We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best first trip to Cancun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #59 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Granville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best first trip to Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was my husbands and mine first trip to Cancun, we stayed April 9-13th. We meant another couple that it was there first time to Cancun as well, and ended up hanging out the whole trip. The staff was great and they worked so hard to keep you entertained and happy. Tip them well when you get there and they will remember you. Now here's a little thing about everything....
Resturants: The Shangri-La was by far the best! The waiters and the food were excellent!! They started given us Tequila shots as soon as we sat down, and didn't stop, Fun times!! We left laughing! The other resturants were good, the Breeze's which is located by the pool made the best chicken sandwhich. The Barn was ok, was not one of our groups favorite.
Rooms: We stayed on the Lagoon side 6th floor. Our room had a jacuzzi, frig, and a safe. They restocked the frig daily, which was nice for soda and water, the beer was gross. The room was very clean. Big shower and the bathroom I thought had good lighting and did not have any problem getting ready. The A/C worked if you had it on high, it kept it comfortable to sleep.
Bars: The Tiki bar was the most entertaining, day and evening, they always had music going, and the bartenders were quick, you didnt wait long. The Beer Garden bar located in the lobby was good as well. My husband liked the Viagra shot, its a must try, but beware it is spicy. My favorite drink was the Riveria Mya, also called a Bob Marley, you can get it as a shot as well. The drinks seemed watered down a little, just ask for a double shot of alcohol in the drink.
We went over to the VIP lounge the Santrum for breakfast one day at the Great, but were in a hurry to get back. If you go there beware of kids running everywheres. And you will have to wait for long periods of time for the elevator, take the stairs if you dont mind them.
The best tip I can give is about the internet!! This hotel does not offer wiifi. You can pay in USD or Peso's. Go to the far computer and pay with peso's ( it is the only one that says $60 peso minimum.) You must put in the whole $60 peso, it will then allow you to use the internet, logout and it will give you an option to create an account, do that. Then go to any of the other 3 computers and login. The computer can't determine the peso's to the american dollar and it triples your money. When we left I still had over 175 minutes left on the account. This was great with checking email to stay in touch at home.
Traveling out of the resort was fine and safe. If you plan on going to the shopping area be prepared to be hounded. Alot of shops and alot of congestion of people trying to make money.
All in all this was an excellent trip, and will definately go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room as far up as you can for noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,223
    1,709
    716
    321
    223
See reviews for
364
2,800
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Went with 1 friend for 8 days and this was our first time here. The hotel is in the hotel zone, however it is a very small bit behind the actual road, not too far at all but a 2 minute walk to the road if you need to catch the buses (which run every 5 minutes 24 hours a day and are only about US$1-2). The inside of the hotel is beautiful, and the staff at the front desk were always very helpful, from the beginning of the trip to the end and any questions or requests we may have had in between. There are 5 restaurants to choose from, plus 1 snack bar and 4 bars. The food is excellent and the servers are amazing! They are so friendly and never leave you waiting, they always cater to you and I can't emphasize how friendly they are, it feels like you've known them for years. And they always keep the drinks coming! The room was alot bigger than we expected and the shower was huge! It was also nice to have a small table and chair set as well as our balcony! The room service option is also great, and they have a breakfast option where you fill out a card and place it on your door the night before, just checking off what you'd like the next morning and what time you'd like it delivered! Which is also great for those long drunken nights. The souvenir shops in the hotel are surprisingly cheap! We went shopping at the two nearby malls (La isla and Kukulcan plaza) and they were more expensive, by either a few dollars or alot, however it wasnt even worth the time wasted to leave the resort when the 3 shops in the hotel had everything already. Also the hotel entertainment staff (Carlos, Lucy and Denise) were amazing, make sure to take advantage of all the activities offered such as tequila darts, tequila volleyball, flip cup, biking on the beach, yoga or stretching on the beach, etc. There are tons of different activities all day and it changes up everyday, make sure to check out the activities sheet you get when you arrive. Every night at 1030 the entertainment staff take you for US$40-50 to a different club and you get VIP entrance as well as a table and bottle service or a waiter, they also stay with you until 2 am ad keep the drinks coming and make sure that anything you need they will take care of. The best part about this resort is even if you dont want to go out to the clubs, you can go to one of the bars for their special nights such as karaoke, or by the pool on fridays they have a pool party with food drinks and shows. And every night you can always go to the tiki bar from 9pm to 2am and it is always a party, they have the best bartenders (Moises was our favorite! and jose!) who make amazing drinks and are very friendly, as well as it is always packed with fun people and when youre done drinking you can head to the snack bar and get some food and just walk back to your room and fall asleep! Even the staff at concierge (Maru) was extremely sweet and helpful, she even printed out our excursion tickets as well as our boarding passes! Overall this was an amazing resort, where you feel very comfortable and at home and the atmosphere is amazing. DEFINITELY recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor, which was convenient for us because the food, bars, exit to outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jovanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algoma Mills ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were at the Golden from Mar 25 to Apr 6 and had a great time again. The view of the ocean from our 6th floor balcony cannot be beat. Our day began with coffee on the bacony every day. We love the fact that you don't need reservations for dinner and never had a bad meal. The location of the Golden makes it a great spot if you like to walk the beach.

The rooms are not fancy but always clean and we like the Club Rooms with the jacuzzi tub. After lying on the beach all day nothing feels better than to soak and get rid of the sand and sunscreen before dinner.

The staff is excellent. You rarely see someone without a smile on their face.

With this being our second trip to the Golden, we will probably be going elsewhere next year only because it is a big world out there and there are other places to see.

If you decide to try the Golden you will not be disappointed. You can choose to have a relaxing time lying on the beach and if you want to have more of a party time you can participate in all the action and games at the pool.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer a better view and we always choose the Oceanview Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northshoretraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Nice resort, comfortable, clean rooms. Best part was the restaurants did not require a reservation, you could go where ever depending on how you felt. Great option espcially if you meet people there. Beach was great but the beach is always great in Cancun!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is in the Hotel Zone so benfits from a great bus service 24 hours a day and the safety of the tourist police as well as being close to many attractions and nightlife. we were worried that it would feel like clubland and be roudy so disturb our sleep but the Golden Parnassus is situated on a quiet road off the main drag but within a very short walk of the nearest bus stop to access it if wished.

We really appreciated the adults only atmosphere of the hotel. Suitable for adults of all ages and interests (Party animals and those who prefer to go to bed early and get up early to take full advantage of tours and activities available - We took a boat across to Isla Mujeres where we swam with dolphins, the Jungle Maya expedition with zip wires snorkelling in underground caves and 4 by 4 jeep ride, visitied Chichen Itza Mayan ruins and Xcaret for Snuba diving on the reef as well as meeting wonderful animals in a forest and seeing a spectacular cultural show.) This left only 2 days to relax at the hotel on the beach when we tried the Skyrider just in front of the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The staff were all really friendly and helpful especially the Guest Relations and Restaurant staff (Only once we encountered a receptionist who couldn't speak English well enough to answer our question) After a short wait another receptionist was free who was extremely helpful.

Room large with aircon, lovely decor and comfortable Queen size bed. The balcony had a wonderful view of the pool area, beach and ocean! The bathroom had a double shower unit which was powerful. Sink taps were purified water. No fridge in room to keep drinks cool but room service is included in the price!!

A few nice shops. The entertainment program was comprehensive but we prefer not to use this type of thing and were worried that it may interfere with the peace and quiet we sought but it really wasn't too bad. It wasn't all the time and certainly not in your face or too loud. If you sit on the beach away from the bar area, you can bearly hear the music. Bar staff serve you on the beach as well as around the pool.

Restaurants were all wonderful - a real choice and different atmosphere in each. Our faveourites was the Shangri La (for dressing up) and The old Barn (for dressing down,)

There is a Spa but unfortunately we didn't get time to use it so cannot comment upon how good it is.

Guests are mainly Americans although there are a few British, Mexican and Spanish guests too.

A really great hotel.

We booked with travel republic and were told we had a Major Hotel Change. We were told we had been switched to the Great Parnassus. I complained as this is not adults only and a much larger hotel. Luckily we were promptly changed back to the Golden Parnassus. I'm glad we didn't accept the change. The other problem we encountered was not with the hotel but the Yellow Transfers we booked throu travel republic. We would use Thomas Cook if we were to book again or a different online agency or even book directly with the hotel.

We will b returning to the Golden Parnassus and have taken home some great memories. Thank you to all the staff there.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are on the best side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah-n-Pete-Tidmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our first trip to Cancun and to the Golden. We were there from 4-5 to 4-11. I was a little anxious about going there after reading some of the reviews about getting switched to the Great because our flight down was changed and we didn't get there until after 5pm, but we decided to go and just make the best of it. After getting on the shuttle from the airport ($34 USD round trip, well worth it through best day) we were immediately taken care of. They had our luggage ported around, dropped at the front of the hotel, and they had us sit at a table in the lobby. Check in comes to you, with drinks, and everything brought up to your room. We had to switch rooms quick after discovering we were given a 2 double bed room and not a king bed, but a minor inconvenience. We ended up on 3rd floor ocean side. I would for sure go with an ocean side room, and next time maybe higher up. but 332 was our room and it was very nice.

All the restaurants were good, the Barn was the best followed by the Pier. When ordering your meat, if you want medium, order medium rare... medium was more like a well-done. all the steaks were good. The breakfast buffet style was good, the french toast is great. Very light and grilled perfectly.
One morning we took the shuttle to the Great just to check it out, we couldn't get back to the Golden fast enough. It was so bad that if the free shuttle wasn't coming back in 8 minutes, i would have walked down to the street and taken the public bus back rather then wait for any length of time. Not having any kids around at the Golden is well worth it. I feel sorry for anyone who has ever been bumped from the Golden to the Great, and after this experience, when we go back to the Golden, if they even mention they might bump us, I think I would go crazy mad.
The size of the Golden is perfect, nothing was ever crowded, you don't need reservations for any restaurants, and the pool and beech were never crowded. You are always able to get chairs. If you want a little shade hut on the beach, you might need to get out by 8am or so to put a towel on it to reserve, that's all.
The staff, what can be said about these people there. All of them from entertainment, bartenders, to house cleaning were all great. Always happy and smiling and willing to go out of their way to help you. Not one bad experience with anyone there.
To get anywhere off the resort, take the public buses, they take $1 per person (you will get a few pesos back if you stand there wanting your change) and will take you down the main drag to the flea market or other shopping malls, and to the main clubs too. There is always one going by, never wait more then a few minutes for one. They will even stop on the street and honk to pick you up. No need for taxis.

Overall a great experience. Looking forward to the next trip there.

Room Tip: Like all the other reviews, the higher floors are quieter, and for sure try and get a ocean side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B.C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This Resort is a 4 star resort with a 5+star staff.We stayed for the week of April1-8 and had one of the best vacations ever.The resort was full and we had no problem getting the rooms we had booked and found the check in very easy...its actually a very good way to do it.We traveled as 3 couples and really enjoyed watching all the other guests having as much fun as we were...ALL the staff was amazing and they really did include everyone.I have stayed at a lot of Large 5 star resorts and have never been able to sit at the pool bar all night and enjoy what I went there for, the pool and the ocean...the Tiki Bar is crazy and Jose is the (Best Bartender Ever) i think.This is truly a adult resort and if you plan on going make sure you read the reviews and be prepared to have FUN...if you are not willing to you should probably go somewhere else.To all the guests and staff that were there for the first week of April thanks for a Great week!!The food and drinks are plentifull and very good no matter what bar or where you eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
10.0 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.0 km away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#75 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
2.3 km away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
6.4 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
4.5 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#41 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing