We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Bang for your Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #31 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson Falls, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Bang for your Buck”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Let me start by saying we only spent about 500 per person for a week. This of course was for the all inclusive hotel, not airfair. We absoulutly loved our room, once they gave us the right one on day 2. The food was ok. The drinks were ok. The pool and property was great. We took the shuttle boat to the Royal , witch has one of the most beautiful beaches i have ever seen. Thats saying alot because i have been alot of places. The boat made it very easy to go back and forth,but go early if you want any shade or chairs.

BE WARED...Their first and formost concern is the TIME SHARE. They will tell ya 90 min. I stormed out after dropping several "F"bombs after 3 and a half hours.they get ya right away. They even have them set up like info people at the airport.

Once that was out of the way we had a great time and really enjoyed the Sunset .It was very clean. And the staff was great.

Room Tip: be adament about a jacuzzi room if that is what you paid for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bailyjoecocker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you for your lovely comments regarding our property and staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle to and from our sister resorts. We have taken all of your comments into consideration since we always like to hear firsthand what we are doing right and where we can improve.
Our first and foremost concern is providing all Sunset Lagoon guest’s with a memorable vacation experience. Our residence club is an innovative product which many guests are happy to learn about however I can assure you that it is not our policy to act in the manner in which you describe. We will however take your comment into consideration. Once again we thank you for your comments and we hope to have you visit Sunset Lagoon in the future. Special activities will be held during 2012 with the theme of the Mayan Renewal Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    554
    176
    95
    99
See reviews for
774
538
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed Feb 2, 2012 We worried a little about going to this resort because of the negative reviews, BUT Wonderful vacation!! Room was very nice (a little inappropriate for a two year old though, marble stairs up to kitchen and living room and then a few more down to bedroom) perfect for a couple or older kids!! Staff was very helpful! Food was awesome!! entertainment was really good! sun shaded toddler pool a bonus! Not one timeshare inquiry!

Room Tip: Ask for level floored room if you have toddlers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeresaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I traveled with my family (Mom, sisters, cousin and significant other) the week of January 21st thru January 28th. I have been a Sunset member since 1999. I find each time I travel to Sunset Lagoon it only gets better. The staff is by far the absolute best quality this hotel offers. Rudy has been in the restaurant for over 25 years. Henry works in the Italian restaurant and has for years. Jose Luis works the front lobby and is very friendly and very service oriented. The service we received was absolutely wonderful. It feels like we are visiting family every time I go. They have added two more hotels that you can eat and visit but we did not go to either. We dined in the Italian restaurant twice the week we were there. The food was very good. We had two mile stone birthdays to celebrate and the kitchen did a great job of making our night very special. The tours we took were wonderful. We all traveled to Xcaret and spent the day. Four of us went on the snorkeling boat ride to Isle Mujeres. It was a beautiful fun filled day. Very worth the trip. Do not shop though. The one hour stop to shop is expensive and you can only use the bathroom if you buy something :(
As for the all inclusive I felt there was a nice selection of food every meal. We only had one dinner on the beach. Other than being windy we really enjoyed the food and the show. The entertainment in the lobby was the same each night but enjoyable. We did not take advantage of the going out to the bars as we were satisfied with staying at the hotel each night. I had a full body massage and a one hour foot massage. Martha was absolutley wonderful. I would recommend her highly. I have read the reviews and have not had the same circumstances at all. We had a wonderful view of the lagoon. We enjoyed the beds they have added with the curtains for napping. Nice touch. I will continue to travel to Sunset Lagoon for many years to come. We do enjoy the ocean view from the Royal Sunset but the staff is not as friendly as they are at Sunset Lagoon. Hats off to the staff at Sunset Lagoon!! I hope this is shared with those employees. They deserve some recognition. It is a very quiet and family friendly resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Wife and I went there for our late honeymoon. We decided to go the cheaper route and go here because we ended up paying aroudn $750 per person after tax and airfare for their all inclusive.
FOOD - Absolutley horrible. Just atrocious options. This was by far the worst part of the deal. The Web site "embellishing" is understating. There is a buffet and a very small "italian" restraunt attached to it. You have to have reservations for the nicer of the two - but it's never filled. Their beach-front restraunt isn't even open - they're using it for their stupid timeshare managers. I mean- really?
ROOMS - These were actually pretty good. I was impressed. We got a 1 bedroom (was supposed to be a suite with a jacuzzi - it wasn't, but I didn't feel like arguing.) The bed was hard and they refused to give us an extra pillow, but the room wasn't bad.
TIMESHARE PRESENTATION - I don't know if they thought me and my wife were too young or didn't make enough money, but they did not even approach us once about this. It was spectacular.
ENTERTAINMENT - Only entertainment two nights of the week. They will hit you up to go to the "club" every night. We did that once. It was fun, but they weren' there are the end of the night like they said they would be. Had to pay for our taxi home.

Overall, OK. Will not go back or do it on the cheap next time - but when you remember that you get what you pay for, you'll be satisfied.

Room Tip: Most rooms are near the street...LOUD. Get as far away from the busy street as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Sask.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

First of all, let me say that we are Royal Holiday members and used an RCI exchange to visit this property. So as such, we are familiar with the whole vacation club approach. However that being said, we found this property to be lacking in every way,other than the staff at the lobby and pool bars.
On check-in we were given a 1 bedroom suite which was as expected - however, it faced the back of the lobby on the street side with no balcony - not that you would want to sit on it anyway with just a view of a white concrete wall and constant street noise. This resort is small and right on the street, not back off of it like most resorts. When I asked about switching to a water front room with a balcony, I was told we would be more comfortable in this room than at the water side of the resort - WHAT?? And it certainly wasn't because they were at full capacity, because as we walked around at night, at least half of the suites were dark and there were very few people around the common areas at all during the week.
The only exception is when they would bring prospective timeshare people over by water taxi from the Royal Sunset to tour the resort and have breakfast. Needless to say, these people were very well attended in the beffet restaurant while those of us actually paying for the service were virtually ignored in almost every situation. The buffet itself was very small and repititious with nothing ever being above luke-warm. And if you ever see on their website talk of a Carribean restaurant on-site, forget it. The building is there - large and beautiful right on the water where you could enjoy a sunset meal, but that building is used by the timeshare managers, etc!! Your food options are the buffet, a very small Italian restaurant tucked in behind the buffet with no view, and a snack bar. We paid $113/day/person for all inclusive and felt this was way overpriced for the options you were provided, as we just left the Park Royal Cozumel where we paid $69/day for 5 bar options, and 3 dining options as well as room service. The best thing was that we were close to the ferry to Isla Mujeres, and that's where we headed 2 days out of 6 and found an awesome seafood restaurant in the hotel zone called Lorenzillo"s - it was incredible.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvthesun021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We would like to thank you for having chosen Sunset Lagoon for your holidays. We know that as an RCI member you have a wide variety of resort options to choose from, therefore we appreciate your business and thank you for choosing our resort.

Everyday we strive to deliver high quality service to all guests, not only meeting their expectations but exceeding them. Because of this we sincerely thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all opportunities for improvement and have taken all of your comments into consideration. We hope you will provide us with the opportunity of having you as a future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hi there went on a family vacation Dec 20-27, 2011 with whole family 4 adults and 2 babies , also booked for 3 more adults Dec 23- 30, 2011 at same hotel.
We arrived to find the hotel didnt have the accomodations we had booked, with 4 adults and 2 babies I had booked a 2 bedroom suite and they tried to put all od us into a room with bed and pull out couch.
The whole front desk was rude and unhelpful and arguementive stating they didnt even have the room catagory we booked. I had to make local calls on my cell to Sunquest, they wouldnt even get us an outside line.
Finally while waiting in the loby for some 4 hours they got us aother manager who managed to get us a 1 bedroom suite in their sister hotel Royal Sunset supposedly a better hotel.
Long story short in one week I moved rooms 4 times to finally get the 2 bedroom suite i had booked, but the other 3 adults didnt get the 2 bedroom suite either . They move into my 2 bedroom suite when we left. So paid for 2 bedroom suite for 2 weeks and got 1 week in all.
The actual accomodations when we finally got them were pretty nice for families full cooking facility with 2 full bathrooms. So you could go all inclusive like we did or cook.
The only other room issue was it was ground floor next to kitchen heard all the kitchen noise all night and we had mice , my husband actually got bit one night when we awaoke to find out we had mice feeces in the bed with us !!! Hotel denied there was a problem blaming gekos but we caught mice in the trap. !!
All inclusive food OK it is rated a 3 star didnt expect much, but what was really inconvient was their meal hours.
Breakfast 6:30- 12
Lunch 1:00 -5:00
Supper 7:00pm-11:00 food never actually got served at the buffets before 8:00pm
Snack Bar 12:00 -5:00 pm again you cant start cooking frozen hambergers at 12:30 to be ready for 12:00 go figure.
Now if you are alone or a couple these hours are pretty good but if travelling with kids the hours are not great .
Both the Sunset Laggon and Sunset Royal hotels are small we relly like this feature but be careful these are time sharing hotels and service is reflected.
Also my biggest beef is with Sunquest with all the problems we experience they didnt show up to the hotel once !!
On Dec 27th just after arriving home I got a call from my son who was one of the adults remaining at the hotel until the 30th he was frantic the hotel the Royal was on fire !!! Turns out the spa right behind our rooms caught fire. There were no alarms, no evacuation of the hotel and fire department couldnt even get up to the hotel xcept by a vacant property next door where they had to ram the cement wall . People were still dining in the dining room !!!
He went back into his room without anyone stopping them to get his passport out of the safe!!! And through all of this Sunquest did not show up at the hotel to check on their guests. The pool was finished the rest of the week and well as the lawn chairs dirty.
Now to be fair the hotel did offer me a free 3 night stay and was to be switched to the Presidential suite which never materializes as the person who authorized it went on holidays.
But lets get real would you stay at this hotel again? Hmmmmmmm

Room Tip: Make sure room not on ground floor next to kitchen. Noisy !! Aslo be careful in rooms where there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepsimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

How can it be rated as a gold crown resort ?Bathrooms are small and need to be renovated.Food quality is bad and expensive.Resort should be demolished.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hausberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.4 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
7.5 km away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
3.7 km away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.9 km away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#40 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing