We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,535)
Filter reviews
2,535 results
Traveller rating
1,474
659
220
90
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,474
659
220
90
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paco's tacos el conquistador royal market thomas moore full kitchen captain's cove time share free shuttle personal concierge living room room card daily maid service welcome home convenience store large balcony swim up bar great vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,103 - 1,108 of 2,535 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2016

My family and I traveled to The Royal Islander from December 27th to January 3rd. We had previously stayed at all inclusive resorts; however, my oldest is now 18 and it was becoming too expensive to go all inclusive. We stayed seven night and the price was less than $4,000 for a family of six. Since this resort is non-inclusive, you have to buy food. At the beginning of the stay, they give you room keys that you use to pay for things. We found that the prices are very reasonable at the resort. Many people recommend going to the Royal Sands and getting groceries at the market because it is cheaper there, but we did not want to worry about having to transport groceries, so we just bought them from the on-sight market. The total for the room at the end of our stay was $1,600 that we spent on food.

We were pleasantly surprised by all the Royal Islander had to offer. The food was excellent! You have to make sure that you eat at Paco's Tacos and El Conquistador. The latter is quite expensive, but definitely worth it. We noticed that the quality of food is terrific and my family decided that we would take quality over the quantity of all-inclusive any day. The market is more expensive than a regular market, but you cannot beat the location right next to you room!

We spent most of our days lounging around at the Royal Caribbean's pool. (The middle pool by the swim up bar is heated!!) The beach is great, when you can go in the water. About 3/4 the flag was red by the ocean, so no one could swim. However, 2 days the flag was yellow and we could swim in the ocean. One day we made a trip to the Royal Cancun. The beach there is perfectly calm, and similar to a lake. However, the pools at the Royal Islander and Royal Caribbean are bigger than the Royal Cancun.

We went to Isla Muerjes for a day trip. We took the ferry over which is $19 round trip. We struggled to find a golf cart, but eventually found one and stuffed 6 people on it. Because of all the weight on the golf cart, it went very slow, but we made lots of jokes and it was very entertaining. We stopped at this little restaurant/public beach and spent a couple of hours there. It was great!

Another day we decided to go parasailing because there is a parasailing company right next to the resort. DO NOT SIGN UP AT TOMAS MOORE TRAVEL AT THE RESORT. The waves are super rough, and 4 out of the 6 people in my family threw up because of sea sickness. Instead of parasailing at the convenient location near the resort, I recommend you go over my the Royal Sands and parasail were the water is calmer. I wish we could have enjoyed the actual parasailing; however, we were feeling too sick to actually take in the beauty of the ride.

Despite the parasailing mistake, we had a wonderful family vacation and will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an Ocean Front, they will try and trick you by offering an Ocean View room.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Care Coordinator at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We're sharing your comments with the appropriate channels so that our services may improve.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. Our resorts are built with relaxation in mind and we always aim to offer a relaxed experience taking care of your good rest without noise or any annoyance. We're glad to learn you enjoyed this relaxation.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

We chose The Royal Islander for a week long Sat-Sat stay between Christmas & New Year's 4 adults.

STAY HERE IF YOU WANT TO RELAX AND ENJOY THE SUN/BEACH/POOL. If you are looking for a high-end glossy Cancun experience complete with DJ at the pool and silly pool-side events/games then this is the wrong resort. This resort seems to cater to mostly family groups (lots of multi-generational families in multiple units since it was holiday time).

Our flight arrived early into CUN on Saturday morning and we utilized the private Thomas Moore shuttle to the resort (extra cost but non-stop). Since it was so early when we arrived (by 10:30am) our room was obviously not ready yet but we were able to drop our bags off, change, and head straight to the pool!

Front desk/check-in: Upon arrival you fill out a full page of information and then the resort places a temporary authorization on your charge card (ours was $750 USD). Once you reach that threshold you will need to stop back by the front desk with your card for a new authorization. Each guest gets their own key/charge card and the charges are broken down by user. Each card may be assigned to individual credit cards if desired.

Room-two bedrooms, one King bed and the other two (queen or full). Each has a private bath and large walk in closet with a BIG safe large enough to hold a 15" laptop and all your camera equipment/passports. The beds were very comfy (not a usual thing in Mexico) and the unit held three separate air conditioning units, one for each bedroom and another for the living area (they worked VERY well). The living and kitchen area is combined. There are two twin-sized murphy beds in the living area but we did not use them. Decor is a bit dated but it was not a huge issue for us. Our housekeeper Wilma did an AMAZING job!

The Royal Islander is next door to The Royal Caribbean Resort. Your room key works as your charge card all week and you may utilize both resorts (pools, restaurants, bars, and pottery painting). Next door sounds "far" but in reality it's the same distance to go next door as it is to walk to the lobby. The resort also offers a free shuttle to their other resorts daily if you'd like to check them out.

A huge surprise to us was the fact that pool chairs were ALWAYS available. They may not be right beside the water but there were plenty of chairs at all times. The staff moved chairs for several folks so that they would be together during peak pool times.Umbrellas were also plentiful but may be restricted if it's too windy. Each pool has a swim up bar-you may order drinks and or food from servers walking the pool deck or the swim up bartenders all day. The beach is fairly deep and there is a bar at each resorts' beach.

Food onsite was VERY good (which were were not expecting). Lunch by the pool, the "Taco" bar, fine dining at El Conquistador, pizza from Bartolo's-we enjoyed all of our onsite meals.

Each resort has an onsite tour desk & market. Two of us booked a scuba excursion and enjoyed it. The market is reasonably priced since they prefer for you to spend your money onsite than at local grocery stores. It was well stocked and had a diverse offering of all products. We found everything we needed for the week there!

WiFi worked amazing well all over the resort. Each unit has it's own router (you'll need to sign in and the code is listed on the router that is mounted on the wall in the unit). There are routers located all over the public areas of the resort (which was great for keeping up with College Football Bowl Games scores).

Would our family go back? YES!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank McBizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Care Coordinator at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Dear McBizzle1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. We're certain that TripAdvisor's Community will appreciate your valuable insights as much as we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

We have stayed at the Islander on two occasions and have been very satisfied both times. Johvanny, Darnel, and Carlos were great at helping us stay entertained o our most recent trip in December 2015. The Royal Caribbean restaurant chef even agreed to specially prepare some fish that our family caught while deep sea fishing. It was wonderful. They go out of their way to ensure a positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DonnaL1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Care Coordinator at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Dear DonnaL1966,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We'll make sure to personally praise Johnny, Darnel and Carlos for leaving such a nice impression in you.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

This is a big hotel with apartments. The apartments are good. The beach is nice. Pools are a little bit booring. Seems to be very popular among pensioners. Easy to park. I have not tried any food. The service was a little bit under average. The hotell is okey for a few nights...

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Care Coordinator. at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Dear Anders H,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016

i didnt know what to expect from thr royal islander. we have many friends that stay there year after year on timeshares. the rooms were nice we rented a lockout which is 2 beds a microwave and fridge, a bathroom and walk in closet. the suites portion are very spacious and lovely. the staff were wonderful at the restaurant and pool and beach. my one complaint was that our maid didnt really clean the last 2 days very well maybe bc he knew we were leaving?

Stayed: December 2015
Thank sweet_lemonWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Care Coordinator. at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking to post your review about our resort.

We take pride on our resort's cleanliness and anything below excellence is unacceptable. We're sharing your comments with our Guest Services Manager so that our service may improve.

We're glad to learn you've enjoyed your stay at Royal Resorts and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews