We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,576)
Filter reviews
3,576 results
Traveller rating
1,798
1,074
359
192
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,798
1,074
359
192
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marco polo bogavante restaurant las fuentes royal side sister resort next door time share ocean view lobby bar nightly shows entertainment staff bottled water all inclusive resort senor frogs hot dogs a lot of fun pool side kids club
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 3,576 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We have been going here for years. I like that the food is always good, beautiful location, staff is always friendly and helpful. We go with friends who own a timeshare here and there are nice little perks like bottles of wine at dinner, a fancy dinner on one of the nights of your visit. If you are a member you never have a problem getting into the fine dining restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank vacationproIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Gerente at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear vacationproIllinois,

Its wonderful reading how much you enjoyed your vacations and had a magnificent time! Thanks for always sharing your vacations here with us and we look forward on welcoming you again very soon!

Best Regards,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We went during the last week of September, which was nice because the resort wasn't overly busy. I think the easiest way to review this resort is with a pros and cons list:

Pros:
- The service staff were absolutely incredible. We didn't have a single negative interaction with the servers, hostesses, front desk, and other support staff. They were extremely friendly. Even while laying on the beach, the servers would have your drink refills before you even asked. A shoutout to Leon, he was an amazing server on the beach/pool and Luis in the Veneto Restaurant.
- There was a large variety of foods, including Mexican, pastas, salads, buffets along with traditional American foods such as pizza and burgers along with steak and great seafood.
- The resort was exceptionally clean, including the rooms, pools, beaches and restaurants
- Staying at the GR Solaris also had the benefit of have access to the facilities at the Royal Solaris resort next door which included more restaurants and pools
- There are a number of activities to do within the resort, including group pool activities, spa, nightly shows and on-site ability to book excursions
- If you arrive before the 3pm checkin, they will hold your bags and you will still have all-inclusive access (If you purchased it) to allow you to explore the resort, eat and drink

Con:
- The concierge services is very manipulative in that they are also a part of the time-share selling service. For example, our concierge person duped us into attending the time share prevention by "giving" us promotions for the spa and excursions. Later we discovered that these "promotions" were actually available to everyone despite not going to the presentation. She also didn’t disclose numerous fees that were applicable to the excursions despite being a concierge service which you would think they should know. She also lied, about aspects of the trip, for example telling us transportation for the excursion was including, which ended up being an additional fee and telling us that that the Isla Mujeres (a popular nearby island for tourists) was named such because of underwater statues found of woman figures (to sell us the trip by making it sound more historical). Shortly after the trip, we discovered that the statues were just a recent addition placed a few years ago.
- The marina which is a part of the resort was very lackluster. The path leading to the marina was over some marshland and several planks were missing and others were loose (ie. Structurally very unsound and unsafe). Once getting to the marina, several activities listed on the resort (including pedal-boating) were unavailable for unknown reasons.

Note:
- If you were needing to use the airport shuttle, make sure you call at least 24 hours before arriving to ensure timely transport
- Although not specifically directed at the resort, make sure if you are going on any excursions, including the ones sold at the resort, that you are well aware of the risks as we encountered an experience with one of the tourist on a boat having a “drowning” event which was handled poorly, to say the least

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Deep P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Gerente at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear Deep P,

Thanks for taking the time to share your very detailed review regarding your recent stay.

Its wonderful reading how much you enjoyed your stay here with us especially due to the service of our staff members, food, activities, cleanliness and the perks of being able to use all the facilities of RoyalvSolaris as well.
We also appreciate your feedback regarding the concierge services, please accept our apologies, we have shared this information to the Club Solaris department for immediate followup, and last but not least regarding the Marina there are some activities being refurbished including pedal-boating, we are very sorry for not providing this information to you upon arrival, we are expecting to have it all running soon.

Best Regards,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Sarita Bares greeted us with agua fresca.. so yummy our view was so beautiful and the service was 24/7... Only thing I didn't like was our first day a man all in white followed us all the way out demanding us to share what room we had and if we were going to a sales presentation which we were not since we were just wanted to relax as a couple..he belonged to the sales department and never bugged us again..so worth the stay we were treated like royalty and it's a resort truly meant for adults because it's scenery and tranquility but we did see a few kids... And the family with children were able to access the resort next door that had amazing activities for families..I will definitely be back

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Sylvia R,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.

Its wonderful reading how amazing your stay was and how much you enjoyed our services.
Please accept our apologies for the incident you had with the concierge, we have shared your comments with the person in charge of the department in order to avoid this situations in the future.

We look forward on welcoming you again soon!

Best Regards,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

My wife and I just got back from Cancun and we stayed at this All Inclusive Resort. We stayed at the GR Caribe by Solaris. There is another resort that is connected to this one next door which connects via an outdoor passageway.

This one seems to be the quieter of the 2; however if you like peace like I do, then this is the one to stay at. However, the advantage is that you can eat at restaurants from either resort and enjoy the facilities at both as well.

The check-in and check out was quick at both and the staff was very friendly at both as well. The one we stayed at seemed to have a little less going on, however if you like to have some peace then this is the one to stay at.

The only thing we did not like was the Pushing of the Presentation. It's actually a modern word for a Time Share Presentation. They have a concierge desk. However, this is actually a pushy salesperson behind it who is disguised as a concierge person. So be aware of this as it can be a pain. The person seems to want to help you, however the more this person will speak to you, the more they will ask questions and want to offer discounts on attractions as long as you attend a 90 minute presentation which is actually a high pressure sales presentation.

I understand Cancun thrives on tourists, however when you travel the last thing you want to do is be pressured into a time share meeting.

Other then that, this resort is good to stay at..the Public bus stops right in front of the resort (R-1, R-2, R-2-27). You can get anywhere you wish in Cancun by Public Bus for an affordable price. The bus runs every few minutes; expect for the R-2-27 which takes up to 40 minutes I am told. The R-2-27 (also referred to as the R-27 by locals) takes you anywhere in the Hotel Zone, Downtown Cancun as well as Plaza Las Americas which is a large shopping mall which is primarily indoors.

You don't need to take a taxi if you stay inside of the hotel zone.

Finally, this resort is located close to the airport..there are shuttles that you can book prior to coming to Cancun or you can take Super Shuttle as well.

Room tip: If you request a room with a beach view, you will have amazing views of the water and beach!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Glen K,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.

Its wonderful reading how much you enjoyed having 2 hotels and the opportunity to decide if you wanted a relaxed morning or being involved in activities by the pool at the Royal.
We appreciate your feedback and we will keep working to improve our services.

Best regards,
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Hotel was Clean. Selena, from housekeeping did a great job in our room. Club Solaris will try to sell you membership, they do have good offer but “90 minute” meeting is a lie. We spent 3 hours listening plus more if you buy. You should get Miguel B. from club Solaris. Yuky from Spa was great for my massage. We tried different restaurants for every meal and their food was delicious! And did I mention... 24 hour room service!!! Hotel was also close to a convenient store like 7 Eleven, it’s called Oxxo. Beach had a lot (A LOT) of seaweeds.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Dream640198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews