We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to avoid the Spring Breakers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to avoid the Spring Breakers”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great Service throughout this hotel. Ate at Champions a couple of times and the food was very good and there was lots of it. Upgrade to an oceanview if you have a garden view. Be aware: this is a resort and food, drinks and the gift shop prices are as high or higher than you would pay in the US. We ate off property most of the time because there is so much difference in pricing. Cancun is not cheap like other places in Mexico, expect prices to be similar to home, even in the grocery stores. Heard the Breakfast Buffet was great but didn't try it at $280 pesos ($23 USD), $50 bucks for two for breakfast is crazy. Pool was great and service is fast, hotel is clean, staff super friendly. I will stay here again. Went to the Grand Oasis to visit friends and it looked like an MTV beach party with a ton of drunk college kids. Would have been fun 20 years ago! None of that going on at the Marriott.

Room Tip: We had an excellent 3rd floor room. It looks like only the 3rd floor has the larger balconies. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,428
    1,088
    260
    101
    55
See reviews for
1,280
1,316
161
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here in late Feb. 2012. Upon arrival the lobby is very grand and impressive. We were early and our room wasn't ready upon check-in at 10AM. We did get a key at 2pm. We had a garden view room on the bottom floor. It had a patio that looked at the JW Marriott next door and a small ocean view as well. The room size was a typical Marriott room. The front door looked right at the pool and Caribbean blue ocean.

Pool service was prompt, we ate 1 meal at the pool at it was ok. The cocktails were a little bland so we stuck with local beers. The pool and beach are fantastic, clean and not over crowded.

We did not eat at any restaurants in the hotel so no comment there. The concierge did a great job with ideas and advice on local food and transportation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St paul, MN.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed three nights at the end of Feb. Overall the hotel was excellent. We had a partial oceanview room which was clean and working very good.
Definitely get the Breakfast Buffet, although we did not eat at any of the other restaurants. The pool and beach area was large and well maintained, the resort was not busy so we had no trouble finding a spot in the shade.
There is a 7-11 and OXXO right across the street from the hotel, definitely go there to get your drinks and snacks as the mini-bar was very expensive (duh)
The staff was always friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again in Cancun.

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koopdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Overall - lovely place with very friendly service. yes, as people note in their reviews, the hotel is looking a little (a little!) long in the tooth here and there. But this is still a majestic, great looking resort. I could have been happy just staying in the cavernous and gorgeous lobby. DO get an oceanview room - the view is well, well worth it. Lovely beach, great pool, and amazing breakfast buffet. EVERYONE was fantastic to us - friendly, helpful, professional. That personally means a lot to me on vacation. We had a quieter room on a "wing" - so were not bothered by noise, which others have complained about - and our room was VERY basic but clean and more than adequate. Smaller negatives...found it odd no lifeguard at pool...and why, oh why no coffee makers in the room? I'm sure to drive people to the more costly coffee elsewhere in hotel - but come on folks - this is a basic. Beachfront was very nice - and we always had plenty of room on beach and by pool (but, we did make sure we went before spring break.). All in all, would have to recommend. It's really a great location also - on the "strip" - convenient to a lot. Travel agency on site was quite helpful too. Bottom line, good value, very nice place. Go, have fun - and don't be a cranky pants about a scuffed rug or scratched tile. :)

Room Tip: ocean view, ocean view, ocean view - trust us - it's a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Overall, an excellent and relaxing visit and trip to the hotel. Service was very good to excellent - especially the concierge staff, and Roman in Housekeeping maintaining our guest room. While once an opulent hotel, it's really showing it's age, especially for a Marriott product. My friend and I stayed for 4 nights in late January, and utilized many of the hotel services including the La Capilla Argentina Steakhouse each morning for breakfast. Service was always friendly but often slow. Arriving about 11am for breakfast one morning resulted in lower quality servings (and this was ala carte). Arriving early, slow service. Opted to dine at the JW Marriott one night, and it failed by comparison to local restaurants. Ordered Room Service late the first evening (after 10pm), and it was mediocre. Though we were politely informed it was available 24 hours a day.

The lobby was stunning, but the ridiculously loud music in the evening steered us away 100% of the time. A piano player would have been perfect. It's no wonder the space was usually empty. We also enjoyed poolside food and drinks. As another reviewer mentioned, Internet access is not even free in the hotel business center - although they did provide us free access to print boarding passes. Speaking of transportation, this put my travel companion and I in a real pickle. The hotel offers an airport shuttle, DIRECT for about $14 each way. But on the hotel website at Marriott.com, if you book transportation, for the same price, you are serviced by a 3rd party shuttle, which stops at multiple hotels! The only way to book the hotel shuttle, is to contact the hotel concierge directly. I cannot comprehend why they sell 2 different services. My friend had to leave for the airport an hour before me because of this situation.

The pool area was welcoming, inviting, and the water fresh and relaxing. We used the spa for a massage (ocean side), which was very nice, but a little pricey for the service level. While the room was overall excellent, the hotel needs updating, for a Marriott. Lots of small touches missing - mold inside the shower was unacceptable for Marriott, even in a tropical climate. Outdoor lighting and speakers by the Hot Tub were old and rusty. Small items like this should be managed better by the ownership. While I would stay at the hotel again, since there was nothing "exceptional" about my visit, on a future visit, I would try another hotel in the area. I do want to emphasize that overall, service was excellent and polite. Our room was serviced and cleaned exceptionally well every day. Areas of excellence included housekeeping, valet/door staff, concierge and pool food servers. All other encounters were as expected. At no point did anyone ask me "how is your stay?". With a few adjustments, I think the overall experience could have been outstanding, versus average / very good. If I could change one thing immediately, I would stop the loud karaoke and replace with something soft and inviting - something to match the beautiful and grand lobby! In summary, it’s a lovely older hotel (probably about 20 years in age), with very good service overall.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room, you must book an ocean-side room. An ocean-view here is defined as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historytraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We really appreciate your feedback. Be sure all your comments have been taken into consideration. We are aware that breakfast is an important part of our guests’ experience at our property, so we are glad to inform that we have implemented new and exciting serving standards to make this restaurant an even better experience for all our guests at all serving times. We have also followed up the comment about the loud music at our Lobby Bar. We will keep it pleasant to all our guests. Regarding airport transportation, we do offer different options to our guests’ to choose from, according to their specific needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Marriott CasaMagna Resort hotel is lovely. We up-graded to a ocean front which had a great view of the beach and ocean. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The beach is soft white sand and well kept. However, the room did not have a coffee pot which we expected and WI-FI was ridiculously expensive. Do not eat at Chanpions Restaurant which is just outside the entrnce to the hotel. The service was non existant and the food was barely eatable. Out $10 glass of wine was so bad that we sent it back and had it taken off of our bill. The waitresses seemed to have time to chat with each other but not to take care of guests.

Room Tip: Upgrade to at least ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwelhwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We are really sorry for the unpleasant experience you had at this restaurant. We have shared your comments with our Chef and the restaurant’s Manager to make sure both the food and the service are always to our clients’ entire satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Jest got back from 5 days at the Marriott CasaMagna Cancun Resort (Feb. 21 - 26), and was impressed with the overall resort.

Made use of the hotel's airport shuttle ($14 each way) and had no problems with getting to/from resort. Check-in/out was handled very efficiently with very little wait either time. Resort itself is very elegant with nice lobby, restaurants and lobby bar. They have a very nice Sports bar just outside the lobby with lots of TVs for watching sports.

Rooms were very good, especially the beds. Bath was well laid out with upscale toiletries.

Employees are what makes this resort top notch. I had a problem with my luggage on arrival and the concierge worked very hard to track it down and kept me informed on the status of their efforts. It arrived late that night and as soon as it came in, I got a phone call advising its arrival. Very well handled and much appreciated. Staff at the restaurants and bars were very friendly (especially Carlos in the lobby bar).

Pool area is very large and well kept. Access to the beach was very easy and it looked like there were a lot of loungers and umbrellas available.

I was down there for a conference and their facilities were very good. There were about 300 people at the conference and from what I could see it was handled very well.

The only problems I had with this resort was the price (especially the restaurants), and some noise. You could easily spend $75-100 for a dinner. Food was good, but in my opinion very pricey. Per an earlier comment, there is nightly entertainment that runs until 10 PM. With the open lobby you can hear the music in your room. Again, it ended at 10 PM so it wasn't that big of an issue for me (most times I was down in the lobby listening to it), but I can see where it could pose a problem if you are an early retire.

Overall, a very nice stay and I would go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willd0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.4 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,824 reviews
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing