We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of best holidays ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temptation Cancun Resort
Ranked #2 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

iv went to temptation the week of 27th feb 2012 for my 30th birthday just me and my partner.
i can not tell u how fantastic this hotel was everyone was so nice! the hotel was very clean the food was fantastic (defo make sure u book in to both restaurants food is mouth watering)
if yr going with thomas cook book on to the 'TC PROJECT' well worth every penny! please do not think this is a swingers hotel lol cause its not i was worried after reading some of these reviews! i have now booked for next year same already iv only been back 3 days!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank linzrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We've been here 3 times in the last few years; our favorite place to go. The staff is helpful and friendly, rooms are clean. Spacious? ummm not sure as we only book the basic room since we are rarely there except to sleep and... well you know. Love the pool, swim up bars and the food! Lots of healthy choices and the guac is to die for. The didn't have any at the buffet our first day there in Feb. but one of the staff went and found some for us. The Village Wok was very accommodating even tho we didn't have a reservation. That's my only gripe - the web site says that you don't need reservations, but it really does help. Love this place. The hubby won't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I want to start off by saying that this was my 6th visit to Mexico and 5th different resort. I went with a group of 7 single guys that like to party. It was a let down to see that the resort was mainly occupied by older couples, but this didn't discourage us from meeting people and having a great time. Now on to the negative parts of our experience..
I found myself drinking more tequila and beer than ever because a simple rum and coke or vodka 7 was unbearable. Maybe not the resorts fault, as I have noticed this at ther places. Something to do with the soda. And At least with the tequila I got what I expected. The food in the restaurants was good. The buffets however were very poor. Breakfast was so bad. It consisted of cold hash browns, mushy eggs and bacon. Yes there was some chicken and beef some mornings that was okay, but not exactly what I'm looking for at breakfast. The snack bar only served hot dogs and burgers. Hot dogs were always cold in the center and the burgers red... Food is a huge factor on my vacation and luckily our second week was at the grand palladium where we could enjoy a decent meal. Next the staff. Some of the staff (bartenders, maids) were incredible. It was the management that seemed to rub us the wrong way. We felt like because we were single and the youngest people at the resort that it was like we didn't deserve to be there.
Finally the pool was incredible. I've never seen a party throughout the day like I did here. We also had to get drunk so that we could last the week at this place.
All in all if you plan to eat all your meals in cancun and notorious at the resort then go here..
If all you want to do is party because there's nothing else to do then go here...
I also wish I had a picture of the sports bar.. The carpet in the sports bar was seamed together with duct tape. If that doesn't display class...
We will not return to this place and have no idea why others do.
Thanks for reading

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Hammertime7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is our 4th time at Temptation and I've noticed it changing, not for the better. Staff is still friendly but the buffet does not not have the quaility of food it did in previous years. As well internet is still riduculously slow and expensive, why they dont have free wi-fi is beyond me it would bring them more business. The al la cartes are still very good but now they have limited some of the free studd to the time share members or VIP as they call it. The seating out on the ocean is vip as well and if you sit in those chairs they kick you out. They also have a new balcony as well thats only for vip and servers as well. Since i only saw a small handful of vip members I hope they can keep thier resort going for them in the future because the others will stop going. That was our last trip there to Temptation we went with 12 of our friends. They have a good dj about every third day at the pool and the rest of the time is spanish music that no one likes. The previous years had great music. Too bad because I missed the godd ol' temptation days.

Room Tip: dont get near diegos bar or you'll never get to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank varrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Four friends and I went to this resort in late January. We heard many positive reviews and were looking for a party resort so we went ahead and booked. FIRSTLY, if you are looking for a singles partyresort DO NOT go here. While it is a fun resort, 90 percent of the people there are couples, if you are looking for a party I suggest the Oasis. The service was excellent, housekeeping was thorough everyday and the rooms were very clean. Don't get an oceanview room however. We booked one and were nowhere close to the ocean and could not even see it from our room. The food was excellent, and the buffet was by far the best. Every night there was a grill chef there with steak and shrimp ready to cook right in front of you. The drinks were excellent as well, whoever was on this site saying they were "watered down" is crazy. Great resort if you go as a couples trip otherwise I would recommend elsewhere. Still an excellent resort.

Room Tip: The oceanview option is a scam, do not get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank t j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

f you need to an expensive way of not sleeping after one year of hard work, then you should go to Temptation Resort.
The noisiest resort I have ever been... (and I'm 47 years old) Earliest I could fall asleep (n the so-called "quiet area") was 4.00am..
If you like to swim in the ocean, again, don't go there because of sea weeds...
Food diversity is pretty poor... I definitely can find more diverse and better mexican food in an average mexican restaurant in Toronto...

Room Tip: a fat tip will do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What an awesome time I had at this resort. Everything is built around the idea of having fun, being naughty, partying and with a slight relaxation. They have their motto "Nobody knows you, nobody gives a #$%^" and quite frankly it's true and you should subscribe to that motto while you're there.Go topless, have fun, get wild and stay active.

ROOM
The rooms are nice, stayed in a 2 double bed room in the 5xxx block. If you want quiet get a room in the 5xxx. We didn't get to pick the room but were fortunate enough to get an excellent night sleep all the time without any disruptions. The cleaning staff was nice, quiet and efficient so don't forget to tip them! We would even find towel "animals" in the room, was a nice touch. AC worked well, was as quiet as most AC units get. The "Sexy Lightning" was sexy. Our room wasn't equipped with a safe on the first day, it was noted and they had someone install one right away but even so it was barely used and I felt secure leaving stuff around the room.

FOOD
The food was good. The buffet could tend to get a little redundant during the day so don't hesitate to eat at one of their many restaurants. The TexMex place (a la carte) is highly recommended. During the night though, the buffet always had a different theme, more of a selection, was quick and didn't require a reservation so it's quite welcoming. Service at the restaurants were fantastic, staff was nice and did a great job at everything, was very pleased.

BEACH
The beach is smaller than some may want. It is located between 2 marinas so they have to work with what they got. The white sand is beautiful and superbly maintained. The seaweed is removed, sand is constantly raked and foreign objects removed. The bench were conformable, easy to use. Plenty of umbrellas for shade and bed/hammocks to lay in. The water is a bit tricky. There are Buoyies to indicate where you shouldn't swim past but unfortunately in the water there you can only walk out 75% of the way to them before you hit seaweed and you'd rather not step into it. On the beach you'll find the beach volleyball court to one side, another paddle ball court (not used often) and horseshoes. Shouldn't have any problems getting people together to play a game of what ever but they do announce specific times when a game will be played (generally 2pm).

BOOZE CRUISE
To set the mood, highly recommend going on this trip. Essentially it's a trip to the Isla Mujeres Mexico (The isle of Women) and back again. No matter where you go everyone is trying to sell you to go on this trip and depending on who you sign up with will vary the boat and the atmosphere. If you do signup do so through Temptation ([do so through Amy from the UK!]) since they'll have a boat to themselves and you can continue with the resort Motto on this trip. Get the trip with Chino and Omar you won't regret it. The trip consists of drinking on the boat, snorkling, a quick swim off the boat (clothing optional *wink*), buffet and drink on the beach, sexy activities then a boat ride back and dancing, more drinks and whipped cream are on the menu.

ACTIVITIES
Every late morning/afternoon and evening/night there's something planned. Afternoon activities range from Yoga, Battle of the Dexes, pole dancing lesson, Mr./Mrs. Temptation Competition, Beer Drinking Competition, Belly flop competition, etc. Participate and have a good time. Everyone is there to have a laugh relax and get wild so get with the program while you're there. At night they have activities such as Lingerie Fashion show and Casino, Live Entertainment, Pool Parties, Strip Show, Live Bands/DJs, etc. You can stay on the resort and party till the break of dawn every night or you can go to a local bar/club where the resort plans transportation, VIP access, all the drinks you want and during my stay they rotated through 4 to 5 different places so some place new every night (there is a fee involved though). Sarah 69 and her crew Manwell and Jose keep things going, they did a fantastic job.

LOCATION
This resort is found in the Resort district of Cancun so you'll need to plan trips out of it if you want to experience any type of Mexican Culture. And due to the location most things are priced pretty high so watch what your purchase. Bring extra sunscreen because you'll pay way more than you have to at the resort for some.

EXPECTATIONS
This is a sexy time, topless optional (at the pools/beach) resort but with that in mind this place leans HIGHLY towards a couples experience. I went on this trip with another single male and we had a good time but don't expect this to be a hook-up resort. There was a higher ratio of single guys to girls so 1 night flings are rare. If you go single, going with a larger group of friends is recommended (you can intermingle more and not feel left out) but for optimal fun go as a couple. You'll find everything there just oozes intimacy and being single will make you feel left out of some of the activities.

Overall this place was excellent, would highly recommend it (GO IN A COUPLE!) and remember their motto, don't frown on a little extra nudity and remember the sunscreen... all over.

P.S. Shout out to Norm the wooden drinking garden gnome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 5xxx block. They are nearest to the Sexy pool so you can get in on the action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
12.5 km away
Courtyard Cancun Airport
Courtyard Cancun Airport
#61 of 177 in Cancun
961 reviews
28.0 km away
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
#2 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
1,122 reviews
6.8 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
958 reviews
7.2 km away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,074 reviews
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temptation Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temptation Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Temptation Resort Spa Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Price Range: $315 - $992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Temptation Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temptation Cancun Resort, “The Playground for Grown-Ups”, caters to adults only (21+), offering a vibrant and passion-infused, topless-optional environment for the chic, the confident and the free-spirited traveler. Designed by Karim Rashid, Temptation offers 426 rooms and suites, plus newly innovated guest areas. There are seven specialized restaurants, 5 bars and a gourmet cafe. The property also features a spectacular spa & sophisticated fitness center. Temptation Cancun Resort… “The Playground for Grown-Ups”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temptation Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temptation Hotel Cancun
Temptation Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Mexico
Temptations Cancun
Blue Bay Resort Cancun
Temptation Resort Spa Cancun
Blue Bay Cancun Mexico
Temptations Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Getaway Spa Cancun
Temptation Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing