We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will recommend...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #74 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great stay, good price; the hotel needs some renovations and upgrades, but overall; we had fun, shopping right in front...MARGARITAVILLE also right in front literately, lol; safe and very nice people.

Room Tip: front ocean view for an extra $20, no bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajero_Traveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

This was our 4th stay at the Flamingo since 1994. We have never had a bad experience at the Flamingo on any of our visits.

The Flamingo is an clean, older, small, no frills resort. The resort hasn't changed much since our first trip in 1994, which we like. It can't be beat for the price. If you are looking for something more than this, then the Flamingo isn't for you.

The staff is always friendly and some of them were working here on our first trip in 1994. Juan Carlos was especially helpful and friendly. Tip them and you will get great service and make many new friends.

The food and drinks were good. Many people complain about the food and lack of variety. Normally, we eat breakfast and lunch at the resort and have dinner outside of the resort. This trip we found the food to be better than in our past visits and didn't eat outside of the resort. I suggest eating at the specialty resturant at the beach for lunch and dinner, you are able to order off of the menu and the evening meal changes daily. Yes, the buffet is limited, but they do try to change the menu in the evenings by having various theme nights.

The location of the Flamingo is great. You have Margaritaville, Outback and Bubba Gumps across the street from the resort. The bus stops in front of the resort and you can easily go about anywhere in Cancun. Advise if taking the bus, watch the drivers because they will not always stop where you tell them you want to go, next thing you know, you are at the end of the bus line in downtown Cancun, not where you want to be.

The beach is great. We stayed in 2008 and there was no beach after the hurricane. The beach has come back and is nicer then it has ever been.

I would definatly recommend the Flamingo and will be visiting them again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmac033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We just returned this past Monday from a 5 night stay at the Flamingo, and I think it was better than it's been in the past (we've been staying there since 2002 - about 8 times). When we checked in, we found out they had us in a street view room, but we simply asked for an ocean view and they immediately moved us. The AC in the room was cold, the shower water was hot with good pressure, and the room was cleaned well every day, with plenty of clean towels. I think they may have upgraded the toilets since our last stay in August, as they flushed easily. The bed linens appeared new, and the bed wasn't as hard as before. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful as usual. We ate several meals there and as usual, the breakfast was great (especially the made to order omelets and the fresh fruit), and both the buffet and the restaurant on the beach had a good variety of decent food. All in all, we had a great stay at the Flamingo and will be returning there AGAIN in August.

Room Tip: Beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We chose this hotel to stay at for a couple of days before our regular timeshare was available. We based our choice on convenience, beach and reviews.

We paid the upgrade for an oceanside room. Our initial impressioin was that being near the pool was a benefit - we were wrong. The rooms are not particularly soundproofed, and every whisper, conversation or drunken whoop was clearly audible in our room. The bed ranks as the single hardest item I have ever slept on.

That said, overall we were happy with our choice. The staff was helpful and the bar, though small, was alive with activity each night. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it was well occupied as we went out at mealtime.

If you're looking for a five-star luxury resort, keep looking. If you want an adequate room in a convenient location, at a reasonable rate, this is your place.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool if you appreciate privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueManMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just got back from the Flamingo Cancun 02-07-12. We enjoyed out stay at the Flamingo. We had an ocean view room that was well worth the upgrade. The food was very good at the resteraunt on the beach which with all inclusive you can eat lunch without reservations and make reservation in resteraunt for dinner. The buffet was okay and you could always find something to eat that was decent. I have stayed at many all inclusive and of course by the end of week you are ready for something else but overall was clean and good. Our room was clean and housekeeping did a great job everyday. Florencia and Manuel who worked as bartenders and servers were excellent and friendly. The chairs on the beach were made of metal and you have to ask the towel boy or someone to bring you cushions which was not always easy as they acted like they were prize gems! I recommend that when you get them to take back to your room and keep for your trip and put them on your chairs when needed. Most staff were helpful and friendly however I think management needs to take a look at the pool activity coordinators job. For the whole week the only activity at poolside was Tequila volleyball and any other event posted did not happen. His interaction was only with the single girls that he could find and try to coordinate taking them to the discos that night. I think his focus was on the wrong things and not his job ! We did not experience noise at night and slept very well in our room. We enjoyed the beach and only complaint would be to have waiters at beach so you did not have to get up to get your cocktails. We would stay there again for the price but definately would always stay oceanside!

Room Tip: definately oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carsonjstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

First, I want to start by saying I have never written a review before and after this experience I felt it was necessary to prevent other people from experienceing what we just did. I am a traveler and always stay at 3 star resorts as I do not need the fancy necessities of a 5 star. I do not complain about food, as long as I am full, I am happy. I am 30, my friend is also 30 and we went to the Flamingo for a relaxing, resort feel type of vacation..this is not what we got. The Flamingo is a motel and here is why. From check in, you will be placed in a ground level, standard room facing the lagoon, which is really the highway. Most people would complain and the staff would offer you an upgraded ocean view. We were able to negotiate the price from 25 a night to 20 a night but we still had to pay, as did everyone else we talked to. The view was great. The room is bare bones, no clock, no coffee maker, 3 hangers....your lucky if you get towels! The beds are ROCK HARD and the pillows were very tiny. The ceiling leaked constantly. There was no water in the toilet and literally had to "push stuff" down. We tried to make the best of the situation and went to enjoy the pool, which is FREEZING and much much smaller than what is seen in photos. The lounge chairs are dollar store quality and if your over 100 pounds you will probably break one. They do pass out cushions for comfort but be prepared to fight for them. If you manage to get one, TAKE IT BACK TO YOUR ROOM everyday and bring it back it in the morning. The chairs on the beach are metal slabs and if you do not have a cushion, you can not lay down on them. There are not enough chairs so we were forced to take them from peoples patios. Forget using the hot tub, that is also freezing and doubles up as a kiddie pool. Foam floats at the top of it, wonder what that is! One night we were there it rained so bad that the place flooded. I know that is not there fault but we watched the staff sweep the dirty rain water right into the pool. That was the last time we used it.
As for the food/beverage department. Beverages are not an issue for the most part, but bring straws. They will not give you one because they blow in the pool but dirty rain water from the floor is ok. Food is awful. It is the same thing every single day. When breakfast potatoes make a guest apperance on both the lunch and dinner buffet, its disgusting. Breakfast was the same and everyday and stay away from sausage, which is really cut up hot dogs. Lunch never offered variety and dinner was themed. Italian, Tex mex etc... Depending on the theme, the only thing that changed was what they put in the rice. The al a carte restaurant was not bad but I found it funny that I was told I could not have soup and salad, it was one or the other....isnt this all inclusive? I argued and they gave it to me. We ended up going out to dinner every night after that, I could not do it anymore.
The entertainment is pretty funny (sarcasm), if the entertainment staff shows up, you still get no entertainment. There is an activities board but please pay it no mind, not one activity in 8 days was ever done. It was poor weather a lot of the time and they did NOTHING to entertain you. No music by the pool and your better off because when they do play music, its one CD on repeat for hours. One of the guests finally got annoyed after hearing the same 3 songs for an hour straight and pulled the plug herself at the pool. That resulted in a standing ovation and lots of applauding!!!
I coud honestly write for hours but I hope you get the idea. As for the pros of this place, great location and the staff was friendly most of the time. If you are thinking of booking here, spend the extra money and go elsewhere. If you already booked... good luck!

Room Tip: Tip: Stay somewhere else!! Do not do all inclusive, the food is awful, drinks are worth it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TFB8381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

extremely low rate for junior suites...very basic and few amenities. Several burnt-out lights, no washcloths, poor tv quality. Otherwise, a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevej371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.2 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
727 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#59 of 177 in Cancun
4,495 reviews
8.1 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,951 reviews
4.2 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,524 reviews
5.9 km away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $109 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing