We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust the picture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suites Brisas Beach Resort
Ranked #103 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't trust the picture”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We had unit number 2308. It is very noisy the room is right on the side of the street , all night we could here buses going by. We were expecting a room then a living room with the TV but the TV was in the bedroom which was difficult for us because we were travelling with our baby. The unit had no blacony as shown in the picture we saw on Homeaway.
The owner is really nice, he tried to give us another unit but nothing was available. The unit had a great view on the ocean and is really closed to the beach. If you are planing to stay in and only go to the beach it could be suitable for you. Know that to get a coffee you will need to get on a bus as there is nothing close by, no restaurant, no store nothing... Furthermore, the internet does not work haft of the time, you need to get close to the antenna otherwise it does not work from inside the unit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeroTurbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    9
    5
    16
See reviews for
21
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Suites Brisas is a resort filled with individually owned condos, and the experience you have depends on the landlord you choose. I went with three friends in early November and stayed in a condo owned by Zlatko and Mila (cancunbeachapartments.com). We found the condo to be clean, well-kept, spacious, and perfectly suited to our needs. We also paid less for it than we would have paid for a much lower-quality hotel. My only complaint would be that there was no maid service.

As for Suites Brisas as a whole, we found the resort to be exactly what we wanted: we wanted a cheap place to stay, even if it meant sacrificing a few amenities, and that's what we got. The complex is well-kept and has a guard at the front entrance, which is nice, and there's a small convenience store with sunscreen and snacks and a little bit of food; we bought cereal and milk there and ate breakfast in our condo, which helped us save money. There's a nice pool and pool area with chairs and a gorgeous view of the ocean. The stretch of beach was very adequate; only a few palapas but plenty of beach chairs.

That's not to say the resort was without flaws. The pool has a swim-up bar but it was never open while we were there. The first few days we were there the sand was perfect, but towards the end of our trip there was a huge storm, and the waves uncovered two large rocks in front of the resort (kind of a pain, but there was still plenty of space to swim, and anyway the beach along the whole Hotel Zone is public and you can go wherever you want). You had to ride the bus to find restaurants, as there's none close to the resort. There was no staff, really, no front desk to call if you forgot a toothbrush, no laundry service, no entertainment director organizing activities by the pool.

But the point is, we knew it would be like that, and we decided we were okay with it, to save money. So if you want somewhere cheap, and you understand what you're getting yourself into, this is a great place to stay. If you want to spend more money in order to have a nice breakfast and a concierge on site, this is definitely not the place for you. Most of all, remember that every condo is different, based on who owns it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justahappyvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADISON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We just returned from Cancun and stayed in La Brisas, unit 3107 for four nights. The unit was just okay--smelled musty and the bathroom had an obnoxious smell. Asked for more wash clothes and received shoe shine mitts (I kid you not). Was charged an additional "resort fee" that was not mentioned in any of the emails or on line information.
A grill by the pool is only food available, although the food there was good as was the service. Our unit was directly above the bar/grill so a lot of noise on Friday and Saturday night. The pool area was lovely though and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seleewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We just returned from our trip to Cancun in Zlatko's unit. We stayed partly due to the review "Zlatko's unit in Brisas" on the trip review and photos. Although it may be the best unit in Brisas I would not recommend staying here. We travel to Mexico every year and this was our most disappointing choice for a condo ever. We had many issues, for one,the beach was deserted for good reason. It has a few papapas but no chairs. We took a few from around the pool to the beach and then were told by security that we could not have them on the beach so we had to take them back up. Also no glass allowed so we could not drink beer in bottles under the palapas. Condos on both sides of us had lots of lounge chairs and people using them. The unit was not stocked very well for usefulness-not even salt and pepper. The mid week maid service we were suppose to have never showed up. We asked Mila about it with 2 days left in our 8 night stay. Her response was oh do you need it? We got a few items from her and told her not to bother with the maid service at this point, we were out of toilet paper and garbage bags to name a few items. Our bed sheets did not feel or look clean upon arrival-they felt sticky. This unit is not what we expected from the photos on VRBO.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 1girlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Arrived for recuperation from injury to my arm. First time in pool the ladder pulled from the side of the pool and tore my arm further -no other access to the pool.
Middle of our stay a big police raid on the place 3 police cars and 2 undercover agents - said drug related. Had several people approach family memebers to sell drugs.
I had stated I would be bringing a car and promised via email a spot- no arrangements made - took 12 minuntes to get into the gate and each time we parked someone would tell us that we were not allowed into the parking spaces as we were ONLY renters.
The landlord would not give us our damage deposit back although the place was cleaner than when we arrive and NO damage had occured.
IN short DO NOT RENT UNITS 3104 OR 3105.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank disgustedCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We were here the year after the hurricane. The place was a wreck but we expected an improvement the following year for sure, 2008. What a shock, every other hotel & condo in Cancun seemed to be able to get it together and have their repairs 99% done. Not Las Brisas. We dreaded going back to our rooms, they were working with too few, and too slow workers on the roof, balconies and front and back. This is not a hotel or townhouse type of unit, it is more like a motel situation where you enter your unit from the outside. This year we were next door at the Solymar and could look down and see balconies still being repaired, 3 YEARS AFTER THE HURRICANE. Met many other renters with so many complaints, we stayed for 2 months and decided to book 2009 vacation next door. What a difference, clean rooms , bar & restaurant available. Front desk staff available day or night. At Las Brisas, when there was a party in the parking lot in the early morning hours there is no front desk lobby staff available. You are on your own in case of an emergency. There is a little office, literally underground with the most unhelpful rude staff you could imagine. When our phone line was not working, I was told it was the owners responsibility, not the managements! The owner lived in the U.S. When our power went out in the middle of the night, we again were on our own. No one to help us out. Some of the pĥotos I have seen listed on vacation sites show the tennis courts, probably 20 years ago, still under construction. Poor security at night. Paid less for more next door, will never return to suffer, noise, noise, noise and add cockroaches for good measure. We had a very helpful neighbour who helped us out to deal with the workers if something needed to be fixed. He saved us on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dreamer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We were very hesitant to stay in La Brisas after all the negative reviews on this site, but after contacting a few references from Tripadvisor.com we decided to give it a chance. We are very happy we did! We rented a unit # 4209 from Zlatko and Mila. It was amazing!!! The apartment was clean, recently renovated, well taken care of and very tastefully furnished. Mila wrote an incredible guest book sharing all the insider tips on places to go and things to do (and not to do =) The beach is the least crowded than any other we saw on the island, probably because most of the people living in the complex are expats, not tourists. The only negative thing we can mention is that some units in the building were still not repaired after the last hurricane and it does spoil the general impression. I understand that each unit is separately owned, so we can't speak about all of them. Nevertheless, we saw all three units that Mila and Zlatko own, since we plan to come back with the friends next time, and we can definitely recommend renting any one of them. If you are looking for a five star hotel with restaurants and entertainment this place may not be for you. But if you prefer a stylish penthouse with a great view for the price of a hotel room you will be pretty happy there.

  • Liked — Beach, great views, clean and stylish apartment
  • Disliked — Units in the complex that still show hurricane damage
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gafka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 km away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 175 in Cancun
205 reviews
0.1 km away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,852 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#73 of 175 in Cancun
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mayafair Design Hotel
Mayafair Design Hotel
#143 of 175 in Cancun
141 reviews
1.5 km away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#9 of 131 in Cancun
101 reviews
2.0 km away
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
#48 of 131 in Cancun
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Brisas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Brisas Beach Resort

Property: Suites Brisas Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 19.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Suites Brisas Beach Hotel Cancun
Hotel Brisas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing