We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #34 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beautiful full service resort on the most beautiful beach in the world. Very friendly staff, great services. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All villas face the sea- there are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    580
    187
    62
    78
See reviews for
865
588
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Although I still have a week left in my three week stay, I wanted to express my thoughts on this incredible resort.
The people who work here are the friendliest and most accommodating people you will find anywhere. The food is excellent, the drinks are wonderful (and very affordable), the accommodations are very comfortable, the view is breathtaking, the weather is unbelievable, the security is almost undetectable but very good and comfortable. The only reason for the security is so people do not "camp out" and "stake out" their location when they are nowhere to be found for hours, thus keeping others from enjoying the preferred seating and lounging areas in either the sun or shade.
I could go on and on but I would wind up repeating myself. In my opinion the Royal Caribbean is the best maintained, managed, affordable and friendly vacation spot on the Gulf of Mexico or anywhere else in the world.
Tom Sexton

Room Tip: Do not over pack. You will be surprised at what few changes of clothes you will actually need, from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our family of 6 has been coming here for 20+ years. Quality always high, service outstanding.Dinner at El Conquistador not to be missed. Watch for policy change in fall, when if not exchanging w/an owner you will be forced into going all inclusive. Not happy about this since there are such great restaurants in Cancun.
Our "home away from home"

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms, all have an ocean view and the wonderful sound of waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zumaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I had no complaints until today when I told my kids we could get a "happy hour" drink since we were leaving the next day. The waitress brought our drinks and took our room key to charge you our room. When she walked by later I asked if we could get it back since we had a dinner reservation. She walked by about 10 minutes later so I asked again and she said she'd bring it to us. After another 10 minutes passed I went looking for her, but was unable to find her. By this time we were late so I went to the front desk to request a rom key as the waitress had ours. I explained what happened and suggested I shouldn't be billed for the drinks. The person at the desk agreed and gave me a new key. When we got back to our rom the hone was ringing and I was told that unfortunately we would be charged. As we were rushing because we were late, this news was not appreciated. I was told I would need to come and talk to "The Captain" if I wanted to be credited. We ended up changing our dinner reservation because we were late and after dinner, based on principle, and not because of the money, I went back to the desk and waited for them to find The Captain. I explained what happened he smugly told me that since we drank the drinks we had to pay for them. I got the impression that if we had missed our flight due to not being able to get into our room since the waitress had our key, that we still would have had to pay for our drinks. I am generally very easy-going and it's not easy to ruffle my feathers, but his smugness and inflexibility, given the situation, prompted me to write my first ever review. Unbelievably poor customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sjn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read about your bad experience with the captain you mention. I've passed a copy of your comments to Food & Beverages Management, a talk with the staff will be held to ensure we don't repeat this situation.

Having said this, I'm glad to read that this was the only complaint you had about your stay. I hope you give us the chance to show you how we've improved our services in the future, we'll be happy to welcome you back anytime.

Warm regards from Cancun,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had stayed at the Royal Islander back in 1999 and decided to return this year for a family vacation. We were not disappointed at all! We had a full 2-bedroom villa at the Royal Caribbean which was perfect for our family of 5: master bedroom with king bed and own bathroom, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds and own bathroom, full kitchen, full living room with 2 Murphy beds, large balcony with full patio set. You would be hard pressed to find something so spacious at any other resort.

Everything on the resort is immaculate and all staff is extremely friendly. You have access to all facilities of the 3 side-by-side resorts (Islander, Caribbean, Mayan) as well as the other 2 resorts in Cancun (Sands, Club International).

We took the bus to Wal-Mart in downtown Cancun to do some groceries, mostly for breakfasts and lunches. It's much cheaper than buying your food at the resort's convenience store.

We tried a few of the resort restaurants for dinner: Paco Taco's and The Palapa (casual Mexican), Tradewinds, and Captain's Cove (fine Seafood and Steak). All restaurants were very good but a bit pricey, especially the drinks and desserts.

We do have 2 minor complaints:
1) The WiFi was terrible - it was slower than dial-up, often not being able to connect at all. That being said, you shouldn't be connected when you're on vacation (c:
2) Lack of nightlife - the outdoor bars and the sports bar were pretty dead at night. In other words, we found that there wasn't much to do on the resorts after dinner. I think this has more to do with the clientele - it consisted mostly of retired people and some young families (no offense to anyone intended (c:)

Aside from the above very minor issues, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Royal Resorts. The service, the facilities, the beach, the activities, the food were all excellent! Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I started visiting the Royal Resorts in Cancun in 1998 as a guest of my family. As our family grew, we first rented an additional villa but then bought our own time share week at the Royal Caribbean in 2003. We always love visiting there and even though there's the option to trade our place there for a week somplace else on earth we've never even considered it. The stellar care of the building and grounds, the "Welcome Home!" attitude of the staff and the variety of things to do keep us feeling at home here and looking forward to returning year after year.

Room Tip: The kid's pool is right in front of the E building, so great if you have young children, or avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is our 2nd visit to the Royal Caribbean and again, we loved it. The location, the staff, the amenities and the weather were just perfect. Even the restaurant on fajita night was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankDiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 km away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
7.9 km away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.2 km away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
1.7 km away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
8.0 km away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Property: The Royal Caribbean
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing