We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Waste Your Time on a 4 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Costa Cancun
Ranked #45 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste Your Time on a 4 Star!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We just got back from a trip to Cancun. This hotel looks nice on the outside, but the rooms were beat up. They also said they were giving us an upgraded room. Had view of a side of a bldg and room smelled moldy. The staff is very friendly, but the food was horrible. Spanish restaurant doesn't serve Mexican food. The Seafood restaurant was ok, but not much food. The buffets were horrible. Very disappointed and won't be back to a Barcelo chain hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancySt_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,080
    1,447
    677
    322
    276
See reviews for
1,071
1,527
142
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We are here for a wedding for our nephew and the hotel wedding coordinator keeps "changing" things and basically messing up the wedding plans for them. The bride had been taking the "changes" very well up until this evening which is the eve of the wedding when they suddenly decided to cancel her hotel room and refused to reinstsate it. The "manager" said it would be available at 7am but refused to put it in writing. Poor thing has spent hours and hours dealing with their mess ups and this is just such bad service for them. Half of her guests weren't the front desk this evening trying to talk to them to get her her room back but They would not. Such bad service.

Room Tip: This is a review of their wedding services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hotel was ok for the price, rooms were lovely and clean. Very disappointed with the balcony, you couldn't get a chair on it, it was that small.

The food was very repetitive, especially if you like 'beef in sauce'. The Spanish restaurant wasn't exactly Spanish either, they didn't even do paella!

The pool is lovely and there are plenty of loungers, the beach was nice, but because the hotel is at the end of the bay the sea is very calm, not like in the centre where there were huge waves!

The beach bar was a good meeting place and the staff on there were very friendly especially Lorenzo! The lobby bar could've had more outside seating though!

I was a little bit disappointed considering this hotel has had good reviews. If I went back I would spend a bit more and stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0BB015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have no complaints about this hotel. The staff are all very friendly, mostly the bar staff - even our cleaner was so friendly! The a la carte resteraunts were all great, especially the buffet. Make sure you ask to sit outside as it looks over the ocean! This hotel is right on the beach, where you can get free towels and use the jetskis.The beach bar has a really nice atmosphere, and also serves food during the day (burgers, hot wings etc). I would definitely recomend the trip to chitchenitza - take lots of photos! There is a pirate ship which stays at the this hotel - i would recommend a night on that, goes way out in the ocean, you get a steak or lobster lunch and free drinks all night. Also, me & my boyfriend went deep sea fishing which was a fantastic experience. We got a boat to ourselves and the guys on board were really nice (expected tips like most other mexicans).
Also at this hotel you can use the spa, which is lovely, but there is a separate one for men and women so dont expect a romantic spa experience. Our room was very big and clean, the mini fridge was stocked generously daily but our view wasnt the best. We paid for an ocean view but instead got a view of a wall! You really get your moneys worth at this hotel - would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Wa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

What a wonderful vacation. We just got back last night from 10 nights. Yes, it was LOUD during the day and Yes the street side rooms are noisey during the night. After two or three nights you get used to it and sleep right through it! But you cannot say anything about the customer service there. We were treated like royalty even though we had just a Superior room. They took absolutely the best care of us. At no time were we ever discriminated with. We tipped and we treated everyone with respect, and we got the same in return.
We cannot say anything bad about this resort! The food was pretty good. We learned to eat healthier than we usually do at home.
Always chairs on the beach and around the pool. They always have activities on the beach and around the pool. Also, we didn't read the information in the room that they provide toothbrush, paste and shaver free of charge in your room just for asking. Also, it is only $15 a night to upgrade your room when you get there not $40 difference you see online. Shopping...DO NOT go to the walmart there, I won't complain about our walmart again... So expensive! Take a bus down the street to the shopping mall! So worth the 80pesos to go down there! Shopping was so cheap there, wish we knew about the mall earlier in the trip! What a wonderful 10nights and sad to be home. One more thing...Make sure you have a minimum of two hours to get through customs in the US! We almost missed our plane due to how long it took to go through customs in the USA!

Room Tip: Get a superior room and upgrade when you get there! They give you coupons when you get there and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lthomas1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpgiesemann, Marketing Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Barcelo Costa Cancun during your trip to Cancun. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
Very truly yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Went last summer and had a terrible time. The staff was INCREDIBLY rude (although the staff entertainers at the pool were awesome), the hotel was noisy, and they refused to do anything about the wasted people walking through the hotel floor screaming at 3am. The rooms were dirty, the water was always cold, and I had to call the front desk numerous times to get things fixed. The food was terrible and the drinks were weak. The hotel was nicely priced at first, but I would have paid more for better accommodations. I would not spend money here ever again because their staff was so rude.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egordon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

First room was not satisfactory however reception changed straight away. After early problem we found this hotel to be just great. Food good staff great .

There are trips to book with the holiday reps or in the hotel. Do not book with them as there is a guy next door who runs a company called Nautica Travel and he will do you a good deal, we went on 3 with him and they were great.
The hotel however has almost everything you need. If there is a fault and this is minor one there is only one bar and a beach bar. Which is ok if you don't mind listening to a saxophonist every night. We like a walk out at night but it got a little boring listening to the same each night. That said the mini bar in the room is kept stocked so you can have a drink on your balcony if you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank humphreyBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpgiesemann, Marketig Office at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barcelo Costa Cancun It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.

With best regards,
Sandra Giesemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
8.1 km away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
3.9 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#70 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
5.5 km away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#42 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
0.7 km away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#41 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Costa Cancun

Property: Occidental Costa Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Costa Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing