We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and can use facilities of 2 resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and can use facilities of 2 resorts”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here during our family vacation before the Christmas holiday week. Beautiful resort and beach is amazing! We had breakfast and dinner at the resort, both were nice! Breakfast had many local fresh fruit, juices and mexican delicacies, enjoyed a lot! There is a convenience store right across the main street, we bought small snacks and water from there.
Best part was, that the next door JW Marriot resort facilities could be used when you stay at this resort. We stayed for a week, so we wandered off to the The Infinity pool at JW and it was so cool! We used to take the bus and cabs to go to the main area of Cancun and also took the ferry to Isla Mujares. The cabs come and wait right infront of resort entrance, convenient.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roasted_coffee_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,355
    1,075
    254
    100
    54
See reviews for
1,237
1,288
159
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was my second time at the Marriott CasaMagna Resort and it was just as good as the first time. The rooms are clean and the service is excellent. The hotel grounds are very clean and there is always someone around willing to help if you have questions. One of the best things about this hotel is the beach. Amazing beach that is kept clear of seaweed. The beaches at the other hotels look so dirty compared to CasaMagna.

Room Tip: To save money on drinks and snacks go across the street to the 7-11. It is much cheaper. The Gus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUZZBOY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The room are fine, however there is not much life within the hotel. If you are party goes, don't stay here. If you want quite getaway, it is good place to be.

Room Tip: $50/night internet...too costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogi035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I won't add more pictures since the ones on TA do this hotel justice. I did the marriott rewards plan where breakfast and airport transportation were included. I recommend this. This hotel has one of the best breakfast spreads I have seen and I have been around the block. Across the street is McDonalds, Papa Johns, 7 Eleven, and Fred's seafood. Most places (not 7 Eleven) take credit cards, but use the ones that don't have a foreign transaction fee. TAKE THE BUS along the cancun strip. If you are with more than one person, then taking the bus and walking at night is not a problem. Single people just should travel more during the day. Catholic Mass at the Ritz Carlton down the road (~ 4 hotels) on Saturday. For an actual Catholic church, it is a ways away, but doable. Casa Manga do have religious services, just not Catholic. I upgraded to a room overseeing the water from a garden room view or 29 USD each night. It was worth it for the views at night and especially in the morning.
Fred's seafood has a horrible name, but it is fancy. Very quality food if you are nervous about getting sick. Don't get bottled water in hotel unless you don't mind paying for it. 7 Eleven does not take credit cards, but have the best prices if you have pesos. Casa Manga will exchange money for you if you have your passport in your hand (the law) and they have an atm next to the front desk. The check in / out line, which is the same, is insanely slow. I think I read this in the reviews. Expect this and don't get upset. Everyone speaks English. No worries. Hot tub huge and pool is nice. Kiddie pool. The beach/Caribbean is beautiful, but has a very strong current. You can go out 100 feet, but I would not go any further. It is good enough, but don't expect calm water. It was warm when we were there, though. Don't go in the lagoon across the road due to the alligators.

We went to Chichen Itza while we were there through the tour group of the hotel. 105 USD for a very light breakfast and decent lunch. Careful with ice, though. It is Mexico. The Mayan ruins are simply beautiful and I do not regret going. Fair price for a wonder of the world. The tour people are great. We went with the package where we could go to the Cenote for ~ 40 minutes and jumped in twice. Very cool and the water temp was pretty good. Highly recommend the tour. Don't go to Chichen Itza for more than one day though (there is a hotel, right there). The bus trip was very nice. The tour people will tell you all about the ruins and will say things like Mayans created grass (sort of joking). Be good humored and just chuckle to yourself. At the ruin, people will sell things and say $1. It is really not $1. They will later say that it is $1 off of their price. A scam.

Cool stuff, but get your crafts at Mercado 28 on the bus from the hotel or all along the hotel zone. Bus 1 or 2 will get you to the main places. ~ 12-14 pesos / USD. The bus price is 8.50 pesos (less than $1).

In Cancun for 4 nights. Perfect. Longer, not much more to see. Next time, 2 nights in cancun and either playa del carmen or Cozumel.

Questions, email me.

Room Tip: Get a garden room and then upgrade to a ocean view/front room at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I just returned from this hotel and I have no complaints!

The check-in process is a tad unorganized, as well as luggage handling. But, overall nothing to whine about. After all, you’re on vacation! My suggestion is that you have what you need in your carryon luggage because; you may need to wait on your room.

Room and property:
I typically stay at newer hotels and those styled more contemporarily, so I’ll admit that I was quite skeptical. But once, I arrived at the property my doubts were put to rest. IMO the perception of older hotels are that they are not well kept. However, the entire property and my rooms were completely spotless and I am pretty attentive to the cleanliness of hotels. If you like separate showers, you will not find them here. The bathrooms have shower curtains which really dates this hotel, a bathroom renovation should definitely be in management’s future plans. The oceanfront room I had was awesome! The view was well worth it!
The traveler photos are spot-on for this property.

Food:
Based on other reviews, I tried the breakfast which was not included in my package. And unlike some of the other reviewers, although good…it was not impressive. Typical breakfast. Other than breakfast I ate outside of the hotel.

Drinks, pool, and beach service:
During my stay, there was ample amount of chairs at the pool and on the beach. No need to get up before a certain time, to lay claim to a seat. Water was great, both ocean and pool. Waves were plentiful, and there is a lifeguard on duty. There was also great service at the pool and beach. There is a swim up bar, poolside bar, and one on the beach. =-)

Safety:
I felt totally secure on this property! There are cameras through-out the hotel, and outside of the hotel. I walked back from a nearby restaurant at night and had no issues. Early morning people are out jogging the streets and overall it felt like a very laidback environment.

I think that this place is great for a mature crowd. If you are seeking out a party hotel..IMO this is not the one!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KristenWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Casamagna had some of the bestservice i've ever had in Cancun. The breakfast was delicious and the Argentinian restaurant was also very good with superb service. We did not enjoy the Champions restaurant as much. The hotel itself is very nice and super clean. The pool area is alsonice, not as nice as some of the other hotels-like the JW next door. I did not like the beach area too much because of the sand 'wall' that you have to climb down. I would definitely stayhere again, just for the service and cleanliness of the place. As for the beach, youcan always walk down the beach to where the 'wall' ends. This hotel was full of families when we were there, lots of young children, and the hall could get a little noisy. It did not bother us but it's something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1guendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were here for only two nights as it was only a weekend getaway but we left sad because it was too short! This hotel really made our stay very nice and relaxing. We met our inlaws there. We booked the hotel for a regular room and at the hotel for $29.00 more they upgraded us to an ocean front room! This was amazing. We were right in front of the beach. The bed was soft and the sheets were clean. This was by far a lot better than I expected. The service at the hotel was amazin and so is the pool and the bar at the pool! We will be back to stay here that is for sure. The down side is that you have to drive about 20 minutes to get to downtown. And if there is traffic, well, you're going to be sitting there for a while. Other than that, it was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billynbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.4 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.3 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,918 reviews
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing