We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Average Hotel with Amazing Employees” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #52 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Average Hotel with Amazing Employees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the Golden with friends the 3rd week of March 2012. We are avid travellers and have been to Mexico many (10+ times) times although we usually stay down in the Riviera area closer to Playa del Carmen. For those who don't care to read the whole review, this hotel is a good choice for those who enjoy a party atmosphere, the pool vs. the beach, lots of sun and not a lot of shade, and for those who don't need a lot of sleep or who can sleep through loud, rowdy partying until the wee hours of the morning. We realized before we went on this vacation that Cancun would likely not provide the relaxing, romantic atmosphere we are used to from other destinations but at the end of the week we couldn't wait to get home to our comfortable bed and get some R&R before heading back to work.

Positives about this resort include great food & drinks and their amazing employees. The hotel is very clean and they are always working hard to keep things shiny and well maintained. Miguel at the lobby bar makes fabulous drinks and he's an absolute pleasure to deal with. In my opinion, he makes the best drinks in the whole resort. My favorie drink was a frozen amaretto sour & the margaritas were tasty as well. Maru with Guest Services is another wonderful person. She would stop to say hello every time we ran into her and always seemed genuinely concerned that we were enjoying our stay. Julieta at the Old Barn is another gal we thought was just fantastic. Not only is she a top notch server, she was extremely friendly, funny, and a really sweet soul. We were a large group (10) and she brought us a wonderful assortment of appetizers to share and managed to get every single one of our orders cooked and delivered to perfection.

We visited all of the a la cartes for dinner except the Japanese. The Old Barn was a favorite (filet mignon) as well as Pier 12 (coconut shrimp). Shangri-la was also pretty decent, more of a fine dining atmosphere and a four/five course meal though so it depends what you're in the mood for. Their menu changes a couple times per week so if you don't like the looks of it at first just wait a couple days and they'll post a new one. Pasqual was our server both times and he did a great job. The buffet for breakfast and lunch offers a wide array of choice and there are different stations where you can custom order speciality dishes for both meals. The omelettes in the morning were especially good as well were the chicken wings at lunch. Rogelio was our server the entire week and he was excellent. He always greeted us with his warm, friendly smile and we looked forward to seeing him every day.

If you enjoy the beach more than the pool, you will need to get up early to reserve your chairs. Depending on the crowd that's there when you visit, you may need to go down before 7am to get a spot (maybe even 6), especially if you want a palapa for shade. The beach itself is ok. Certainly not the beaches like you'll see in the Mayan. I think the hotel should put up a few more rows of palapas on the beach. They have the space and there is definitely demand for more beach seating. If you do manage to get a palapa on the beach, they are so far back from the water and due to the incline of the sand from the beach being restored, you cannot see the ocean at all from your lounger while under your hut. Furthermore, you won't find any shade at the pool if it's windy since they only put the umbrellas up if it's reasonably calm. This is a big negative for those who either don't want to be in the sun all the time or who can't due to the risk of burning to a crisp or who simply don't want to risk the sun damage. In the week we were there, the umbrellas were available 2 days. There is a nice area up by the washrooms and Pier 12 where they have hammocks and there is some shade there if you need it and they also have a cart with books on it for a book exchange which is a nice idea.

The entertainment staff at this resort goes above and beyond to make sure everyone is having fun. I really don't know how they manage to maintain such enthusiasm and positivity day in, day out when they are ALWAYS working! Each one of them deserves a medal for their efforts. Keep up the great work guys!

I've read several different comments about the beds and I guess it really depends on what you're used to. We've slept in more comfortable beds for sure but they weren't the worst we've experienced in our travels. The biggest downfall about the rooms is that they all surround the open lobby (and bar) and due to the architectural design of the hotel, magnifies sounds by a thousand. We were on the fourth floor, last room at the end by the lobby so perhaps if we were at the other end we wouldn't have found it so noisy but from reading other comments on here I really don't think there's many quiet areas in the hotel. One thing that may help limit noise travelling up to the rooms late at night is if the hotel had all the evening action held out by the tiki bar and restricted guests from yelling etc after the lobby bar closes.

All in all, we did enjoy our vacation at this resort and if the hotel would add more palapas on the beach and more shaded areas at the pool, we would consider staying here again if we returned to Cancun. The people (both the friends we travelled with and the staff) made this a fun trip and their company outweighed any negatives we had with this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 4,5, or 6 at the end away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Livetotravel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,461
    1,861
    790
    343
    245
See reviews for
444
3,098
80
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,096)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Golden P. The hotel is a half our from the airport. It´s on relatively small grounds making access to the restaurants, pool, and beach easy. The staff could not have been more helpful from the moment we registered. Our room which faced the bay was spacious and very clean. Every evening we had a choice of the 4 restaurants and we discovered that we could special order from the menu. We have been to Cancun about ten times and would definetely consider coming back here again. Excellent service, clean rooms and friendly people. We didn´t have to worry about a thing , we just thoroughly enjoyed the there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

This is my second trip with my girlfriend and it's her 5th stay at golden Parnassus. We both love the small hotel atmosphere, we got to know various staff members and they remember us as well. Our overall experience was awesome, we were treated with royalty. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to serve us and to make us happy. We will definitely be back next year. Kudos to Oscar in the main dining room, his brother, Pasquale in the shangri-la and Jose at the tiki bar. We will see you next year.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Joel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We arrived on January 12th, and were disgusted as soon as we pulled up. Totally outdated, run down hotel. As we waited to check in (you cannot check into your room until 3pm), staff tried to sell us on a free weekend to their sister hotel in Tulum called The Adonis-gay resort. We are not gay. We were tempted to sign up then because this place was aweful, but we decided to wait and see our room. ROOM WAS PITIFUL! I am convinced that people that have given this place great reviews are used to staying in dumps. Anyways, air didn't work, bathroom door was a joke- a restaurant push in door, beds were teeny and ridiculous, food was disgusting, drinks were aweful, and many of the vacationers were 50 yr olds acting as if they were on spring break. Did not sleep at all 1st night -drunk people screaming and yelling outside. Practically jumped in the van to transfer to Tulum because anything was better than this. We arrived in Tulum, and it was as if we went from hell to heaven. The Adonis is beautiful and well managed. Food was great, staff was great...EVERYTHING was great there. A warning to anyone who is travelling to mexico - The Golden is a dump!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there....stay somewhere else to find a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I just returned from the Golden Parnassus and had a amazing vacation!!!!! I read some of the reviews before going and was scared. Well I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and whoever complained about the lighting in the bathrooms is blind and there was an abundance of towels. The food was delicious and many different selections.We had something happen to us (not involving the resort) and the resort staff was amazing in helping us. I will definitely be returning to the Golden Parnassus!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we had a lagoon view room the first night when we had paid for ocean view and the next day had a oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our fourth trip to the Golden Parnassus. Obviously we are very happy there!! We stayed from March 17th to March 24th. We were a group of ten ranging in ages from mid 30s to mid 40s. We have always been there with a group of at least six people. Although, you don't need to be with a group to have fun.

If you want to have a bunch of fun on the resort, you can stick by the pool during the day. The entertainment staff this year were the best this resort has ever had! There was just enough going on to keep it fun but not have things overly busy. They have something for everyone! They bring the fun into the evening with games and fun in the Sixties bar or a show in the theatre, then it is out for the night- to a different club every night!! OR head outside to the Tiki Bar for a great party right on site!

Of course, there are lots of things to do in Cancun on your own or as part of an excursion. Some of our group went to the Explore Adventure park and had a great day ziplining, swimming, etc. We went as a group to the mall, La Isla, one day and to Carlos and Charlies another evening. Cancun is SAFE folks!! Don't be scared to come! We travel in and out of Cancun on the public bus (costs about seventy cents each way) all the time. Now, having said that, don't be stupid either!! You are in a busy city with lots of people so all the same safety things you need to do at home are also needed here! Don't be stupid! Travel with friends! Be mindful of where you are! Listen to your spidey sense!

Looking for quiet?? Lots of that too! The beach is absolute heaven! Nothing better that listening to the waves as you relax in the sun! And the waitress will handle all your needs! The lobby bar is a nice place for a quiet drink in the evening. You may even get to meet one of the owners- he was there several nights enjoying a drink in the lobby- nice when the person who owns the place is interested enough to be there!!!

The rooms are nice and clean. We were on the fourth floor and it is quiet to sleep. The beds should come with a crowbar!! as you just melt into them and don't want to get back out. They are a bit small if you are tall. I do agree with some who spoke about lighting in the bathroom- one improvement to be made is better mirror lights so you can apply make-up or shave- it is a bit dark for precise work. We had a safe that would not work. We called down to the desk and it was totally replaced within a couple of hours!!! Can't do much better than that.

As for eating, I have a LOT of food allergies and intolerances and am also a pretty strict vegetarian, almost Vegan really, and although my eating was fairly repetitive, it was easy to find stuff most of the time. Every restaurant has a vegetarian menu so ask for it. The buffet had lots of choice for me most of the time. Communication is sometimes an issue as I don't have very much Spanish but the staff were excellent to do their best to understand and help me make choices.

I am sure I could tell you all a bunch more. If you have any questions, feel free to message me. They have been working hard to improve this resort over the years. Last year was mostly cosmetic. This year seems to be staff. They replaced some of the upper management since we were there last year and it seems to be a change for the better!! The staff all seem to be very happy to be there but the service has definitely improved and it was good to begin with.

I can hardly wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room on the fourth or fifth floor, on the lagoon side, near the far ends of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PawnPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beach is beautiful, food is excellent, beds are soft. Resort is small and there is not enough activities going on at hotel. The staff trys to do things at the pool each day and they do great, but that is about it. Their is no games going on, no painting or anything spectacular about this hotel. No music or bands either.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
10.0 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
4.5 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#24 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
2.3 km away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
3.8 km away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,381 reviews
4.4 km away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing