We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,234)
Filter reviews
4,234 results
Traveller rating
1,824
1,197
635
261
317
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,824
1,197
635
261
317
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bell boy the mexican restaurant concierge desk beach bar the wait staff entertainment staff water aerobics our waiter a lot of fun nachos oscar caracol frida miguel bingo clubs bellboy
Filter
Updating list...
1,007 - 1,012 of 4,234 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2015

The only good things about this place is the food and courteous staff (which seem like it was a part of their jobs, to ask guest(s) to write good reviews on Trip Advisor). Everyone from the Bell Boy to the catamaran crew asked us to write a good review on Ocean Spa. Nothing is as advertised, and you find out as you go along.

Well, I'm going to be honest. Eveything is dated and in need of an upgrade. From the old smell in the lobby, to stained...off-white towels and bed sheets. They could also benefit from some extermination; to get rid of some random bugs, roaches and lizards crawling in our room. We had to do a complete shake down of our luggage, to be sure we did not bring anything home.

I could also have done without the 400 meter swim behind the catamaran. Because it doesn't it stop and let you out to snorkel, (like the other snorkeling excursions), you will have to jump off the moving boat, and swim to it once it stops at the reef. It would be beneficial to do snorkeling, visiting the surrounding islands and different excursions, separate from what Ocean Spa has to offer.

This place is for college kids on a budget, or people that don't know any better! I would suggest spending the extra dollars to stay somewhere else, with stain towels and free sheets, insect free rooms, and unlimited supply of 20oz bottled water on hand.

Room Tip: Do not accept any rooms on the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Orville H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you bringing the areas of improvement to our attention which will help us to continuously improve our guest experience. We have shared your comments with our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job in providing the superior service and comfortable accommodations our guests deserve and expect from us.
We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

The best bar tender ever !!!! Very nice person, friendly and reliable !!! Julio is the ONE!!! He is making the right drinks upon your mood! If you don't know what to drink he will figure it out for you! You don't have to worry about nothing! Just enjoy your vacation. Julio is taking care about you. Just drink and be happy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2015

We had an overall fantastic time! The majority of the people we came in contact with were wonderful. My favorite two people at the resort were Jhan the bartender and Carlos Vargas a waiter. These two NEVER failed to greet you with a warm smile and an inquiry if there was any thing they could do for you. I can't exactly make that claim for every one, some of the bartenders tend to act like they don't like their jobs very much. I truly believe that Jhan the bartender is the example that all the other bartenders should try to emulate. We very thoroughly enjoyed each and every excursion we went on. The zip line at XPLOR are a MUST!

Room Tip: Tell them you dont want to be in 149-249 or 349. we were in 249 and its next to the the very large trash dump
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank randy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2015

Dear Randy:
It is with great pleasure that we read about your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience. It is so good for us to know that we met almost all your expectations and that our facilities, food, drinks, services and kind staff were part of your excellent vacation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

The food is absolutely disgusting. My husband and I could not wait to come back to America to finally be able to enjoy our food again. We paid for the all inclusive which was a big waste. We could never get reservations to restaurants we wanted to eat at. The website states they have an American restaurant and they don't. The only thing this hotel has going for them is the few friendly staff they have. The entertainment staff if very friendly and our room was kept very clean. But the things that led me to give them a bad rating is they close the towels at six when the pool stays open till nine. Which is another thing why do they close the pool so early. Sometimes it would be nice to enjoy the pool a little longer after the sun went down. They also remove all the padding from their beach beds at six. Your guests would like to enjoy the sunset just fyi. We were very impressed with the pizza at first but as the week went on the pizza cook became very grumpy and burned every pizza we got. The staff seems very overworked and they always seem like they are short staffed. Do they ever get a day off? I wouldn't waste my time with this hotel. If you are looking for something in this time share you should go to the sunset royal. The little bit of time we spent there we had a great impression. they had great food great staff and it was actually on the ocean!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Bad food, overall cleanliness was sketchy.
Pay a bit more and you'll be much happier!!
The beach wasn't on the ocean itself, but on a dingy Bay Area.
Security seemed alright, staff was okay, but expect disappointment if you plan on making this your vacation destination!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews