We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #16 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I think most of the comments here are a very accurate indication of what you can expect during your stay at Casa Magna.

PROS
- great value compared to similar 4 Diamond hotels in Cancun
- professional and friendly staff
- impressive lobby and common areas
- rooms on 3rd floor have huge balcony
- gorgeous beachfront
- Aquaworld located onsite
- adequate pool area
- comfortable rooms and bed
- great location for getting beer, groceries across the street...and close to bus stop
- beach and pool chairs extremely comfortable
- helpful concierge service

CONS
- again, no coffee in room...if management reads these reviews, you would think they would want to change this quickly.
- i understand many families in this resort, but how about making the hot tub adults only...kids have the whole pool, they don't need the hot tub too
- would like to see more trees and/or greenery around the pool area, just alot of concrete
- would like to also see more social activities offered for adults, it was pretty darn quiet after 6pm at the hotel
- never ate at the hotel, drinks and food too cost prohibitive

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floors have extended balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank healsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,315
    1,062
    251
    99
    54
See reviews for
1,220
1,266
158
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I travel a lot for business and I am fortunate to stay in many top class hotels. This is our second stay at the Casa Magna and, as the title says, it really does not get much better than this hotel. From the classic design with huge public areas to the marble floors to the beautifully appointed bedrooms. Everything has the feel of a "Casa Magna" "large house" but on a grand scale.
The service was impecable in the restaurants and the pool area, this is just an outstanding hotel
If you considering Cancun you really should put this hotel at the very top of your list

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just returned home yesterday and I haven't even unpacked, but had to write this review. This is the most delightful hotel I think we have ever stayed in. My son looking at the pictures today asked me did we win this stay on Jepardy. Because the pics were so beautiful. We can't wait to take them next year. The reviews really helped, but some didn't do it justice.
We stayed 5 nights. We didn't have any problems and find this hotel to be family friendly and the staff awesome.
Yes this might not be the JW Marriott, but a great property with awesome food. The service is magnificent and the staff overly friendly. We had an up graded room for about $50 more dollars. Don't know what the other rooms looked like, but we thought we had step into a fantasy. My husband and I were giddy. The entrance and courts are amazing and I mean amazing. The room outer hallways may lack a little and may need some paint touch ups here and there,but that can be over looked.
The private car service to and from the hotel was clean and on time.
Oh by the way my husband and I were there for our anniversary and when had gone to dinner and returned, the staff Had left us a card and champagne. We were so surprised.
Yes it's true u may feel as though you are being nickeled and dimed, but the service is impeccable! We will be back next year and bring our kids. This hotel left us feeling over the moon!

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are better, but really didn see the the view from the street side. Have plenty fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkbwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel lobby area and sitting area is absolutely beautiful - what a welcoming sight. Its is far prettier than the JW Marriott next door! Its a nice area to hang out in for a bit in the morning or evenings. The rooms are nicely appointed - what you would expect with a Marriott hotel. It would be nice if they all had a refrig, but we were able to put our name on a waitlist and had one by day two. And definitely thought each room should have had a coffee maker. Since we had read elsewhere that rooms did not come with a coffee maker, we actually brought our own little one cup maker, which we used every day for coffee on the balcony. We had an oceanview balcony, which is highly recommended. We spent plenty of time here in the early morning as well as in the evening while
The pool area was nice - but nothing special. The chairs are packed in close together - but I guess its better than not enough chairs. Unfortunately, the area around the pool is just a bit small. The beach fantastic - just a few steps from the pool and where we spent a great deal of time. Sand is super soft and white, and the turquoise waves so relaxing to set by. The JW Marriott next door has a spectacular pool -- far nicer than the CasaMagna, however the rest of the CasaMagna hotel was much more welcoming for our family.

Our rate included breakfast, which was a great deal. While the breakfast was very good with a large buffet, if it were not included in the price of our room it would have been way too expensive to be worth it. $68 USD for breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids?! If you can get a rate with breakfast included, I would highly recommend it. Then you can head down for a leisurely breakfast in the morning right onsite, followed by a day of relaxing at the pool and beach. We typically had a big breakfast, light snacks for lunch, and then set out for a nice dinner around 6pm. It gets dark early in Cancun (by 6:30 in late March) -- plan on rising early (when it is beautiful out!), and then dining early

We ate onsite at Champions the first night - a sportsbar lacking atmosphere. And then at the Thai restaurant another evening. Neither were over the top. Our recommendation is to head offsite for more variety and better prices overall. The concierge desk can provide some ideas and options.

Check your bill carefully. We were inadvertently charged for internet (which should be complimentary for Marriott Gold/Platinum members) and some of our breakfasts. They will print it out and slide it under your door in the overnight hours so that you can review it in your room before checkout.

Everyone at the front desk was fantastic - very helpful and friendly. When we called for extra towels, they were immediately delivered, and always followed up with a call to ensure that we got them and if we needed anything else.

Our family would stay here in a heartbeat again. The reasons we give 4 stars rather than 5: 1) The pool area is nice, but not fantastic. 2) restaurant prices and prices for coffee/snacks throughout were simply too pricey for Cancun. 3) No coffee maker in the room?!

Tip: A quick walk down the driveway and across the street you will find a 7-Eleven. The perfect place to pick up beverages to enjoy on the beach!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor (you won't be able to see anything!). We loved our 5th floor room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smores4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our family of four stayed five nights at this resort, and we enjoyed it very much. We had two rooms. We booked on-line directly with the hotel for a one-bedroom suite and resort view.

The one-bedroom suite, 3094, was very nice, but small. The floor plan was weird, but fun. The balcony was huge with a table and chairs and 2 lounge chairs. Wonderful view of the ocean. I would definitely book this room again.

The other room was a very basic room with two beds. Perfect for two teenage boys. They did have a small balcony with two chairs. You could see the ocean, so perhaps their room was upgraded.

The lobby area was very nice. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. A la carte from the breakfast menu was a good value as well, but it could be slow. The gift shop sold coffee for about $3 a cup. We thought this was reasonable.

The pool was clean and not too crowded or loud. The beach area was really nice with lots of chairs. It was odd that one side of the beach filled up before the other. We never had a problem getting chairs mid-morning. Service at the beach was also prompt.

The only disappointment with this hotel was the food at the beach. Yuck is the best I can say. The margaritas were fine, but nothing we ordered was edible. It's mostly fast food-wings, hot dogs, but there was a club sandwich (yuck) and some fish. We enjoy good food, so we were very worried about the rest of the trip. No problem though as we went to the JW Marriott next door to the Sedona Grill and ate there for lunch the rest of the trip.

Since we visited the JW for lunch, I will comment that I saw more families with babies/young children there than at the CasaMagna.

We used Yellow Transfers to get from the airport to the hotel. We found them at the airport and paid $60 US to get to the hotel. If you booked the round-trip, you paid $30 US for the return trip. We thought it was a good deal. You did have to confirm the day before, but they arrived on time at the hotel, and the trip to the airport was uneventful. If my math is correct, it was cheaper this way than booking the transfer with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This past February we went to the Marriott CasaMagna in Cancun. Of the choice of three different Marriott locations in the area the price of this one was in the middle. If you are a fan of Cancun then you already know that the weather is always summy and the water is very clear and warm, the beach is long and has soft sand. On some days there are good size waves which are fun to play in although there is a strong undertow. We stayed in Cancun 17 years ago and I have been wanting to go back for many years. My wife, daughter and I always go away during the Winter and we have always gone to a different location or at least a different hotel. After staying at this hotel we have decided to go to the same location next year. It really worked well for everyone in our family with their seperate needs/desires.
My wife loves the fact that she did not have to wake up at 6AM just to reserve one of the palapas on the beach, there were plenty of them all during the day. She also likes the pool because it is long enough for her to get a workout in by swimming laps. She tried to jog on the beach but it was too difficult because of all the shifting sand and how the beach has eroded in certain areas.
I like the hotel because of the great buffet breakfast, the beach (especially the palapas for the shade), the fact that everything is clean and how easy it is to catch the public bus. Usually we rent a vehicle on vacation, mostly so I can explore the area, but in Cancun you can jump on the bus for about 80 pesos one way and go as far as you want.
My 15 year old daughter met a group of people (adults and kids) and must have played ten games of volleyball each day. The volleyball court is right at the bottom of the steps and very close to the beach bar/restaurant. She and I took advantage of the indoor workout facility so we would not feel so guilty before we headed to the big buffet breakfast.
All three of us enjoyed what is advertised as the largest hot tub in Cancun. It is definately the largest one I have ever seen.
We found that "Cancun Shuttle' was cheaper than most other transportation from and to the airport. When registering online you can pay a bit more for a private ride to and from your hotel. We liked this because you don't waste time dropping off other people at their hotels.
Enjoy.

John from Massachusetts

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the water are not near the elevators which are closer to the front of the hotel. The d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Enjoyed the service, view, and pools. Top notch service, good value, excellent buffet breakfast included. Room service food not terribly overpriced. Good currency rate right now. Excellent italian restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: The sun rises early so if you are directly facing the ocean, keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oudez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.4 km away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.3 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,755 reviews
4.8 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
6.2 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort

Property: CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing