 and LOVED it.
Great room, staff, grocery store and the food delivered to the room was top notch.
We had a suite overlooking the ocean that was beautiful!
Great bed and shower was great. The room had a full kitchen an separate bed room.
Very classy AND very quiet at night!
We recommend it highly and will return next year for a longer stay.
Thank you!
The Rupperts

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baranger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We made a trade and got the Royal Sands as the resort in Cancun. We loved it. We had direct Ocean front, and the place was really nice. We could drink our own beers/drinks at the pool and beach. Nobody gave us any trouble. The staff there was absolutely perfect at all times. Never had to wait, was always asked if we needed anything. They really know how to run the place.

The pool was beautiful, the beach was too. The location is the best of the Royal resorts also. We took a trip to see the others and thought the Sands was by far the best of them.

La Europea is within walking distance. The best tequila prices in Cancun, including WalMart.

Room Tip: The rooms directly looking at the ocean are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank right-here-i-say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a time share and not a hotel. First and foremost I am a member so I may be a little partial. This is one of the better run time shares in Cancun. Great Family resort, clean with large villas. There are three resturants and a market if you wish to eat in. The service thru out this resort is outstanding. Great beach and pools. But remember this is not a hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean and pool veiw. Phase two is much more quiet. Ocean front rooms are in buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanC129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
5.3 km away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.4 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.0 km away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.1 km away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#39 of 177 in Cancun
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $253 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing