We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,294)
Filter reviews
3,294 results
Traveller rating
741
1,135
729
341
348
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
1,135
729
341
348
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fuentealbatross restaurantoutback steakhousepool barmall across the streetall inclusive optiona la carte restaurantjunior suitequiet poolhotel zoneocean view roomsenor frogsnachosbeautiful beachcoco bongoflea marketlounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 3,294 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Having lived out of 3 star hotels and suddenly put into 5 star it felt a little odd. So what does make it 5 star. If it’s service, style and class I was then this place has it.
I arrived at my hotel and was checked in quickly. However I had a triple room and it needed to be petted to a single room (hoping I wasn’t paying for the triple).
But my single room was lovely overlooking the ocean with all the amenities one would expect.
As I had a band on my wrist that entitled me to free drinks at the bar and food I went to eat and find the buffet to be good - not brilliant but good. Service was slow.
I wanted to sit by he pool but all the food chairs were taken even though many had no people on them but their towels were still there - even hours later the towels were still there.
A walk to the beach was nice and I popped the flowers behind my ear and felt like a princess.
Checkout in the wee hours of the morning was easy and a taxi ordered for a reasonable cost.
I’m not going to write an epic review as some people have.
Flamingo is good and you get what you pay for.
Long way to any shopping areas.
Wheelchair friendly. Kid friendly. Caters for dietaries. Parking available.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank UrbanDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asistgerencia, Director General at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, they help us to better ourselves and be able to provide much better service and installations for you in your next vacation with us.

Our best reward is that you will stay again with us.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Ok, this is liking but detailed! We were here for 2 weeks mid February. The first week in a standard room and the second week in the junior swim out suite. Two VERY DIFFERENT EXPERIENCES.

Standard room: check in was disappointing. Typically resorts offer you a "welcome drink". There was no greeting at all. Very underwhelming. Check in was relatively easy. Our room was on the 3rd floor, facing the street. The room was... Slightly better than terrible. We are both easy to please but this was a little shocking. Old, dark and cheap cheap finishes. There was no fridge, but a space for a fridge in the dresser was there (they said a standard room comes with no fridge). They provide only 2 small bottles of water, which you have to refill yourself at the bars (which no one told us before we threw them away after empty). They do not replenish the water which was a first for us. The beds were decent. The bathroom shower was pretty bad. Curtain was barely hanging on because the hooks are the wrong size, water got everywhere. The tv didn't turn on, so they did replace that quickly. The room was clean. The worst part was the TRAFFIC NOISE... it was unbearable. We slept with earplugs and it was useless. There is a bus stop right below and you could hear the bus air brakes day and night. It was shockingly loud. We did complain the very next morning and they offered to move us for $30 extra a night, we politely declined and afterwards they said they might have a different room in a few days. 3 nights later they moved us to a beautiful renovated room on the 6th floor WITH A FRIDGE. It almost seemed like a different resort due to the room. We still faced the road but the noise was much much better. After speaking to a couple other travellers, we came to the realization that they might place the "gringos" on this floor with the assumption that they may be willing to pay more for a better room. I would consider the original room on the 3rd floor a 2 star. Do everything in your power not to be placed on this floor unless you face the ocean. Even the hallways weren't renovated and were dreary.

Bars: the main and only lounge bar opens at 4pm. This is too late in my opinion. This is where relaxing music and tvs are. I feel a 2pm opening would be much much better, giving guests a better experience. The only bars open eariler are 3 others, the pool bar and the el la carte bar. The main lobby bar has a very good dj (I think) on thurs-sat until 830/9ish, too early to stop in my opinion. The resort does a poor job at informing about entertainment so be sure to ask. We missed a bunch and were informed by other travellers about what was going on. The lobby bar could also be better by changing up the music- it's almost electro spa type music and gets repetitive.
The pool bar is wonderful, 3 cool swings and lots to choose from, just like the lobby bar. I suggest to bring your own cup so that you don't have to go back for refills as often. The cups they provide are small.
The el la carte bar is a little less desirable. It's inside the restaurant so to go grab a drink from there just feels strange. We didn't do that often.
The center pool bar is located by the buffet and is standard. (There are also some tables there to sit at and order burgers and fries at.)

Food: like the other reviews, the food is okay, nothing special. There is only 1 buffet. It's breakfast, lunch and dinner. The dinner was always disappointing, fruit always ran out and the food itself was nothing worth while. They should do a fresh grill option, not just heated up food. Breakfast and lunch always seemed to very good and we could always find something we liked.
There is 1 el la carte. It does lunch and dinner. Dinner you require reservations. The dinner is excellent, we mostly ate there. There is no maximum times you can go. The tbone steak was unreal, and he carrot soup! If they aren't busy, ask for a Spanish fire coffee, be sure to tip as it takes a good effort. The lunch el la carte was decent, we preferred the buffet lunch or poolside pizza. This el la carte also has a mini breakfast as well, buffet style. Much less selection than the main, but the view is beautiful.
The poolside pizza is unreal. SO GOOD! We ate there almost every day for lunch. Be sure to tip, I noticed many didn't. It's a hot and long day for them.

The pools: there are 2. The centre pool, stuck is located by the buffet, protected from wind, with no view of the ocean. It's nice, but half in the shade. We didn't go in at all. The bar there does have a swim up but it was always in the shade.
The ocean front pool is very nice. Nothing fancy, small and rectangular, but he view is beautiful. Lounge chairs are comfortable and we never had problems getting one. THE POOLS ARE COLD! As in, we barely went in. Being from Canada, in it being mid February, I thought nothing could stop us. We were wrong. Wow, like an Alberta lake in June.

Beach: it's very windy here as there is nothing blocking the air flow. The waves are with and it was not safe to swim. The beach is beautiful but dirty, they don't clean it well in front of the resort. Lots of lounge chairs, you won't have a problem finding one. Many are broken though.

Other things to consider: this resort is primarily locals. No big deal but this is a high speaking Spanish resort. Roughly 30% were "gringos". I found staff here spoke less English than any other resort I've ever been too. The main lobby needs a facelift. It's huge and empty. They should add some new sofas as the current ones are strained and ripped. They could add space filling things such a fuze ball game, ping pong table, or just more seating. It was strange how empty it was. A waste of space.
The smoke detectors batteries were dead in the buffet and exterior pool bathrooms. They beeped CONSTANTLY. No idea why they never changed them in the 2 weeks we were there.
The resort needs to better inform guests with their entertainment reschedule. They have live shows and buffets certain days of the week, we missed most because we had no idea they existed. They are on the rooftop and quite fun. The two we attended were nice as the hotel doesn't have much to do in the evenings. They also have synchronized swimmers, but no clue when they perform, same with a chef who makes a special dish at the centre pool. ASK!!!
There is a great Mexican restaurant to the left of the resort, a 2 min walk. Well worth it. Get the nachos, OMG.
The mall across the street are basically souvenir vendors. To the left is the fancy mall, more high end with great restaurants, to the right is the main strip with coco bongo and bars. We walked both and it was fun. About 10 min walk to the left, and 20 min walk to the right. It was safe.

LASTLY... The swim up suite w/ butler service: this room was AMAZING. it made our trip! The room was roughly 6 months old and gorgeous. The bed is great, different types of pillows to choose from, 2 tvs, pull out sofa and large bathroom. There is also a fridge which they fill up with drinks and snacks! The swim out is stunning!!!! Private, views of the ocean and just plain pampered. Water was cool but not as bad as the main pools because it gets more sun and is not as deep. There are "butler's" there to assist you, make your reservations for dinner, and to order you anything you want. You can get an la carte delivered to your room. This was excellent, especially for a late night big snack! Staff was so friendly and helpful. Hallways were a bit noisey but they did kick out one group who are loud and obnoxious. This is not a party resort. This room would make me come back, the other rooms would not. Definitely worth the extra money!

All in all, it was a nice vacation. The swim up suite was a 4/5 vacation. The other rooms were a 3/5 vacation. I would not return to this resort if it were a standard room. There was no daytime entertainment, and very little evening entertainment. If you purely want to relax in silence, this is the place for you. The swim out suite was much more intimate and high end. We played our own little stereo, had our own pool space with stunning views. I would go back for that. You basically were in your own world. It was ideal. Only suggestion is that they serve you drinks there, they only serve you drinks of you get food. If you are contemplating this resort, either get this swim out suite, or an ocean view room. If you require a standard room due to budget, go to a different resort. The nicer rooms make up for the lacking food variety and lacking entertainment. STAY AWAY FROM THE THIRD FLOOR STANDARD ROOMS unless you sleep like a zombie and don't mind old, dark and dated.

Room Tip: Stay away from the third floor or lower, especially facing the roadway.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Candian2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asistgerencia, Director General at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, we always appreciate hearing comments from our clients, they help us to better ourselves and be able to provide much better service and installations for you in your next vacation with us.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Had a very great stay at this resort surprisingly. Before I stayed at another resort and was really unsure if I would enjoy this one but I really did. The resort was clean, always smelled good and the staff was so pleasant. The only thing we didn’t enjoy was the food. We ate out everyday instead and still had a great experience! Rumor was that the restaurant inside of the hotel was good for dinner but we never made reservations. We enjoyed having restaurants within walking distance! It’s definitely worth it to upgrade your room to an ocean view!! That was the icing on the cake. Enjoyed our stay here!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Go759425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas7, Director General at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank you very much for taking few minutes of your time to express your comments regarding your recent trip to Cancun. We always appreciate hearing positive comments from our clients, please be sure that they are very valuable for us and they help us to better ourselves and be able to provide much better service and installations for you in your next vacation with us.


We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.


Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018

This optional all-inclusive resort was relaxing compared to others we had witnessed nearby. We didn't go for the all you can eat and drink package, which we were kind of glad since there were several restaurants nearby or on a hop on the ADO bus that had great, reasonable food offerings. The beach at the Flamingo is pristine and the facility offered great lounge chairs for soaking up the sun. Even though this is a family-oriented resort, the kids weren't overly loud and everyone was well behaved. Be forewarned that in late February there is was pounding going on in a certain area, but it appeared the hotel made it a point not the place people in adjoining rooms. Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ocean view, of course. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blakepokeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas7, Director General at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, we always appreciate hearing positive comments from our clients, they help us to better ourselves and be able to provide much better service and installations for you in your next vacation with us.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

Needed electric light 24hrs a day so i changed to a suite which was $70 per day supplement. The people at reception spoke next to nothing English. The first suite had a hole in the top so it rained in. So i changed again. The second suite was better

Room Tip: Standard/suite
Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventas7, Director General at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, please be sure that they are very valuable for us and they help us to better ourselves and provide much better service and installations for you in your next visit.

We hope to have the pleasure to hosting you again.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews