We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not Exactly A Social Hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Mayapan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Mayapan
Ranked #12 of 60 Cancun B&B and Inns
United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Exactly A Social Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked a 3 night stay at this place primarily because of the location. The location was indeed great as it is only about a 15 minute walk to a main strip of clubs, shops and restaurants, and at $20 a night it was a bargain compared to the hotels. Other pros were the staff was nice and it had a small wildlife preserve out front that had iguanas.

The main issues however were that it was not a social hostel as other guests kept to themselves and cleaning was as far as I noticed performed only once daily. Toilets got clogged a few times and the bathroom did not always smell so great. Also, the air conditioning was only on intermittently and, thus it got very hot and stuffy. Overall for me the place, while I would not call it dirty, just had a dingy and un-fresh feel to it.

It's unfortunate because this hostel has so much potential. If they added a common area, bar/club hop services, and marketed the place with a fun theme, it would make the place so much more enjoyable. I'd also recommend slight upgrades to improve the interior aesthetics, more frequent cleaning, and adding deodorizers and air fresheners.

After this trip I can really appreciate how much more fun a vacation can be when staying in a place where you meet people and make friends. While Hostal Mayapan was not that place it very well could be and I'd recommend the owners pursue turning it into such a place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nextmountaintoclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    48
    43
    16
    13
See reviews for
3
19
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

My luggage was delayed after flying into Cancun and I needed a hotel in Cancun quickly. I picked this out of the guidebook so that we could get to the beach! The hostel is actually in an old mall. It means the things are a bit awkward by times. There is no main sitting/relaxing area.
Pros: One of the only hostels in the hotel zone of Cancun, affordable for the hotel zone, computers available for use, free continental breakfast (basic but free)
Cons: Things were a bit musty and not super clean, we found a old shirt in a random dresser.

Overall consensus, its not really a great place, but if you want to be in the hotel zone without paying resort prices you can crash here for a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gxqpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

hmm well i payed a lil bit more and got the private room... and it was pretty dam lousy, very poor qualityand ha the bed didnt have a sheet on it, and i had to walk to the front desk to get someone to come with the one and only air cond remote to turn on my ac.... every 4 hours. staff didnt really care and was a great hassle to get them off their office seat.

it has a giant glass roof, which looks kinda cool but reallisticly it acts like a massive greenhouse.

sure its the cheapest place in the hotel zone and it is fairly central, but for an extra 50% you could have a hotel

Room Tip: all much of much there... its a hostel in mexico............. dont expect much more than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Jundiai
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

THis hostel is very nice. You are in zona hoteleira, 15 minutes walking from the best discos in Cancun. Cheap, very clean, good wifi connection and a a very nice staff that is always helping you to not spend your money with expensive tour, showing better options...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frezaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

As the only hostal in the 'Hotel Zone' of Cancun, Hostal Mayapan is away from the hustle of downtown, yet somewhat awkwardly situated among numerous enormous hotels- both an advantage and a disadvantage. What is lacking in location is overwhelmingly made up in its welcoming host, ready to assist you with anything you may need. The rooms are tidy and air-conditioned, and it's easy to catch a cab to the city, or to the port to catch a boat to Isla de las Mujeres.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superseastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Of all my hostels, this is top notch! Gorgeous rooms w/lots of space, in a cool building (former upscale mall, now fancy and enormous lounge for guests). Good A/C+WiFi. Big lockers, dorm door key, 24h manned reception, safe area = max security. Fantastic location, great beaches all around! SUPER clean, hostel is brand new. Nice staff, but needs more knowledge of the area. A quiet hostel, but buzzing Cocobongo (world class club) just 5 mins away! Good breakfast. 10 great days here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwegianRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.5 km away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#64 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.8 km away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.7 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mayapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mayapan

Property: Hostal Mayapan
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Km 8.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Mayapan 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayapan Hostel is located in the heart of the Hotel Zone of Cancun, with Mayan style for people who want to hike and explore nature Maya Land endless emotions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Mayapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mayapan Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing